We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sixty House

Sixty House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sixty House to your Saves list
Sixty House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   15/3 Tha Pae Soi 4 Rd, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 503 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“Friendly staff and comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and blight room. Comfortable bed. Ample hot shower. Strong Wi-Fi connection. Louver windows (For women, it’s very good. You can sleep with the windows open). Good location and quiet. My room was relatively small, but 60 House has everything definitey I need! Actually, I came back to this hotel. Worth for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a great location. It is close to the centre but without the noise. You have free wifi in your room and a laundry service next door. The down side for me was the staff... They were not friendly and did not make us feel welcome. My boyfriend and I don't spend much time in our hostel because we like to explore but for the short time we were there it felt very uncomfortable. I wouldn't stay here again (Finlay's cottage is just a few meters away on your left and is much more friendly)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very unpleasant atmosphere due to owner/manager attitude. She is not friendly,at all and at times openly hostile. She made my fiancee feel so bad, we knew we had to move. Rooms there are smallish and it is very loud during the night thanks to drunk backpackers who love to rent their 3+ room, so there is no peace and no normal frindly connection you experience in other places in Chiang Mai - don't waste an opportunity to make new friends and enjoy the city - avoid this place and give others a try.

Room Tip: ask if you can stay on a lower floor - may be you can sleep better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The owner/manager of this place is very hard to deal with - she is smiling one minute and reprimanding you the next, or treating you with classic passive-aggressive vibes, or ignoring you... She makes a point to be nice at first, but that doesn't last long... It does not depend on your behavior- she is just always switching moods, and since she is there all the time you have no way to avoid it... It is very unpleasant and kind of crazy-making...
We have stayed at the place for several weeks, and we could never make sense of that... Finally, it became so unpleasant we just had to move - too bad for other people who are working there - they are all very nice, but her negativity overrun all of them...
I'd definitely give this place a pass -why stress when there are so many nice places in this city

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phitsanulok, Thailand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a very good, quiet "no frills" guesthouse for the budget traveler. Rooms are very clean, and well maintained but on the small side. They have bed, table fan (quiet), luggage table, chair. private en-suite bathroom has western toilet and good water pressure and hot water. They provide a towel and blanket, bring your own soap.

This is typical of many guesthouse in this area. The really great thing is the location. It is on a small soi just off Tha Pae Rd right in the center of the traveler area. It is a 5 minute walk to the Tha Pae gate, and 10 minutes to the night bazaar. There are many restaurants and shopping just steps from the guesthouse.Their is an attached internet shop and right next door is to a motorcycle rental shop.

They show rates of 280 baht to 500+ baht, I assume the higher amounts are for air conditioned. For a fan room this place is great value, if you are a couple + and willing to pay the extra cost for air conditioning, check around you might be able to find something with more charm in the 500+ range.

Check out their website. Best to pre book on phone or internet (no pre payment needed) as the low priced places fill up fast in the high season. It's not really easy to come and walk around and check out places, because they are spread out on a labyrinth of small lanes.

A final tip for dessert or a snack.. Every night right on the corner of the soi there is a Muslim roti cart, selling the best rotis in Chiamgmai. (try egg and abnana) I've been buying them for over 7 years.

Enjoy Chiangmai.

Room Tip: I had room number 1 on the condense floor. It had two windows. Pretty quiet. Ask for the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sixty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixty House

Address: 15/3 Tha Pae Soi 4 Rd, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sixty House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sixty House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sixty House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.