We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensory overload” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | T. Watket, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 896 Reviews
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sensory overload”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Warm friendly service & a great base to explore all there is to see and do in the area. Lovely well maintained garden area and a great lobby / bar area.

Rooms are a bit dated in terms of decor but very spacious, comfortable & clean.

Varied & tasty menu in general & great that breakfast is available from early on. Free wifi handy, pity it's restricted to certain zones.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    417
    164
    53
    14
See reviews for
161
308
85
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is very tired hotel indeed. A good facelift is badly needed. Having said that the rooms etc are clean and the staff are great. The free shuttle bus into town is good but the pick up is only limited to two times in the evening, having said that negotiate with a tuk tuk driver and you should pay about 70 baht. The night market is worth a visit. AS with all Starwood group hotels this suffers from free wifi only being available in the lobby and by the pool. which means customers congregate to communicate with the world. Management could do far more to encourage customers to spend in the hotel. Everything is overpriced. A can of Chang beer from the local super market is 26 baht whilst in the hotel 180 baht. The hotel is handy for the airport though

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Thornpilot,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Chiang Mai around 15 times over the past 5 years, a total of 35 nights.

The hotel has undergone some recent renovations including major room improvements. The staff are friendly and quick to assist with any and all requests. The dinner buffet is superb and there is an excellent breakfast selection.

I recommend booking through www.holidayinn.com as you will receive the best pricing available.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the newly renovated floors (~20-25).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had my second visit to this hotel in April 2013 and I found it just as great as last time.
The staff are excellent and very helpful and a lot of them remebered me from my last stay.
I booked an executive room ( thought Priorty Club) which was large and very clean.
Food was great with lots of choices for breakfast and evening buffets large selection and reasonally priced.
Building and rooms are starting to show there age but this is second to me as long as the room is bright and clean and staff are great I could not ask for anymore.
I previously done a review on the Shangri La hotel which I said was excellent but the Holiday Inn makes me feel like it is my second home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moree, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

For Stella - whom I had the pleasure of meeting at the lunch buffet.
We were absolutely delighted with this hotel from the moment we arrived right through our stay. We found the staff were very friendly and courteous and most helpful when we had a query. Our room was excellent, very clean and spacious. The bathroom was excellent - bigger than my one at home! We were very well looked after. Breakfast was included in our deal and the food was wonderful. We had a huge selection and it was all good quality. We also had one lunch and one dinner at the buffet and these were both excellent meals as well.
The Holiday Inn is well located only a short trip from/to the airport and the centre of the city.
We had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is a short tuk-tuk ride to he center of the city, and there were plenty of in front of the hotel. It's also easy getting to and from the airport. The rates were reasonable. Staff were attentive and helpful. They also gave us tips about tuk-tuk rates to make sure we wouldn't get ripped off.

Room Tip: Ask for room on a higher floor if you want good view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stay me and my partner in this hotel for 10 nights and as a part from IHG chian we expected a very good and consistent service however , some area such us the bar we already got what we expect but some area like the pool which the staff there busy using their mobile phone more than looking after the guest is very disappointed also the concierge team need to speak nice to the guest and be more friendly and more ON THE KNOW in the area and their English need to be improved ...the housekeeping doing avarge job cleaning the rooms , however the room never been vacuumed and they never clean the room in the right time they always doing the cleaning after 2:00pm which is very strange .the breakfast is ok the lunch and dinner is very avarge .front office staff is ok the MODs friendly but the rest of the team need to be more friendly ....the band in the lobby bar is very disappointing ..the free wifi connection keep dropping out and if u stay here use a laptop not your I phone as I phone can not log out properly ...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Adam2203,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and housekeeping. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | T. Watket, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.