We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff. Decent hotel in this price range.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamala's Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Kamala's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 487 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff. Decent hotel in this price range.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Jan/2013. At first we were a bit skeptical as the hotel is very big, has many rooms, and just lacked the feel on a smaller guest house. However, the staff were very very friendly and helpful. We left our big backpacks in their back room while we were away treking with no issues.

We stayed in a room with no private bathroom. However the shared bathrooms were very clean, no problems here. The room was also very clean. Hard to complain for 500 Bhat a night.

The only negative thing is there were no top sheets on the bed. Just a fitted sheet on the mattress, then a blanket. However, we have come to discover that their is quite common in Thailand, so this hotel is by no means the only one that does this.

I had some issues with the wifo on my Samsung phone, but my girlfriend on her Iphone connected no problem. For the money this is a decent hotel and I would reccomend it.

Room Tip: A good choice if you're looking for a cheap place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
25
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Kamala's guesthouse is a very original place to stay because it's half way between an hotel and a gueshouse.

The room are hotel-like : Nice beds with towel provided, tv, fridge, AC, very comfy and enjoyable (very clean as well).
The commom area have everything you can ask for in a guesthouse, to keep you entertained : a pool table, a TV, lots of tables (also you can order food but i can't say much about the cooking since I haven't tried anything else than the good fruit muesli), free-wifi, books, couches,...

For me, the very best point which changes everything else and make this place the best is the staff ! They are all very helpful, smiling and seems happy (not the commercial smile but the real one).
Nok helped me when i was sick, told me what i should get to feel better and was very very nice !
Thanks again Nok !

And the street of kamala's guesthouse is very very close to the center (just across the road) so it is very convient for a walk in the city, shopping, partying or whatever.

I really enjoyed my stay and i recommand it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Kamalas guesthouse is a lovely place to stay, big tidy modern rooms that make you feel relaxed and homely with bedside lamps, a tv with English channels, a nice big bed, air con and a fan, free wi-fi in your room, a fridge with drinks and crisps and a nice bathroom with hot shower. The staff are lovely here very friendly and willing to help and chat to you, I have stayed here twice now and defiantly would again :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very good for the family stay. As I keep on highlight, if you look for budget and clean room, go for it. I stay with 2 adults and 2 children. They arrange me extra bed without extra charge. Moreover, the counter ladies, Ms Burn, wonderful and smart ladies. Always care and re-act for all your request fast and precise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We loved our stay at Kamalas, great, friendly staff who were helpful with directions and arranging taxi's. We ate breakfast every morning on the porch, watching the vendores across the street in front of the old chedi, and loved watching Chiang Mai life go by. room clean, comfortable, hot showers, good breakfast, free wifi. Just outside of old city, easy access to all sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Me and my sister stayed with Kamala from the 16th-19th January 2013. Out of so many hotels/motels/guest houses we decided to try our luck and go with Kamala based on the good reviews.It was a good decision. Not only were we pleasantly surprised by the spacious room, the beds were better than we expected, with good firm mattresses and pillows instead of really soft overused ones we had experienced in other places. Nok and Peng's warm hospitality made our stay memorable. Peng even helped us booked a tour with a local agency when we decided last minute to join this tour that we found. With cheap good street eats less than 20 minutes away, Tesco Lotus and 7-11 just outside the main street, it is a great location! Being away from the main street makes sleeping at night so much better without the noises. With Warorot and Thapae Gate about 20 minutes away, I would recommend Kamala to anyone who is thinking of staying short term or long stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fancy this--authentic breakfast sausages and lean bacon in Chiang Mai?!! Our family was on our way to the airport, and hungry for a proper breakfast, and found it at the Kamala Guesthouse!

For Bt150 the Kamala Guesthouse Cafe serves an English Breakfast with:

2 Eggs your way
2 Proper English Sausages with a snappy casing
2 slabs of thick sliced lean bacon (think Canadian Bacon)
2 slices Grilled Tomato
2 Slices of Golden Toast
A lashing of Baked Beans
A Stout Cup of Fresh Ground Coffee

Later, I found out from Ian, the proprietor, that the sausages were hand crafted by retired butchers from the UK who moved to Chiang Mai, and were bored to death, so they started making sausages and bacon again--thank the good Lord for them!

The rooms looked great too, and we would consider staying here if they ever offer a family room for 4 option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 487 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamalas guesthouse is only 40 yards from the center of Chiang Mai. We have a pool table dart board and wifi all free. We can cater for all your needs while staying here. We are child friendly and supply free baby monitor if required. We pride ourselves on having extremely clean and secure rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamala's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.