We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dash! Restaurant and Bar

Dash! Restaurant and Bar
38/2 Moon Maung Road | Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
660853477445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,290 restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Thai, International, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Devon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited this restaurant as it had so many good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were really surprised to find that the food was average if not bland and the service was not great (though to be fair they were busy, but we were still made to feel invisible). However, the portion size was pretty generous. Would definitely not come back, just felt disappointed & it was such a shame as I was looking forward to a tasty meal!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    564
    189
    68
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great little teak house in the back streets of the old city. Lovely food, reasonably priced and live music. You do need to book though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A little difficult to find but well worth it when you do! Well run by a mother and son who were fun to talk to and also had some suggestions for things to try. Both of our meals were great, I enjoy the spicy and they were happy to accomodate me, but things weren't overly hot, just right, and the taste was spectacular. Carrot cake for dessert was great!! Overall a fun and tastey experience, when in Chiang Mai in the future we will do it again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been eating our way thru Thailand. Dash was the best restaurant we have found to date. The staff is the best we found. Its run by a mother and son team. The mother is the cook, she greated us when we arrived and recommented dishes.

When the waiter who is the son of the cook and owner, saw me turning red, sweating and mucus running down my nose. He knew what to do; and brought me a glass of milk with coconut milk in it. It worked immediatly, be prepared if you order Thai spicy.

Very nice clean setting, a little hard to find but worth the effort.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food ok, service `Thai style´”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We liked the food ( after some of our orders finally arrived). Service is pretty much Thai- luem- forget- mod leo- out- mai mee-no have.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dash! Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Dash! Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dash! Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.