We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kamala Made It That Much Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamala's Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Kamala's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 485 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Kamala Made It That Much Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Me and my sister stayed with Kamala from the 16th-19th January 2013. Out of so many hotels/motels/guest houses we decided to try our luck and go with Kamala based on the good reviews.It was a good decision. Not only were we pleasantly surprised by the spacious room, the beds were better than we expected, with good firm mattresses and pillows instead of really soft overused ones we had experienced in other places. Nok and Peng's warm hospitality made our stay memorable. Peng even helped us booked a tour with a local agency when we decided last minute to join this tour that we found. With cheap good street eats less than 20 minutes away, Tesco Lotus and 7-11 just outside the main street, it is a great location! Being away from the main street makes sleeping at night so much better without the noises. With Warorot and Thapae Gate about 20 minutes away, I would recommend Kamala to anyone who is thinking of staying short term or long stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
25
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fancy this--authentic breakfast sausages and lean bacon in Chiang Mai?!! Our family was on our way to the airport, and hungry for a proper breakfast, and found it at the Kamala Guesthouse!

For Bt150 the Kamala Guesthouse Cafe serves an English Breakfast with:

2 Eggs your way
2 Proper English Sausages with a snappy casing
2 slabs of thick sliced lean bacon (think Canadian Bacon)
2 slices Grilled Tomato
2 Slices of Golden Toast
A lashing of Baked Beans
A Stout Cup of Fresh Ground Coffee

Later, I found out from Ian, the proprietor, that the sausages were hand crafted by retired butchers from the UK who moved to Chiang Mai, and were bored to death, so they started making sausages and bacon again--thank the good Lord for them!

The rooms looked great too, and we would consider staying here if they ever offer a family room for 4 option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Try it - you won't be disappointed. Great value for money, in a good location, with friendly staff / owners. We've stayed here twice already and will be back again in 5 days time. They looked after our large rucksacks while we went off for 4 days to Lampang / Sukhothai and they will be looking after them again when we do the Mae Hong Son Loop tomorrow. Security has never been an issue - they've even let us put the rented motorbike inside the guesthouse overnight.

The rooms are clean and tidy and there's everything you need, plus it's a great price so we've no complaints. They do a mean 'full English breakfast' which we've devoured on 3 different occasions - you start to crave food after being away from home for nearly 3 months!

Enough said - just try it, it's great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very big clean room, only 5-10 minutes walk to Tapae Gate. Very warm welcome and smile from the reception. If I go to Chiang Mai again I will not look for hotels, many nice and clean guesthouses in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms face the pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tube_pendous
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had reserved a room with a double bed and small deck on-line and received an email confirming our request. Unfortunately, our request was not properly recorded in the books (I'm not actually sure we were in the book at all) and we ended-up in a room with two twin beds and no deck. Not the biggest deal, but disappointing as this trip was our belated honeymoon/one year anniversary trip. Moreover, usually when a business makes a mistake such as this they offer free drinks or dinner--no such offer was made. The rooms are basic, but very clean and spacious. They have 2 wifi networks, one of which was usually working but we often had to bounce between them while searching the internet. We both thought the beds were hard and not the most comfortable (this could be said of most places in Thailand though). Aside from our initial check-in, the staff was incredibly helpful and always friendly. We booked all of our trips through the front desk (elephant camp, cooking class and Doi Suthep) and had wonderful experiences. The location is perfect, just outside the city wall within easy walking distance to everything; especially the Sunday Night Market. We ate at the Guesthouse and had one of our favorite dishes while we were in Thailand, it was an "egg salad" (fried egg over noodles). This is a nice newer guesthouse that is very spacious, clean, friendly, and has a great common room. It could be a great guesthouse with just a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had a great stay at Kamalas Guesthouse.I travelled on my own and I was very welcome at Kamalas guesthouse. It's owned by a british/thai couple and they know what hospitality is. I would def. go back here. They just opened the guesthouse in the summer of 2012, so everything is brand new, fresh and shiny.

The guesthouse is at the old city in a quiet street, close to the food market, main street, thai pae gate, nightmarket. Everything is just within a 10 minute walk.

The staff and the owners are super friendly and made my 6 day stay very pleasant.
Free wifi is available plus a computer in the hall for unlimited free use. Each room has a mini refrigerator, fresh towels every day. The shower is great, the best I had in Thailand, and the sheets are hotel-like quality. Good and quiet airconditioning + fan at your room.

To summerize the above, kamalas guesthouse is a very good deal for the price you are paying. Definitely worth a visit when you are going to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I arrived here by accident, searching for a hotel. The staff was super friendly and the room was perfect, very good airco, good beds and very clean. The staff helped me with booking my meditation course and booked everything I wanted to do very good, the girls are really friendly and had a nice drink with them. Then there is Jojo, the chef. She is super nice and friendly and makes najmmie good food. Thanks for a lovely stay, if I'm ever in Chiang Mai again, I will surely come back here.

Greets, Sarah from Belgium

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 485 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamalas guesthouse is only 40 yards from the center of Chiang Mai. We have a pool table dart board and wifi all free. We can cater for all your needs while staying here. We are child friendly and supply free baby monitor if required. We pride ourselves on having extremely clean and secure rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamala's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.