We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A culinary experience not to be missed in Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dash! Restaurant and Bar

Dash! Restaurant and Bar
38/2 Moon Maung Road | Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
660853477445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,289 restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Thai, International, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A culinary experience not to be missed in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Dash! Restaurant has an excellent laid back welcoming atmosphere. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Traveling with dietary restrictions (peanut and nut allergy) can be difficult. However, as soon as we entered the restaurant the server immediately asked whether we had any special dietary needs and made me feel extremely safe eating there, a feeling I have yet to experience since arriving in Thailand. She pointed out options that could be made peanut free, including amazing curries, ones I thought I would never get to try based on their usual preparation with nuts. The owners Dash and his mother were extremely accomodating and both came to our table throughout the evening to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of. You can tell they truly care about their guests and want them to feel welcomed and at home. Alongside the excellent service was the absolutely incredible food.. We shared spring rolls, a spicy pork larb salad, a chicken pad Thai, a red curry dish with beef and a cheesecake between the two of us, all of which were delicious (As full as we were we could not stop ourselves from nearly licking the plates clean!) We enjoyed our experience so much that we will be returning for lunch tomorrow as it is our last day in Chiang Mai. To say we recommend this restaurant would be an understatement, it truly deserves its high praises and incredible rating.

Chelsea & Stephanie
Canada

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    565
    189
    68
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here a few nights ago, and had the salad roll, curry fried tilapia and eggplant. The food was very good and tasty. It didn't blow us away (too many food options here) thus the 4 stars overall, but it's a good place that deserves all the 450+ reviews. The owner is nice and kind.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

After a 10 day stay in Chiangmai, Dash! Restaurant became like a second home. The food there is fantastic. Dash! provides fresh, locally sourced ingredients that are cooked to perfection. Each dish provides such a burst of distinctive flavour and pleasure that lips seem unable to resist coming together to provide a "mmmmmm" of satisfaction - you can hear that sound around the restaurant. Owner Noi, and her son Dash could also teach a lot of Western restaurants about good service and the bill at the end is most reasonable given the size and diversity of the feast.

The building is new and elegant based on traditional Thai teak houses, with open walls that allow guests to spill into the gently lit gardens.

My friends and I also did a cooking course with Dash!. It started at 8.00am with a walk around the markets with son, Dash. He was such good company, teaching us about local food traditions and imploring us to taste all the local delicacies. In the kitchen, Noi shared the family recipes the food is the restaurant is based upon. We stopped half way for a massage and Noi continued the Thai hospitality taking us to her beautiful country home for "a look" before we returned to the restaurant to finish off the evening meal in the gardens. Our cooking class finished at 9.00pm!!

Few restaurants leave me with such happy memories. Thank you Noi, Dash and your fabulous team.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A back street gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food ,friendly service and nice out of the way location. We where looking for a Resturant on trip adviser and Dash came up about six down. When I looked at the Resturant above Dash , they were Italian , pizza places and burger bars. Come on trip adviser subscribers , do you really go to Thailand , with some of the best flavours in the world and go to a pizza Resturant????

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a joke, should be called Crash!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Overpriced food, same stuff you can find on the street and unbelievably rude staff. I had to walk into the restaurant from the patio (the place was empty, I can see why…) and stood next to 3 staff, all mesmerized by their iPhones for a full minute before someone noticed me. I was just curious to see how long it would take as we’d been waiting outside for any sort of service for a good twenty minutes. Beautiful building, average food, crap service and stupid prices for Chiang Mai. Avoid …

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dash! Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Dash! Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dash! Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.