We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool area has great potential but is under-utilised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Mercure Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   183 Changpuak Road | Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The pool area has great potential but is under-utilised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

After staying in Myanmar for a week this hotel is a lovely alternative! Yes the decor is dated in the rooms but there were no cracked tiles, sheets were clean and fresh and everything seemed to work fine. The only issue is the current renovations going on on the 2nd floor, which can be heard on the 4th floor during the day. Unbelievably noisy. Quiet at night and beautiful atmosphere in the foyer and front carpark with pretty fairy lights. The pool is lovely, gorgeous! There's a poolside bar that is not manned, you need to ring to order and the choices are minimal. The lights around the pool do not automatically come on (nor could I find a switch) at dark. I'd recommend manning the bar in the afternoon (have a Happy Hour) with a choice of cocktails and light the pool magically after dark and keep it open until 8/9pm.
Otherwise stay was good.

Room Tip: 4th floor or above while they are renovating
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear bonadette,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on here! Please accept our apology for the construction work due to our new renovate room project on the second floor, which is should be completed by the end of this year. However, we really appreciate your kind feedback and glad to hear you had a good stay in our hotel.

Hopefully, we will have another opportunity to welcome you back with our new look on the 2nd floor soonest! :-)

Warm Wishes
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    285
    208
    68
    33
See reviews for
131
210
98
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I am staying in the top floor of this hotel. The room is ok although only one plug can actually work to charge my phone. But my god it is noisy.....I can practically hear next door breath. There is no carpeting so every sound reverberates around the hotel off the tiles.and when thee are a lot of Chinese...well they don't seem to care about keeping their voices down. So I barely slept.
Really disappointing...do not recommend. Unfortunately I have one more night!
Sorry!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear TonyMorton_in_Dubai,

First of all, thank you for your concern regarding to your recent stay with us at Mercure Chiang Mai. We sincerely apologize and truly sorry to hear that your experience didn't meet your expectation.

Please let us clarify in regards to the tiles. As the hotel has been established for more than 15 years and is running down, the management team has agreed to renovate parts of our hotel included corridor and guestroom on 5th floor. We did remove the carpet out and replaced with tiles in order to reduce the odor.

TonyMorton_in_Dubai, we are sorry if this caused your unpleasant stay and thank you very much for sharing your concerns.

Sincerely Yours,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hotel is slightly away from city centre, free shuttle to night market but only runs once per hour and you need to book in advance. Hotle decor is tired, but room is very large and comfy massive bed. Great pool and good buffet breakfast selection. Travel agency and supermarket next door. Get your clothes washed for 40 baht per kg behind the hotel on the main road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear kiwibirdsofprey,

Thank you very much for writing us your kind review on TripAdvisor! We very much appreciated your sharing your concerns here and we hope to serve you in the near future once you make your trip to Chiang Mai again!

Warm Wishes,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete TAHITI
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and this was our first stay.
We had a room on the fifth floor, the room was big, simple in decoration and had the most needed amenities, nothing fancy.
Internet is provided free of charge.
Brakfast had a good spread but the quality was average. It is a shame that in a country like Thailand where fruits geo easily you are served concentrate juice that is too sweet.
Why not have Bale fruit juice or that blue flower juice that turns purply pink when lemon is added ? Or freshly squeezed pineapple or orange juice ?
One great thing amongst others is the location of a supermarket right next door ! You can do a little bit of grocery shopping to survive in your room if needed !
The pool is a great place to relax as well, It is not located in a luscious garden but on the 3rd floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear manureva744,

Thank you very much you writing your review. We appreciated your sharing your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We have noted your observation and recommendation regarding to Juice and shared with our Restaurant Manager. Thank you for your suggestion and after investigated, we do have some several juices for our guests such as guava juice, apple juice, grape juice, orange juice, ginger juice and lemongrass juice. However, it will be served differently each day. Also, we plan to offer some more kinds of juice and fruits for this coming season.

Thank you again for your kind reviews! We hope to welcome you back again to our property for your next visit to Chiang Mai! :-)

Best Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 night. They upgraded me to Deluxe room. The room that renovated is very clean and large. The service is very good. Free shuttle bus from hotel to night market. I will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Korawit,

Thank you for spending time to write us on TripAdvisor! We do appreciated your sharing good moment at our property. We wish to welcome you again once you make your trip to Chiang Mai!

Thank you with Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent hotel with clean luxurious amenities. Staff always helpful and oblidging. Food freshly cooked. Excellent buffet breakfast. We were fortunate enough to get free upgrade to king sized bed which was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Mary L,

Thank you so much for your kind review on TripAdvisor! It is very pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Chiang Mai soonest! :-)

Best Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chiang Mai

Address: 183 Changpuak Road | Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand and only 10 minutes from the airport. Mercure Chiang Mai offers you comfortable rooms with free WiFi for your business and leisure stay. Book conferences, seminars and social events for up to 600 people with parking available. Our restaurant and bars will tempt you with a range of delicious dishes and a relaxing atmosphere. Supermarket and banks are available next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Accor Chiang Mai
Novotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mercure
Chiang Mai Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.