We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Mercure Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   183 Changpuak Road Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here for a few days in Dec. 2012. It was a nice hotel. The location was pretty good - just outside center of town - we did walk into the old town and to the mall - both almost a mile. The rooms were big and a little old-looking but not bad. The pool area was nice, but the water was very cold (not sure why since it was warm out). We ate at the restaurant once, and it was pretty good. The motel was right next to a Tops Market, a big grocery store chain, so it was nice to easily buy water and snacks. The hotel has free hourly shuttles in the evening to the night bazaar. They may fill up, so reserve early. The tour desk was helpful, though their English was limited. I suggest hiring a taxi and touring on your own rather than the expensive packaged tours. Their airport shuttle was overpriced. If you have 3 or more people, it would be cheaper to use a taxi. Had a gecko in our room one night and called the front desk, and they sent up security to remove it - thanks! Bed was too hard (fairly normal in Asia).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    236
    171
    51
    26
See reviews for
102
168
82
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ayutthaya, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The room should be adjust to be a standard of MERCURE. Good location and easy to go around in chaingmai town. Buffet lunch is good with service mind. You can have a lunch in nice atmosphere with your friends and very easy to shopping near by the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I went to this hotel December 2012 and these are my impressions towards this hotel.
Staff friendliness : if you are commission-able to them, they'll greet you warmly ,especially the bellman.
Room cleanliness : It's been re-branded. What do you think.
Pool area : From the line above, why should bother going there.
Breakfast : In good standard. But the cooks were not wearing proper uniform. They should wear hair net.
Atmospere : spooky in the night time.
Bad jokes about this hotel : It's been low graded. The staff did the card verify on my wife's credit card upon check in. But upon check out, she did not know how to deduct the actual amount from the blocked amount. This is really laughable.
Finally, you cant complain much anyway. Since it is less than one star hotel.

Room Tip: The bellmen here will always try to rip you off. Everything they offer is commission-able to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share us your feedback. We also appreciate that you have given us another opportunity to address your concerns during your stay.

We would like to apologies for the disappointing stay you had with us. Please be assured that we are always seeking to satisfy the expectations of our guests. For this reason, I hope that we will have another opportunity to improve your stay experience in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chiang Mai

Address: 183 Changpuak Road Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chiang Mai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chiang Mai is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand. Only 10 minutes from the airport, the hotel is the perfect choice for business trips and holidays, featuring 159 rooms and conference facilities for up to 600 people. Two bars provide a relaxing atmosphere in which to enjoy a drink, while our restaurant will tempt you with a range of delicious dishes. Guests can also enjoy our outdoor pool. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Accor Chiang Mai
Novotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mercure
Chiang Mai Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.