We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 60 Blue House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
60 Blue House
Save
You added 60 Blue House to your Saves list
32-34 Ratchaphakinai Rd. | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
5.0 of 5 stars 54 Reviews
1 review
“Amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This place was soo sweet. I stumbled upon it walking around looking for something cozy and boy did I find it! The owner Tao is soo kind and helpful, she even left me a small gift on my last day! Rooms and dorms are clean and painted nice, great shower, clean toilet, free bananas and tea, free wifi, super close to Chiang Mai gate and food stands and just overall really wonderful! Made a lot of nice friends here... Very easy ;)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chofu, Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

First of all, Dorm room is for only 200B which is very cheap.

The room is huge enough and each beds are separeted (not bunk beds). Desk and chair (or shelf), small bedside basket, cup, outlet and light, large security locker with padlock for each. Towel hangers and toiletries shelf are severalty prepared besides bathroom. Beds are made up once in 3 days. Everything is super clean.
Tables with sofa and chairs in pretty Garden (outlet built in!) Free bananas, oranges, cofee and tea.

I've been luckily meet Tao when I checked in. She warmheartedly welcomed me with homemade sweets. She gave me tons of information about Chiang Mai (Good restaurant, Massage, Temples, Shops etc...). She had been traveling a lot (She even had been my small hometown in Japan. Which makes me so happy. :D). She loves talking to people. She speaks very good English.

You would get much much more than you pay. This is one of the best guest house ever!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent 5 nights here and felt safe and comfortable as a single woman traveling alone. Tao is a bright, cheerful, happy, kind and accommodating owner. Jae, her helper, does a great job keeping things spotlessly clean and makes a great soy latte too. Will absolutely return if ever I return to Chiang Mail again. What a great place!

Room Tip: I was in room 2 which can get some noise from the street, but as long as you bring ear plugs you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was looking for a single room when I found the blue house and meet Tao, the owner. She showed me the dorms and I liked it so much that I decided to go for it instead. It felt more like sleeping over at friends house than a dorm, which is a great achievement. The place really felt like a home and Tao was incredible sweet and caring. When I came back to Chiang Mai I stayed there again and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

60 Bluehouse is very clean, very safe and in a great location in the Old City. The owner, Tao, is generous with her time, her energy and treats (loves to bake)! She is warm and always available to help you sort yourself out; where to go, how to get there etc. Filtered drinking water, tea and fruit are included in price and make you feel at home. There is also a refrigerator to keep some food and bikes for rent. Wonderful for long or short stays. There is also a coffee shop on the premises and Jay makes the best Cappuccino in Chiang Mai! Male friends are welcome in the coffee shop and there is is a lovely outdoor space to sit and enjoy your coffee/tea as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This woman only hostel is a great value in Chang Mai. We had the double room, it is perfect. Spacious and very clean. Free coffee, water and fruit available. Very helpful and friendly owner. Very good location. The colors are bright and it puts you In a great mood to walk of to the city. Great great place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I should start by saying that I travel often and widely and never leave reviews (there just sin't enough time in the day!). But the Blue House is so special I've made an exception because everyone should know this little gem exists and get to enjoy it.

The house itself is attached to a little coffeeshop on the great road and easily walkable to all the sights. There's also an amazing fruit shake shack opposite. The decor is simply beautiful: dark wooden floors, calming colours, wooden desks by the windows, a really nice bathroom and lots of little touches like a place to hang your laundry and a little 'nook' for your toiletries. You also get free herbal teas, coffee, bananas and there's a fridge which is nice if you like to have a late night ice-cream like me!

I stayed in a dorm with a comfy single bed, the linen is soft and impeccably clean (as is the rest of the guesthouse) and the towels provided are big and fluffy. There are only four beds in each room (not bunks) and each has a little desk with it.

I was here finishing up some writing work and so spent a lot of time at the little desks, writing, drinking tea, chatting to the other guests. There was a really homely feeling and Tao the owner is incredibly kind and gracious while letting the guests be independent. She also kindly let me check out in the afternoon when I was catching a night train at no extra cost (frequent travellers will know how rare this is!).

Basically, if you are in Chiang Mai STAY HERE! Chiang Mai is a great town but staying at the Blue House enhanced my visit hugely. I've stayed in everything from boats to bamboo huts to Hiltons and this is by far one of my favourites ever!

Room Tip: Though I usually prefer a private rooms the beds are so far apart, and the rooms all nicely curtaine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 60 Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 60 Blue House

Address: 32-34 Ratchaphakinai Rd. | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
60 BLUE HOUSE is a ladies only guesthouse located in the heart of the old town in Chiang Mai. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 60 Blue House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.