We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after arriving in Chiang Mai. We celebrated my husbands birthday here and we were presented with a fruit platter, birthday cake and complimentary dinner service during our stay. Could not fault the service or staff of this hotel.
The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was of a reasonable size. The beds were a little hard for our liking but we are used to this when travelling through Asia.
The hotel is in a great location very close to the night markets and getting around the city. Great value for money. Rooms are a little dated but for the price i could not fault. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Beth
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and to have chosen our hotel for your stay during your time here in Chiang Mai! We are pleased that you and your husband have enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure being of service to you both and it would be nice to welcoming you back another time. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    505
    236
    48
    27
See reviews for
154
312
66
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Imperial hotel was just fine for us. It is not new, nor fancy, but still very well maintained.
The location is perfect – 3 minutes walk to the night bazaar, but not in the middle of it so it is quiet.
Breakfast was great, and never too busy as previous reviewers claimed. Few steps out of the hotel there are massage places, laundry services, and small grocery stores.
Since the price was more than reasonable – I would recommend this hotel for families, without hesitation.

Room Tip: You may ask for adjacent rooms if you need more than 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Shirley
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are very much appreciated. We would be pleased to welcoming you back here another time. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manaager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of the best hotels I have been in. A vast selection of food choices for the buffet breakfast, including Asian dishes, continental, hot and cold dishes and fruits. Hotel has a decent pool and is in a very good location, just a few minutes' walk from the night market. Highly recommended and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Manny
We are pleased to read your comments and are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us here in Chiang Mai. Thank you for time to post on Trip Advisor and for choosing our hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Was on a golfing holiday and the golf organiser chose this hotel for us. Liked it for its location near the night bazaar, restaurants and pubs. Room was clean and big complete with LED TV, coffee making facilities, fridge, combination safe, etc. Had a large and friendly lobby to laze around. Staff were polite and check-in was without a hitch. Breakfast, as in previous reviews, was ample to sustain me for the 5 hour golf game. Only set-back was I had to pay 100 baht for the bottle of mineral water I drank in the room which I thought was complimentary. Definitely value-for-money and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Lai
Thank you for taking the time to comment here on Trip Advisor and we are pleased that you have truly enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights around a jeep tour we took from Chiang Mai.

The place is the definition of outdated- it's as old as you can imagine. Too many details to even bother and complain- the carpet is stained, the closets smell, the sheets had several holes and small stains on them, the bathroom is moldy and I especially hated the shower head that is permanently fixed at a very low height- forcing anyone taller than 160 centimeters to bend over backwards to be able to wash your hair. Overall unappealing, but not unbareable...

At the same time, breakfast had the biggest variety we found in Thailand (it was really good), the staff was very friendly and polite, the location is good (one second from main road and three minutes from the nightmarket), and the price isn't bad (40$ per night).
I don't really know what you can get at Chiang Mai at the same price, but if you see anything that gets better reviews I'd suggest you don't think twice and skip this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Moran
Thank you for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying at our hotel during your recent trip to Chiang Mai. We do appreciate your good comments about the location, breakfast and price paid, however I can assure you that our linen are clean, free of stains and certainly not old.
The fixed shower heads are perhaps an inconvenience, however we have plans to replace them in the near future. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team/Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Plus points - good location, large spacious and clean rooms. The swimmingpool is great. It is located very near the nightmarket and restaurants. You get one night free depending on availability on paying for the flight of the Gibbon - definitely worth it!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Jane
Thank you for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor and for choosing our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai. We are pleased that you were happy in our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I do love this hotel because there' are a lots of big trees in the area. the hotel is a high building so, it's very good view especially when sunset, you will see the mountain and the last light of the day at your window.
the room is a bit old but it's ok not that bad, the pool is not big but not too small. the lobby is large. the car park is also big. since the location is closed to night bazaar market, you can walk there as well, very close and perfect, Mc donald and everything you want are there!
the toilet is good with big tub.
i really love the paints along the walk way in everywhere in the hotel, it's about the old style of Chinag mai lady and man.
next time, if there's promotion, i will stay here again :-)

Room Tip: mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Thepum
Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and to have taken the time to post here on Trip Advisor! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you liked Chiang Mai. Please let us know when you plan another trip.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.