We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My first trip to chiang mai and The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, clean and even a bit old but I am please with the place and I will stay there again next trip with my family, the barmaid (Saowalak or May, she is great with people and always smile) and the outside openair bar and restaurant are also great, too. Bring along a roll over aeroguard, quite a lot of mossie) located in a great location, good easy walk to food surrounding and night bazaar and if you wanted a private tour call Mr Noi Mobile 089 5535785 and he will look after you and reasonable fee......next trip I will only carry one set of change clothe and get the rest there. Great time there and visited many wonderful temple.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Marc
Thank you very much for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us here during your time in Chiang Mai. We appreciate your comments very much and do look forward to welcoming you back soon together with your family.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    458
    202
    41
    24
See reviews for
137
275
58
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As with all the majority of the other reviewers, this hotel, is in a convenient location, that offers great value for money.

The service of the lobby staff is impressive, ever willing to assist and help. Food was great.

On the down side, the hotel is dated, which in a way offers it's own rustic charm. But we must have been given doggy room. The carpets were stained, the safe did not work, the air con did not work and the bathroom had mould in it. We got a TV whilst working needed a tech update. They could have got a better TV from St Vinnes Opshop.

But what made the stay was the dedicated staff that were pleasant, happy to assist and friendly.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on level 8, you still get the noise from below and some of the building block t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Russell
Thank you for your stay here in Chiang Mai and taking the time to post on Trip Advisor! Your comments are very much appreciated and I do hope you have informed our Front Desk staff about the shortcomings. Such information can help us to improve our service. We do hope to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

the Imperial Mae Ping was in a great central location, a 10 minute walk to the Tha Pae gate and 5 minutes to the night bazaar. It is an imposing building, with two pools on different levels. They looked fantastic, but as our girls found out, they were freezing cold. So they only swam twice in the weeek we were here.
The rooms are clean and well equipped although a little on the small side. However, we were out and about seeing the local sights so did not mind this. We also had adjoining rooms which was nice. The breakfast downstairs in the restaurant was fantastic, and something we looked forward to each day. They had the best bacon here. The reception staff were helpful and did their best at all times, even if at times there was a bit of a language barrier and sometimes the service was a little slow. We also booked our transport to the airport from the hotel, that was all done very professionally too.
The best feature of this hotel is its proximity to the local sights. We walked everywhere, and could catch local transport from out the front easily. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Aussiemom
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and your stay with us. Your well written comments are very much appreciated. It was unfortunate that during your stay the outside temperature was a bit cooler, to the joy of many many Chiang Mai visitors, however the pool water was perhaps too cold for your girls. Please let us know when you plan your next visit to our lovely city and hotel.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team Peter Schnyder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks for work purposes. The building is abit old and the amenities in the rooms are very basic. but yet its clean and the beds are good for me. If you were planning to stay here, get a high floor and ask for the mountain view room. the view is awesome.

There is a history in this hotel that i find quite morbid. A famous Taiwanese singer, Teresa Teng died in this hotel.. Was told it was on the 15th floor. so you know what to avoid. hahaha. Apparently, it was made as an attraction for those who followed tour agent!! Dang!!!

Room Tip: high floors and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Effendy
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your comments about our hotel. Allow us to correct your comment about the famous singer. Ms Teresa Teng did NOT die in our hotel, she stayed with us before her unfortunate passing away in a Chiang Mai Hospital. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team/ Peter Schnyder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is well located, short walk away from Chiang Mai night bazaar and 15 minute drive to the airport. Hotel is mostly clean (rooms a little bit less than lobby), and there are mosquitoes in the lobby area and lobby bathroom. Food is great and offers variety. Elevators are quite small. Good free wifi and Internet connection in rooms. Staff is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Daniel
Thank you for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us here in Chiang Mai. We do appreciate your comments and we are sorry about the mosquitoes - which is beyond our control. All our public areas as well as rooms and gardens are regularly fumigated and spread.
We will forward your comments to all our respective associates.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
646 reviews 646 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 304 cities Reviews in 304 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Great for night and walking markets, nice pool, good staff, great breakfast. Stayed here with a tour, certainly good stay. Walkable to restaurants, area seemed safe.and we explored on foot, clean and well kept

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Ontario Canuck
Thank you for taking your time to quote here on Trip Advisor and staying at our hotel during your time here in Chiang Mai. Your short and precise comments are much appreciated and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too far future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights. The hotel is dated and the customer service is not as good as in other hotels i have stayed in Thailand. The rooms are clean and the shower is very good. However, if you want a hotel in a good location then this is perfect. Dont bother booking for breakfast as plenty of places to go near by which offer healthy and cheap options and good atmosphere (Dada Kafe, Corner Cafe.)

Would recommend Love @ First Bite for cakes (not open on Mondays). Sunday market (for shopping and food). Dada Kafe for breakfast/lunch.

Thai cookschool - BaanThai cookery school - (it walking distance from hotel or they will pick you up) - make sure you negotiate the price.

Rainforest adventure - we used Jungle Flight and booked it via the hotel. We managed to get some money taken off the published price. Its well run and professional and safe!

Taxi cost 120 BH from airport and is 15 minutes. Suggest that you go to the TAXI desk at the hotel if booking a return taxi to airport as this was cheaper that using the reception staff at the hotel!!

Towels are provided - and there are two pools to choose from.
Also look out for the Red Taxi Vans ... they are a cheap way of getting around - its a shared taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Matilda
Thank you for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and to have chosen our hotel during your stay here in Chiang Mai. We do appreciate your comments and they description about the city of Chiang Mai is well done.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.