We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chiang mai” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Mercure Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   183 Changpuak Road Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Blacktown, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“chiang mai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

was so far from the main part of chiang mai it cost a small fortune to get anywhere - there is a small grocery store next door - tour desk didnt speak english i found it cheaper to hire the driver from the outside tour desk and be driven privately to what i wanted to do and it cost a third of the price and the translation was easier - hotel runs a free shuttle to the night markets but its on their schedule not yours - rooms were average - not overly impressed with the hotel itself - free wifi - nice staff - restaurant was nice food although very pricey - not very kid friendly - no service at the pool for drinks or food - long delays with room service waited that long on one occasion i cancelled the order - couldnt get a taxi or a tuktuk as they didnt travel near the hotel had to walk forever to wait for one - in the older dodgy part of the city - definately wouldnt be walking around at night

Room Tip: book somewhere else if you can afford too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear 206beck,

Thank you so much for sharing the review about your recent stay with us and we do apologize for some inconveniences occurred during your stay. Your comments will be shared to our concerned departments for better solutions.

In regards of the tour desk, we regret that you had not very nice experience. The hotel does not manage this desk but rents out the space to a travel agency. However, we will ask them to ensure that they provide a proper service, complete and clear information to our guests.

Again, we are sorry for any inconvenience you had encountered. We hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    263
    188
    59
    28
See reviews for
116
184
92
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tuen Mun, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed with my family 4 nights here in Mercure on end Aug. Before departure, I had read some
negative comments regarding the old interior decoration and the inconvenient traffic. But after all, my expereince is not bad at all. Overall environment is nice, the outside taffic is easy and
convenient. The atmosphere is quite and relax, which is what we wanted. I hate the noisy and
snakey enivronment nearby the tourist area around Night Market.
But hotel management must keep an eye on the "car arrangement" bouth on front door. The man is not always stand-by. Guests need to look for the taxi by themself.

Room Tip: Let the receptionist know what you need during checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Kenny S,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review regarding to your recent stay with us at Mercure Chiang Mai. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the atmosphere and location.

However, we are sorry for the inconvenience occurred that caused by our staffs. Thank you for raising this issue and please rest assured that we will emphasize the training to our staffs for the comfort of our future guests.

Thank you again for sharing your review on here and we hope to welcoming you back to Mercure Chiang Mai on your future visit!

Best Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

my experience with this hotel is mixed: it's cheap, and you get a lot for your money, including a nice pool and possible massages, reasonably priced.

BUT:
1- location: yes you are close to the old city, but certainly not close to the 'useful' bit of the old city (at least as a tourist), so you will need either to walk quite a lot (fine but can get tiring after a while) or get an unexpensive tuk tuk or songtaews. To be fair, the hotel provides a free shuttle to the night markets, which is good.

2- what sums the hotel best is also 'tired'. the age of the whole place really shows, and my room had vintage furniture (almost comical "all in one" piece of furniture with switches for TV, lamps and radio, which I hadn't seen in any hotel for a VERY long time), up to a really old TV also. The rug was also quite old, and although it was probably clean, looked suspicious because of this.

3- I was not overly impressed with service: some people were really nice and helpful, but some looked rather clueless, and spoken English was very poor (I realise it might cater more for locals than tourists though)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear JeroendeFrans,

Thank you for taking your time to write here on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your sharing your comments regarding to your stay. Thank you for pointing out the issues so we can go further improve.

Since the hotel has been established for over 15 years now, so we do understand in case of the tired hotel. Yet, we strive very hard to get better improved so we decided to run the renovation project. Fifth floor rooms, swimming pool & pre-functions rooms are now completely finished, yet, we still have a plan to do with some other areas which probably take some times to be implemented.

Also, please accept our apologize for the service. Please rest assured that this issue will be brought out to the head of concerned department to train their staffs accordingly.

Thank you again for telling us your experiences! We do hope to welcoming you agan for your next visit to Chiang Mai!

With Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great hotel. Very clean and quite a good little vibe going on. Checking and out a breeze and not to far from the old city. If you are able to walk it would take around 20minutes. Tutuk's to old city are around 100baht. The restaurant is reasonable but unfortunately, the service is quite slow. Apart for. That it's certainly worth the. One which is reasonable as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 327
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear KarenPorter54,

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, yet, we're sorry for the slow service. Thank you for pointing this issue and please rest assured we will take a proper action to this matter.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel if your travel brings you here again.

Kind regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chiang Mai

Address: 183 Changpuak Road Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chiang Mai is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand. Only 10 minutes from the airport, the hotel is the perfect choice for business trips and holidays, featuring 159 rooms and conference facilities for up to 600 people. Two bars provide a relaxing atmosphere in which to enjoy a drink, while our restaurant will tempt you with a range of delicious dishes. Guests can also enjoy our outdoor pool. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Accor Chiang Mai
Novotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mercure
Chiang Mai Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.