We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, good food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Location, good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Hotel is located very near to the Chiang Mai night bazaar, where you can go shopping & have some good food. The Hotel has a good swimming pool & a Live music band open restaurant. It has a pick up & drop facility to the airport, you can also rent their vans & cars if you want to go for a city outing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Viven
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and your stay at our hotel during your recent trip to Chiang Mai.
Our hotel has certainly an excellent location and many sightseeing spots are near by. We thank you for your visit and hope to welcoming you back on another occasion.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    504
    236
    48
    27
See reviews for
154
312
66
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was my first trip to Chiangmai/Chiangrai and also the first time we stayed at this hotel. I chose it after having read all the excellent reviews here and indeed it is an excellent hotel. On the day we checked in,the Executive Assistant Manager warmly welcomed us and we were offered a welcome drink. The next morning we had a friendly chat with the kindly GM before departing for Chiangrai. Altogether we stayed for 3 nights.

The location of the hotel could be described as strategic. It's just a short distance to the airport and a stone's throw to the old section of the city. One evening after dinner we walked all over the moat area,looking at the shops and the goings-on of this vibrant city. It was safe to walk around and nobody disturbed us. I might come back to Chiangmai one day and stay at this hotel again.

The room is very clean and the environment of the hotel is so pleasant. I can't begin to wax lyrical about the buffet breakfast. What a spread! It's comparable to that of a five-star hotel's. Besides the variety,there is quality and the food is very fresh.

I would choose to stay at this hotel again when I holiday at Thailand's other resorts. Thank you for a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: I asked for a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Kampung Owl
Thank you very much for your wonderful posting and we are so happy to have had the chance to meet you during your stay with us. Delighted to hear that our team met with your expectations and the hotel rose to the occasion. We do look forward to welcoming you back another time and wish you all the best during your travels here in the Land of Smiles.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was a perfect location for us as it was walking distance (about 10 mins) to the night market area, and also walking distance (20-30 mins) to the old city. Hotel facilities are excellent, lovely pool, great buffet breakfast with huge (almost overwhelming) selection, wireless internet works well in both room/pool area/breakfast room/lobby, shops nearby - fish spa, massage, laundry. Plenty of cafes close by as well as money change places, we found a Super rich agency that always had the best rates. The room was decent size and nice and clean, bed was large and comfortable, nice bathroom. Only issue we had was the room we were first put in, the toilet overflowed, but within 5 mins we were happily settled in another room with no problems. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Chiang Mai. Oh, and we went to the boxing just next door as well, made an interesting night out.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Leonek
Thank you for staying with us here in Chiang Mai during your recent visit and to post on Trip Advisor!
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and Chiang Mai was a nice place to see. Our location close to the important sightseeing spots, yet quiet with loverly grounds around, makes our hotel ideal for those who like to be in the center of the action.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The good points. 15 minutes taxi from the airport. 5 to 7 minutes walk to a night bazaar. A price is reasonable, 60 US$ for a night including a breakfast(enough varieties). A room is a fairly clean and have a safety box. The needs to be improved. A hallway has a stale air, maybe provide an air purifier. Upon check out, you need to wait till the staff check your mini bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sabai Traveller
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your time here in Chiang Mai and your post on Trip Advisor! Your comments have been noted and we are in the process of installing air-freshener for the hallway. We will improve on the time it takes to check the mini bar.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Imperial Mae Ping on our first visit to Chiang Mai, the location was great, we went to the night markets most nights and the staff were very professional and helpful most of the time. We had an issue with the drains in our room and took 2 requests for the issue to be remedied, which it was finally. Wifi in our room was available however was difficult to use unless you were near the window or in reception.
Rooms were large and although dated were clean and tidy, they were serviced each day, air conditioning worked well.
We enjoyed our stay at the IMP and will return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Heather
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor! Nice to read your comments and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed Chiang Mai and our hotel. WIFI is free of charge in the entire hotel, rooms and public areas and at times it may be a bit slow. We are constantly looking at ways how we can improve on it. Thank for choosing the Imperial Mae Ping as your hotel here and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too far distance.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel now 3 times on 3 separate trips to Thailand.

It is an excellent hotel, the rooms are very clean & spacious.

The staff are extremely helpful, and very friendly.

The hotel is central to the night market, but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet.

We stayed 'room only'. Adding the breakfast seemed to add £8/£10 to the price, which really wasnt exactly value for money. There is a small cafe serving breakfasts about 100 yards away, quite cheaply.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Ronandgill
Thank you for your loyalty and for your post here on Trip Advisor!!
We are happy to read that you are enjoying to stay at our hotel here in Chiang Mai and do look forward to welcoming you back soon again. Please let us know when you will visit here.
Thank you and kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Qld
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here only for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. the staff were very professional and helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The massage parlour near the pool is great! Had my best massage there. Very close to everything, especially the markets where I got so many bargains! The night markets are fantastic. We did a lot of walking, but you could easily hire a little tuktuk from outside the hotel. Nice place to stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Jen
Thank you very much for your post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your trip in February 2012.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your time here in Chiang Mai. It is indeed a lovely place to be and there are so many places to visit. A good massage after a lot of walking was certainly a good relief.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.