We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious location on the Mae Ping River, Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | T. Watket, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #65 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Nagpur, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Luxurious location on the Mae Ping River, Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The smiling and enchanting staff of the Holiday Inn Chiangmai welcomed us with the usual charm but more was is store for us at the Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

As a Platinum Ambassador member of the InterContinental group upon check in I was given the usual welcome and a room upgrade to the next category. And this was an absolute shocker... the room was a large suite with an spectacular view of the Mae Ping river and was south west facing overlooking the city and the Hills of the Doi Inthanon National Park. The welcome included three elephant shaped chocolates containing various degrees of light to dark chocolates from the hotel bakery.

We had booked a vehicle to visit the Doi Suthep Temple and the Meo Hmong village unfortunately something went wrong with the booking and the vehicle did not turn up. The Staff was kind to replace and give a hotel car with a driver for the trip. I acknowledge and appreciate this gesture of the staff and which has helped the hotel live up to its expectations of the great IC Hotels chain.

The view of the city at sunset with the back drop of the hills is still fresh in our memory. I swear I can give special points to the friendliness of the staff and when I experienced internet access trouble which remained unresolved during our stay, and later when I checked out I received an email from the manager and I have to admit that I haven’t received such an apologetic email from anyone ever and that I now I really want to go back and stay at the Holiday Inn Chiangmai !
The room suite was huge with a spacious bedroom, bathroom with a huge Jacuzzi bath, bidet and bath, luxurious drawing room with fantastic French windows overlooking the Ping River and the city of Chiangmai. The panaromic view of the river is quite enchanting. The hotel is very comfortable and luxurious!

The location of the holiday inn Chiangmai is good and its position on the Mae ping is strategic, besides the view the distances from the city centre are not much and there are ample tuk-tuks around the place to hire. One can reach the heart of the city in fifteen minutes, the night market, Saturday market et all

You have to wake up early so as not to miss the soap carving lady who has a fantastic collection of soap carvings. She sits in the lobby till 10:00 am and carves just anything out of soaps making them absolutely useless for having conventional baths :) Do see the pictures.
.
The location of the river terrace restaurant is wonderful; viewing the Ping while you eat supper is a speciality. The China Palace restaurant is famous for its Dim Sums and the buffet lunches have quite a spread. Overall I give this hotel 10 out of 10 points and will surely return to this place for a longer duration of stay again in the near future...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south west side overlooking the Mae Ping river overlooking the city and the Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnChiangmai, E-Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Khun Harshawardhan,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you enjoy every single night with us. Priority Club Member always get a little something extra.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Chiangmai Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    457
    182
    60
    18
See reviews for
179
340
93
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at holiday Inn for 2 weeks & did not want to move to hotel near the bazaar as we were made to feel very welcome & staff attended to our every need. The rooms were large & clean. The shower was powerful & hotel provided for our needs. The only complaint would the pillows were not as soft & fluffy as my own pillow at home.Our 10yr old son did not want to leave the pool.The hotel is bit away from the night bazaar but the hotel provided a complimentary bus every 1/2hr to the bazaar when it was open,which we made a full use of it. The days were spent trekking or sight seeing & pool,sauna & steam room were a welcome relaxation to the end the day. We did not opt for the breakfast as numerous cafe's within walking distance or 50 bhat to bazaar area on a tuk tuk. Walking distance were also numerous places to get a massages which are very cheap compared to prices charged in London.I would strongly recommend hotels to family's with kids as it is away from the noisy bazaar area. The staff were friendly & very helpful. I would certainly stay here again if i come back on Holiday in chiang mai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnChiangmai, at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear JazGrewal,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you and your family happy with our pool and services. We are more than happy to know that you made a full use of hotel facility. During your next stay, please feel free to let our housekeeping team arrange you extra pillows :D

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Chiangmai Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent 9 nights here, and I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Every facet of our stay was superlative. The room was spacious, clean, well maintained, and comfortable. The staff was courteous, friendly, welcoming, accomodating, and helpful. The included breakfast was delicious and bountiful. On a couple of occasions we needed some information regarding locations or recommendations and the desk staff was way more than helpful. I would stay here again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors afford a very nice view of the city and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnChiangmai, E-Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mike M,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you enjoy every single night with us.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Chiangmai Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

With my respect of who likes this hotel, but my experience there was very bad. The room is old and needs to restoration, it small bad too. The staff were not cooperate and unfriendly even they are hard to smile. The location not that good, 2.5 km away from the night market and no interest place near to the hotel except the river. The only good thing with this hotel was the breakfast. I have been in Holiday Inn Bangkok and Phuket, Chiang Mai not like them at all. I will not recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Maj B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience regarding your recent stay with us. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times previously.

The room quality is generally good. It's not the newest property or the oldest, but the rooms are large, bathroom spacious, and it had what you need to enjoy yourself in the city. I slept well in the room.

For those who want to focus on the tourist oriented night market, you'll have plenty of tuk tuk's ready to hock you for the treacherous price on 80 THB for what should be 30-40 THB at best - or you can drive over and find your own parking.

You have a 7-11 and some other shopping around side of the property for snacks as well.

My issues with this property historically have been:

1. Guests are not expected to have cars. When they hold events, the carkpark fills and you may find yourself squeezing into some corner or unable to take your car in or out of the property as you wish. After arguing with the hotel and a callback from the GM, a regular spot in the main lot was finally found. A few hours later, it was all abandoned again.

2. Room service food is terrible. The Thai food is terrible. The northern Thai dishes were terrible. The western dishes were terrible. HOWEVER, the FRENCH FRIES were Great !!! Not to worry; there are plenty of other dining options.

Will I return? YES, I am quite certain that I will return - however, I will most assuredly NOT order room service and hope for the best on parking/events.

Enjoy the property though. It's a nice lobby and nice rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Holiday Inn. The price was cheaper than other 4 star hotel and it was clean and spacious. We had two double side beds in our room and It's the same price as regular king size bed. You rarely find any double side bed in one room. It's very good for family. We had dinner at their restaurant and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnChiangmai, E-Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear RChen4,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We happy to hear that you and your family are enjoyed your stay with us.

Our double double bed is one of the famous from Holiday Inn Brand. Another one for family travelers is Kids stay & eat free also available only at Holiday Inn.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

we stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It is located in close proximity to many attractions. The hotel staff very professional. The hotel has all amenities and services you may need. Dining room is good to visit as late as possible (not before 8:00 AM). We stayed on the 25th floor and the rooms (ours and the kids') were spacious and very comfortable. one major downside to our stay was the need topay for the use of the internet, need WI-FI upgrade.

Room Tip: south side higher rooms have a beautifull view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnChiangmai, E-Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear BDJak,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you have a good time stayed with us.

FREE WIFI project is on its way to improve guest satisfaction. The project shall begins next fiscal year. At the moment, we provide FREE WIFI at the Lobby area for in-house guest.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Holiday Inn Chiangmai Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | T. Watket, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.