We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant river views. Poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | T. Watket, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #56 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant river views. Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Location: Not near to town altho free shuttle provided. Nice view of river.
Room: Very comfortable size. Comfortable bed - pillows too soft. Range of toiletries. Full set of towels. Empty mini fridge - which allows guests to fill with own refreshments. Coffee maker.
Facilities: Did not use so can't comment
Housekeeping: Tips left on coffee tray but service still inconsistent - 2 bottles of mineral water on first day. 1 bottle on 2nd day. Room not made up at 4.30pm on 3rd day - in spite of speaking with duty manager after 2 failed calls to housekeeping, it took another hour or so before fresh towels and water were delivered.

Room Tip: room facing river is very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear ganbeiSingapore,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the housekeeping services has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    368
    156
    46
    12
See reviews for
139
276
73
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

When you think of a Holiday Inn sometimes you think of a old Hotel! Not here, this is a beautiful hotel with a great western breakfast buffet. This hotel is about 3 miles from the night market and you can take the Holiday Inn Shuttle for free. They have a great swimming pool and has free wifi and a small refrigerator in your room! You can rent a Van for site seeing that won't break the bank. A massage palor is in walking distance from this Hotel. Nicha Thai Massage in which you can get a foot massage for around 5-6 American dollars depending on exchange! I was there everyday -- so relaxing and a great way to end the day! Everyone in this hotel is very friendly and helpful. This is a nice stop in Chiang Mai --it is a beautiful City!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It was nice to see the river from the room. The hotel is 10 minutes away from the center, so you will be going back and forth a bit. I enjoyed sitting outside for breakfast, but there really wasn't any service. I had to go to the coffee station to serve coffee. There was a very limited selection of juices. The omelette station was great with no line. The room was fashioned 80's style. The room was clean, but no electric plugs to recharge phones, etc. Air conditioner didn't really work. But wifi was high speed, and free. Restaurant and bar is expensive as the 10 min travel time into town is just enough of a barrier. The concierge didn't speak English too well and didn't communicate availability of shuttles, etc. Loved Chiang Mai, but a fresher room with the same view and a helpful concierge would make a difference.

Room Tip: River view, and higher floors may have been remodeled...ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Celticson C,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of the room and found the view of the room nice. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

our stay was very nice and pleasant. the staff are friendly, helpful. This hotel is very good and have much variety food for breakfast.

shopping tip: is near to night market & new shopping mall that just open.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Several time had problem key card, DM gave reason for we keep key card with mobile phone, it's reason for lost all data in key card, not make sense. We travel and stay Hotel in IHG many time, not found problem like here.

Staff at River terrace not friendly , working like ROBOT.

Room Tip: Room higher floor renovate ready, look fresh and new furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear jing785,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We were four couples on a holiday. We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Holiday Inn. Nicely located . The staff are very friendly and helpful. breakfast and food in the restaurants were very good. I will definitely like to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Beautiful and big rooms, a little bit old style though. Delicious breakfast with lots of choice. Staff is friendly and helpful. Nice pool en good spa (but men and women are separated and we didn't know). Only downside is the location...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | T. Watket, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.