We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, thoughtful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 137 Pillars House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added 137 Pillars House to your Saves list
137 Pillars House
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 630 Reviews
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, thoughtful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. We can't say enough good things.....from when we arrived, up until we had to leave nothing was too much trouble. Lovely people, lovely resort. Its also really close to town so a nice walk in the evenings!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about your recent stay at 137 Pillars House. I shall happily publish a copy on our staff board to serve as additional motivation on our strive towards excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    85
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
121
352
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great place to stay, Quiet, exclusive, relaxing. Won't hesitate to recommend to anybody who would like a relaxing holiday. The dinning room is excellent although the food is about average, considering the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Luciana,

Thank you for your recent stay at 137 Pillars House and your valuable comments. I will happily look into your remark about the food being "average" and certainly aim towards improving this so that our guests may have a completely satisfactory experience.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again to sample some more of our new menu which will be revised shortly.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

137 Pillars House
One of the best Small Luxury Hotel
Date: Mar 2014
Price: $480
Room: East Borneo Suite

We heard of 137 Pillars House from our friend. We have wanted to stay with all the good things we heard about the place. This time we had a chance to visit Chiangmai and 137 Pillars House was one of our destinations.

--Good-- First of all, the place is beautiful. One of the building was renovation of an antique Thai house. It is not often you can find a beautiful old Thai house in such a fine condition. The service is very good. Staff feels like they are well trained. The room is also beautiful, somewhat cozy with Thai-ish modern style.

--Bad-- Just like any other place the photos make the place look big. The room included. The first day of our arrival there were some tour of about 20 people came for sightseeing. It was a bit noisy. Another day there was a wedding, which basically took over almost the entire space because the hotel was not that big. I feel that they don't have staying Guests as their top priority. There is a pub not far away from the hotel, so it is a bit noisy until late at night(2-3am). There should be no problem for those who don't have trouble sleeping, but for those who needs silence may find it an issue. This is not the hotel fault and I am sure they have tried everything in their power to keep their place quiet.

--Conclusion-- To be honest, I found it a bit difficult to write the review. The hotel itself is very good, one of the best hotel I have been to, but I feel that there is still room for improvement. They could make their Good service to Excellent. It could be due to high expectation I had before arrival.

Room Tip: East Borneo Suite is a good choice in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to publish your valuable comments regarding your recent stay at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai.

Please allow me to briefly reply as follows:

With the hotel becoming more and more popular, we receive a large number of requests for site inspections, mostly by Universities (Faculty of Architecture) and schools. We are trying to keep inspection at an acceptable level and schedule them during low occupancy periods. I do fully understand that it may disturb our guests privacy and do apologize that this happened during your visit.

Also, the hotel beautiful hotel grounds serve as a perfect location for weddings, which you experienced as well. It is unfortunate that you had to go through both experiences, but pleased rest assured that all of our guests are of equal importance, the once staying in any of our Suites as well as the ones coming to use our services. Please allow me to invite you back to 137 Pillars House at a time when there won't be any functions on the hotel grounds (during 340 out of 365 days in the year) and again, please accept my apologies for not having been able to provide the absolute privacy you were so rightfully expecting.

I look forward to hearing from you again,

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

breakfast, service, grounds, staff, and I will say again, BREAKFAST all perfection. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very high end.
Giant claw foot tub and outdoor shower as well as an indoor glass shower opening to the outdoors. Was our favorite hotel quite possibly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for this "perfect" review and for having been our guests at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai recently. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I just stayed at 137 Pillars House in Chang Mai and thoroughly loved it. We are frequent travelers and stay in a bunch of nice places, but this one was our favorite on our recent trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
And what a treat you allowed us by having you as one of our esteemed guests! Thank you for your recent stay at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, and please do visit us again soon!

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Been to a few top boutique hotels in thailand such a Zevola on PhiPhi and what I can tell you is 137Pillars is a Magical place, a cool luxury haven in the heart of Chaing Mai ! Although expensive it's worth at least a couple of nights as you will kick yourself for not booking the 2nd night! I would also suggest you keep this part of your thai experience for last!

You will not be disappointed !!,,

Room Tip: The ones with the private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Samuel,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for your wonderful comments and review! All Associates and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Overall environment is nice, especially the balcony and restaurants. Staffs' service are excellent and they can speak good english. Except some mainland china guests are a bit noisy, everything is good

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 137 Pillars House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Library Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, Dining Room, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel’s garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your 137 Pillars House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 137 Pillars House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.