We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 895 Reviews
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good location, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Me and my gilfriend booked that hotel for 4 nights stay in Chian Mai. The staff was very friendly and always ready to help us with any kind of demand. We booked a Superior room but we were upgraded to Deluxe room without any charge. However, I think that the only difference between these two room is that Deluxe rooms are located in the 11 floor and higher.

The location is very convenient, as it is 3 minutes walk away from night bazar and 10 minutes walk away from the old city walls or sunday market. You also find many restaurants, shops and bars within a range of 10 minutes walk. The location is very quiet. You should not pay more than 30 bath per person for red taxi from the bus station to the hotel. For that same price, you can get from hotel to train station and for 130 bath total you can get to the airport (but I am pretty sure you can get better price for airport, and maybe around 20 bath for the bus or train station).

The breakfast was very good with a lot of options. It is buffet type and you will find western and asian meals. It may be crowded and noisy at the peak morning time, but it is still enjoyable.

The restaurant (same place as breakfast) is expensive for the food you have and it is not so good. I would recommend to go around the streets and try other places, as you will find better quality/price.

The room itself was very okay, but it lacked electric plugs (only one in the room and one in the shower). The bed was very confortable and the mattress was in good condition. The room itself is big and furnish with a table and two chair. Nevertheless, they lack furniture to put our cloths in. The toilet is not so big and the bathtub is equipped with a shower. Note that the toilet has no fan or window. The wifi is not so good at this hotel, especially during the day. The AC was very strong when put to the max (take about 5 mins to cool off the whole room).

Room Tip: I would recommend to choose Superior room, as Deluxe room are more expensive and they basically are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Christophe
Thank you for your detailed post here on trip advisor and your stay at our hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. The difference between our superior rooms and deluxe rooms is not only the location within the hotel 11-13 floor, but also the guest amenities. We provide FREE WIFI in the entire hotel and surrounding areas. The hotel is constantly upgrading this FREE facility.
We pride ourself to have good food, value for money and should be compared with other hotels of the same category. There are restaurants nearby which offer cheaper food, however not all of them are offering the same hygiene standards as our hotel.
It is nice to read that our staff were friendly and ready to help.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    462
    203
    41
    26
See reviews for
138
279
58
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

second stay at this hotel impressed with the renovations the outside looks better with colour
change had a very good stay here staff were great good breakfast good housekeeping
good location for night markets.
here at songkran festival got soaked (great fun) enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear David
Thank you for staying with us during the last Songkran and to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are pleased to read of your experience and thank you for the compliment about the hotel's color. Songkran 2015 is waiting for you to enjoy another round of wet fun.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

What is good
1. Excellent Breakfast with lots of options for vegetarians
2. Friendly Staff
3. Location - 1 km away from the Chiang Mai Night Market. Opposite the hotel there are lots n lots of tour operators with whom one can bargain some good deals for Chiang Mai sight seeing
4. Location - literally away from the noise of Chiang Mai Night Market. Being just 1 km away one can still get the time to visit the market and yet stay in a noise free hotel
5. Very close to Indian hotel - Raj Durbar (though this hotel is just about ok for indian food but still its stones throw away and can be handy)
What needs improvement
1. Hotel in general needs a face lift. Lifts are old and need attention, rooms need some revamp
2. No veg options for lunch or dinner. Other than the BF the hotel gives no choice for Veg food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Sir
Thank you for staying with us here in Chiang Mai last October and your post on Trip Advisor! We are very pleased that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is constantly upgrading it's facilities, not always visible to the general public or guests, in such areas as of Fire Life Safety and environmental issues. Perhaps it escaped your attention, however our coffee shop menu offers specially marked vegetarian dishes and many options for vegetarians, such as soups, salads, pastas and various Thai vegetarian dishes.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Staff and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Upon entering the hotel after a long day no one helped us with our bags. Hallways had no ac. Went up to the room and the bed was a concrete slab and room smelled like cigarettes even after asking for non-smoking room. I went downstairs and asked if they had better bed options, so the un smiling lady gave me a key to another room. It was exactly the same. After taking a shower the bathroom was completely flooded due to a leak.
After answering the hotels online survey and letting them know the manager emailed me back telling me that they didn't welcome me and help me with my bags on entrance because I came in through the back pool side, total lie. Then he told me the girl offered me an upgrade and I declined, more lies.
Hotel sucks. Go stay at the Royal Princess, down the street. Same price range, better location and way better stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Likewater
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and your short stay with us during your time in Chiang Mai. Obviously there was a miscommunication between our front staff and myself about entering the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise about this incident. However your claim of our beds being a concrete slab is an absolute exaggeration, as all our rooms have beds with springbox and mattresses. "Our staff offered you to make a room change, however this was declined". There was no mention whatsoever of an upgrade. It is unfortunate that you have experienced a discomfortable stay with us. Perhaps you are giving us another opportunity to show you our Thai hospitality. Please contact us when you plan your next trip to the North of Thailand.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you want to visit, then choose this hotel blindly. Very good Hotel. All facilities are also good. Centre of Chiang Mai. We choose this hotel as got very good rates to stay in this amazing 4 star hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Manish
Thank you for taking your valuable time and post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your visit to Chiang Mai. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you recommend to stay here to future travellers. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is located near the night bazaar which was convenient and the staff were really nice. There are plenty of tuk tuks and taxis outside the hotel so getting around wasn't a problem. There's a small park and temple near the hotel as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Sars
Thank you for taking your time to post here on TripAdvisor and for staying with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai. We appreciate your nice comments and hopefully will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was traveling around Thailand with two friends, so we needed two beds and a cot. Compared to other hotels we stayed at, this one was a very tight squeeze with the additional bed. There were too few outlets, one of which was pretty loose, and the wi-fi was unreliable. That said, they had the best breakfast buffet of any of the hotels we stayed at; the night bazaar was right down the street; there were always tuk-tuks and taxis right outside; and the main part of town isn't far at all. (We were able to hire one of the taxis as a personal driver for the full day for 600 baht, to take us to Tiger Kingdom, Doi Suthep, etc..) And there's a laundromat just across the street.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear DZ
Thank you for taking your time to post here on TripAdvisor and for your stay at our hotel during your recent trip to Chiang Mai. Our hotel offers connecting doors in case the space is too tight for 3 persons. There will be more electrical outlets after a future renovation. Our breakfast is well liked by our many hotel guests. The location is really ideal as it is so central.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.