We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sittiphuk's family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kamala's Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kamala's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kamala's Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
1 review
“Sittiphuk's family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Friendly staff. My kids love to play with them. Our Family room is so comfortable and good cotton sheet. The location is perfet - off main street but close to all shop and Thapae gate. WIFI is very good. We will be back for sure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    32
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
33
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Kamala's is in one of the better/quieter parts of Chiang Mai--walking distance to the moat and many, many tasty restaurants. They prepare good food, too. Great coffee.

I travel a lot, and it's nice when management listens to requests.

Everyone here made sure I'm okay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Kamala guesthouse are at the town easy to walk to Sunday walking market, bar and food market. Staff was friendly and helpful with a smile. At the place had a bar and restaurant for me to eat and drink. The drink was cheaper then I though. I'm glad that I should to stay at Kamala guesthouse.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights after moving from a different-awful-guesthouse that will remain nameless. Our stay encompassed 3 days of Songkran and we were glad to have a room so close to the center, but not on a main road. 5 min walk to Tha Phae gate. Room was clean , staff was super friendly and helpful, shared bathroom was cleaned everyday. Good breakfast--really good omelet!- Only complaint is the beds aren't very soft. Otherwise, highly recommend. Would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Kamala's Guest House in January during our first trip to the area. It was recommended to us by The Funky Monkey because they were full. We were only going to stay for a few nights and move on but stayed for 5 days. We were pleasantly surprised with the convenient location, clean rooms and tasty food! They were also very helpful with booking our elephant excursion and cooking class. The location is only a few block walk to old town and a small market with fresh fruit, vegetables and other delicious Thai snacks. It is far enough away from the popular bars and restaurants so you don't have the noise but close enough to walk to them all; best of both worlds! If we ever get back to Chiang Mai we would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Kamala's gusthose is one of the best gusthose in CM I have stayed at. Such a warm welcome from the staff & owner, any information you want to know about CM they would help you with all the small detail.
the rooms are cleaned everyday, comfortable bed, quiet location. I would strongly recommend to stay here, you will not be let down

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisborough Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had visit Chiang Mai last year and stay with Kamala Guesthouse ,The staff very friendly and very helpful ,Kamala the owner all so take care me very well .Good value for your money and all so the room very nice and clean .I very can't wait for my next visit in April .I will recommend for anyone staying Chiang Mai .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamalas guesthouse is only 40 yards from the center of Chiang Mai. We have a pool table dart board and wifi all free. We can cater for all your needs while staying here. We are child friendly and supply free baby monitor if required. We pride ourselves on having extremely clean and secure rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamala's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.