We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, good customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Princess Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Princess Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Royal Princess Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good location, good customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

in the middle of night market, where everything can be found. room is large and clean, no noise as we had asked for a quiet room. family oriented. Carpets needed to be replaced. breakfast was good and fresh . free internet access. staff are helpfull . We were satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Royal Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we have recorded this details for our renovation plan.

Once again, many thanks and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

Sincerly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    359
    149
    27
    18
See reviews for
140
302
75
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel room is located just a step away to the night market with a lot of restaurant around to choose from. We stayed in a twin bed hotel room and it is clean and big. Staff are friendly and helpful. But there is no free breakfast if you book thru Agoda.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Royal Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your time and feed back provided.

Please note that we offer special price for breakfast for all guests book room only and afraid our staff did not properly inform on arrival.

Please visit us again during your next trip to Chiangmai, Thailand.

Sicnerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Room:
-spacious
-clean bed, clean sheet
-has safety box
-has hot/cold shower
-has hairdryer
-has water boiler
-min fridge (with free bottled water and some other items that's payable)

Location:
-strategic, just right in the middle of the Chaingmai night bazaar / night market
-McDonald's, Burger King, 7Eleven, foodstalls, currency exchange store etc are just nearby within walking distance

Service:
-check in was a tad slow
-receptionists are friendly but just abit confusing on the room category (eg. Twin/Double/Triple room)
-bellhops and bell captain are very helpful of course and kind

Overall experience:
-the breakfast was just alright though lack of beverage choices
-i like the hotel and its environment
-definitely will return and recommend to others

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near the lift hallway, it will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Royal Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your time and detailed comment.

Have shared with all memebers and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is located bang smack in the middle of the night market. Step out of the door at night, turn left or right for stalls, restaurants and the hustle and bustle that is Thailand. Our room was large but had no real view from the window. It was clean and comfortable although rather noisy late at night (but that's location). We enjoyed the swimming pool and breakfast had plenty of choice.
Use the free bus to a shopping centre for local arts and crafts its worth it for the journey alone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Royal Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment.

We all happy to learn the satisfaction you had and look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean, the rooms are quite big and the staff is very polite. Breakfast is good.

1. The rooms are humid. If you have wet clothes from various tourist activities, they won't get dry for days. 2 .We didin't book the breakfast online so the receptionist told us to go have breakfast and just let her know afterwards. Later on we discovered that you get charged much more that way, instead you should let her know FIRST ( every day) and than go to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Royal Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your time and comment.

All have been shared with all staff for our improvement.

Once again, many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is situated in the middle of the night market .....literally.... So it is quite central and very convenient if you love shopping. Still the hotel is very quiet and no noises from the market can be heard into the rooms ( at least the one we had) . Staff very helpful and always with a smile and an excellent breakfast in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Royal Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your time and comment.

Points had been shared with all memebers and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were transferred to the hotel without a hitch so a good start. You walk right into the night market as soon as you leave the hotel so you can shop, drop off and go back out shopping again! Top location. The hotel is a little bit dated but it is very clean and the staff are both professional and friendly. A reasonable sized pool but really enjoyed chilling out and catching the sun. Gym is basic but you can have a nice 'tone' up in there plus a swim afterwards. Breakfast wasn't to bad although bacon is never good in Thailand, too thin and over cooked. Didn't eat their in the evening as there is far too much choice around the night market! However they apparently do excellent Flambe! The door staff were first rate and booked all our necessary transport for us. I was so impressed with the door staff that I filled in one of their staff reward cards for him. All in all a very clean, friendly hotel with prime location, location, location

Room Tip: Ring them direct and see what deals they will offer you. When you get there see if you can upgrade f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Royal Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your time and comments which we share wiht all members.

Recoginition had been rewarded to the staff mentioned with pleasure.

We all look forward to welocoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai again soon.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Chiang Mai

Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Princess Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.