We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb food, environment and people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paak Dang

Paak Dang
46/1, Wangsinghcome Road | Reservations Recommended, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
+66 94 629 1319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,361 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 252 Reviews
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Delicatessen, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Romantic Lanna Restaurant at the Ping River open everyday from 10.00 A.M to 12.00 Pm with nice live music frm 7-9 p.M. Very good kitchen, open kitchen, with specialized thai, thai northern, and isaan cooking - just an easy Thai Restaurant peaceful, quite along the river with nice garden and small waterfall, with a nice staff that will take care you so much. You can choose also the spicy level of your dishes depending your wishes. Can also get the restaurant for your own party if at least 25 persons, so you can private the restaurant, and choose also your own music: live band, thai singer, CD,... Reservations recommended, so you can get the best tables in front of the river. Unforgettable atmosphere.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“superb food, environment and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Living since years in Chiang Mai we were always complaining how difficult it is to find a good restaurant which serves good Thai food in a nice atmosphere when entertaining customer. Finally after we moved our home from the other part of the city we started to experience the new area. Accidentally we passed Paak Dang and stepped in. The Paulaner beer advertisement in the entrance also gave us some confidence that the owner seems to be world-open. We were more than surprised to get that good food,drinks, service, sitting and nice owners close to our house. Since our first visit we were there quiet often and we were very happy every time. Please keep up your superb standard!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards S, Guest Relations Manager at Paak Dang, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We promise to go on with our quality and hope to see you soon again. best regards Paak Dang team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    42
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A taste of Heaven with Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Me and my husband are fans of Chiang Mai, we love the culture, the good food, the serenity and smiling faces in there. And you know what, all these elements can be found in Paak Dang...
I actually had a doubt before dining there as majority of the previous reviews were made by westerners. While we travel to Thailand 3 to 4 times yearly.
We went there on our last two dinner, ordered 5 dishes each night to sample and they were all authentic, nicely presented and delicoius indeed. We went there before sunset for the first night and I found the ambience so romantic yet service was friendly, servers are young, very polite and gentle. While the owner, Khun Jar and Mr. Ricky gave us a warm feeling as they kept on checking guests comments and they always smile to everyone including to their staff.
We were able to sample all the authentic dishes from Som Tom, to river shrimps in fish sauce, from deep fried fish in Northern Style to Nam Prik Aung, also our special request of Crab in Curry and the surprise dessert, Mango Sticky rice...We reallly enjoyed our dinner very much for both visits.
The restaurant is located on the quiet side of the Ping River, I highly recommend you to come have a cocktail before your dinner before sunset. It's absolutely worth spending the whole night here. I love also the live music from the soft local Thai Pop to goldern oldies...
Khun Jar told that during Loy Krotong last year was fully loaded and some tables made their reservation 2 months earlier, I could imagine the atmosphere as Paak Dang is just next to the river that you could simply set you Krotong away, a few steps away...
Thank you very much for such a wonderful memories of our dinner with you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards S, Guest Relations Manager at Paak Dang, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Shows us we are on the right way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Feels like the real Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The guidebooks describe Chiang Mai as "laid back" and "relaxing". We were here five days and liked this restaurant so much we came back twice. With the riverside location and tropical greenery all around shielding you from the noise and bustle of Chiang Mai city, this is what I envisioned as the "laid back" aspect of Thailand. Owners Ricky and Jar (she's the chef, and an EXCELLENT one - the curries were subtle, the smoothies were wonderful) are friendly and accommodating - he even gave me a motorbike ride to the ATM when I discovered I was short on cash! - and this place is going on our "must return to" list for whenever we return to Chiang Mai. A tuk-tuk ride from the city is only about 80-100 baht, but to avoid confusion, just tell the driver you're going to Ten Karaoke.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards S, Guest Relations Manager at Paak Dang, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi, and thank you very much for your nice comment !
We have been happy to have you as customer and hope to see you again next time in Chiang Mai.
All the best. Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Delicious & Friendly with a Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was an excellent riverside restaurant in Chiang Mai with a traditional Thai menu and specialty dishes from eastern and northern Thailand. The food was delicious!! Great view of the river, beautiful outdoor lighting, well designed property with warm colors and Thai decor - it was truly a memorable place to eat. The staff were very friendly and attentive, dressed in northern Thai, Lanna style. We enjoyed meeting the German owner and his attractive Thai partner and chef. There was a mix of Thai and western customers which added to the ambience. Seating was available inside close to the bar and entrance courtyard (where we watched them preparing our meal), outside on the patio, or even down on the lawn right next to the river. We chose to eat in a raised section of the patio with low tables and comfortable floor cushions. This is a special restaurant we won't forget.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a really nice evening at Paak Dang--the setting is lovely. The evening we were there, a musician sang and played the guitar which added to the nice ambiance.

We liked the unique dish of red curry with shrimp and pumpkin and the crispy egg rolls.

We walked to this restaurant in the dark which I do not recommend! Take a tuk-tuk! The restaurant staff called a tuk-tuk for us after we finished our meal and it arrived in about 10 minutes.

We enjoyed our dinner and will return when we next visit Chiang Mai!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paak Dang also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Paak Dang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paak Dang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.