We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean & friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamala's Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kamala's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kamala's Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 537 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean & friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Kamala's for 23 nights and would definitely go back. It was quiet, clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We did have a couple of meals here but we found "Cat House" next door cafe, which does amazing food, so we mainly ate there. It's in a great location. There was only one thing if we were going to be picky and that was that we would have loved a pool to relax at the end of the day. Thank you Nok and girls, it was great, look forward to seeing you all in a couple of years again ;))))

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with bathroom and also on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamalas_CNX, Owner at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Thomas,

I am really sorry what had happened to you. I have police to investigate this but you were not here to do the report to the police. I have been finding out this problem your behalf. No evidance that things had been stolen from the guesthouse according to the CCTV in the building. All my staff got investigated by police and made a record. You left my place without notify us striaght away which police find it hard to investigate and questioning you both. Only emails between you and that they had seen.

I have been trying to do my best for you two and I am so sorry to hear that you both are quite sure it happened in my place. I can't compensate everybody if no evidance. I hope you do understand me that all guest reviews mean a lot for this business. And I run this business with my profession and spiritual. I did my best for you. All the best.

Thanks,

Kamala khemapirak (Nok)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    36
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
40
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As the title says, don't stay here! We had the cleaning staff go through our bags that we left in the room and they stole money from us!
Kamala tried to say that we couldn't prove it and it probably happened on our way to the airport but that isn't the case!

The hotel staff was nice to us until they found out we booked our tours online and not from them. Then they did a 180 a barly acknowledged us.

I would highly recommend avoiding this place, they are plenty of other guesthouses to stay at which won't rob you!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamalas_CNX, Owner at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi Thomas,

I am really sorry what had happened to you. I have police to investigate this but you were not here to do the report to the police. I have been finding out this problem your behalf. No evidance that things had been stolen from the guesthouse according to the CCTV in the building. All my staff got investigated by police and made a record. You left my place without notify us striaght away which police find it hard to investigate and questioning you both. Only emails between you and that they had seen.

I have been trying to do my best for you two and I am so sorry to hear that you both are quite sure it happened in my place. I can't compensate everybody if no evidance. I hope you do understand me that all guest reviews mean a lot for this business. And I run this business with my profession and spiritual. I did my best for you. All the best.

Thanks,

Kamala khemapirak (Nok)
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We moved to Kamalas Guesthouse from the Elegant Lana after we had had enough. With the breakfast included, it was a very similar price and very good for the location and what you got! The room was clean and cheerful, good air con, good tv, good bed, clean and modern bathroom - all very nice. The reception room was also great with everything you might need. Wifi was fine for us. The food was good. And most of all the staff were so cheerful and helpful. We really wish we had taken action sooner and spent our whole stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I like this place . Friendly staff , lovely owner . Close to city center . Great breakfast .
Comfortables bad and room . Clean and quiet . Can play pool table . Tour agency service and laundry service working good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Yes, the rooms are pretty large. The guesthouse is definitely ok, but not more. He are the backdraws:
- Wifi constantly breaking. Unable to seriously do anything online. Totally annoying when having to organize remaining trip.
- Noise: GH is very noisy. Despite of earplugs I woke up early from street noise and vendors outside. Even aircon is super loud so that you have to turn it off if you would like to sleep.
- slippery floor: the floor is extremely slippery. You can easily hurt yourself
- Not clean: my linen was extremely dirty. Same is true for bathroom which was obviously not cleaned from previous people staying there. Super dirty floor from shower. Was never cleaned during my several nights stay.
- Security box not working: defined my pin, put stuff in, closed and could not open anymore despite using my PIN. Could get key from reception to open it though. Did not leave any stuff in there afterwards. Also I asked reception whether they could secure it for me - they just put in their room without securing at all. I asked to get it back immediately and rather carried it all day.

During my SEA trip, I have stayed in a lot nicer GHs for less money. I am sure, there are better options for Chiang Mai to sweeten your trip. This was not my first Choice originally - other options were booked out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamalas_CNX, Owner at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I am really sorry to hear this and apologize that cause you unpleasant stay. I will definitely taking in for my top issue to improve this and train my staff more about how to do their job properly. As we are located in the centre of town, It really difficult to control the noise but we also have some room in the back of the building which is quite. Internet now I am using fiber optic connection 30mb. I will look into my software. The rubber floor is slippery because my maid put too much duster polish spray and I will look into this. I have already started to change all floor to be a proper tiles on unoccupied rooms since the beginning of last week. I am totally understand about slippery floor. Hopefully I have a chance to provide a better service to you again in the future.
Regards,
Kamala Khemaphirak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend are staying in this guesthouse for 4 nights and it is truly worth the money. We have a twin bed shared bathroom with a/c and pay only EUR 5 per person per night. The rooms are super clean, the beds are more than nice, staff is friendly, great location (near the old city) and the café below is good to chill-out. All in all, a really cheap place to make you feel like home. Really recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, two in a double en suite room and one in a double room with shared bathroom. The en suite rooms are huge, the beds are rock hard and the bathrooms are dated but have good shower units with hot water. The furnishings are adequate but the bare Lino floor is a bit harsh. The room with shared bathroom is smaller with a floating ceiling which had seen better days, we also heard scratching and scuttling throughout the night. We just put up a mosquito net and tried to ignore it, the shared bathrooms are ok if a little grubby, I think they are used by staff/long term inhabitants. They are full of shampoo bottles, soap etc. all in all not terrible considering an en suite room was £15 per night and the non en suite £8.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 537 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamalas guesthouse is only 40 yards from the center of Chiang Mai. We have a pool table dart board and wifi all free. We can cater for all your needs while staying here. We are child friendly and supply free baby monitor if required. We pride ourselves on having extremely clean and secure rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamala's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.