We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit hesitant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segway Gibbon

Segway Gibbon
29/4-5 Kachasarn Rd, Chiang Mai, Thailand
0846144004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 333 Activities in Chiang Mai
Type: Segway Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A bit hesitant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

It looks a little daunting when you watch the people go past.After plenty of training (they won't stop until you are completely satisfied) you are on your way.First its over to the Taipai Gate where you spent about 30 minutes practising.After this time you are ready to hit the road (not literally).Most of the time is spent in the many laneways(soi) around the city and not on the roads.The guides are great and they lead you around the streets of the old city visiting numerous temples and historical sites.Stop for a bite to eat and a drink(all included) at the nice cafe.Then its onwards to see more things.If you are hesitant my advise is don't worry your going to have a ball.I will do it again!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    32
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great way to spent 3 hours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Today we did the 3 hour Segway Tour through Chiang Mai and it was amazing. I did not care soo much about the Temples and things to see but had wanted to ride a Segway for a long time. We got an 10 minute introduction and off we went. First through some quiet streets and than onto a place in front of the Gate where we could practice. It was great and we were able to learn very fast to ride the Segway, to break, etc. We than went for a three hour tour and I enjoyed it very much. The Staff was great, we used mostly really small side streets and in the end I did not want to get off the Segway. If you have time to the tour - and book the 3 hours - it will be over too soon anyway!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must do! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was the most amazing way to sightsee! We were warmly welcomed and given excellent instructions by the guides. After about 10 mins we were on our way!!

Excellent routes used and places visited. We were the only people in the group so we could go into places and look at our own speed but we actually wanted to get back in the Segway as quickly as we could as they were such good fun!

Excellent opportunities to take photos and a rest stop at a case was really appreciated (drink and cake all part of the package!). The brownie was the best that I had ever had!!

This is a day that we will never forget! I want to do it all again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Saw this on the internet so I gave it a try. Got the hotel to book it for me and their office is located in the city centre close to the canal. Easy to get to if you are living in the city.

Segway provides a quick 15min training on how to handle the Segway. They will give you a brief hands on go before heading out. Once we are at the square, they gave us 15mins to roam around and it gave us a better opportunity to get to control the Segway.

We stopped by a few temples and one museum. The guide gave a brief explanation on the history and all. Don't expect a detailed history lesson! There are two staff who accompanied us. One will lead the way and other will stop the traffic at the back of the queue.

A 2 hour package including a coffee break in a local cafe will set you back Thb1,799 and I think it is well worth it if you have not been on a Segway before.

Staff spoke pretty good English so won't have a problem communicating. Highly recommended if you are in Chiangmai!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We joined a 2 hour tour (there was 5 of us on the tour in total) at 4pm. I was nervous to start with, having never been on a Segway before, but I need not have worried - Felt totally safe the whole time. Cost 2000 baht each.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway Gibbon also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Segway Gibbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segway Gibbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.