We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 137 Pillars House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added 137 Pillars House to your Saves list
137 Pillars House
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Suite Promotion
Ranked #2 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Staying at the 137 Pillars made our Chiang Mai holiday perfect. We felt like we had the whole hotel to ourselves and loved the personal customer service. We loved the history and the quality of the original building and spent a lot of time just relaxing in there - reading the many books on Thailand, drinking refreshing cocktails, and admiring the architecture and quality of the resteration. The rooms are great and again the quality of everything means it is a hassle free and enjoyable experience. I wish I was still there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGMinAsia, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
And all of us, James, wish you both were still our guest.. but we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Sincerely yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    82
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
121
349
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend with the family and could not be more satisfied with the property. The rooms were stunning and comfortably housed two adults and two young children. The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. The breakfast each morning was fresh and vast, with the chef popping by to share his latest personal creation he had made that morning. The property itself is beautifully designed and in keeping with the original architecture of the main house. The main house has been painstakingly restored and is a piece of chiang Mai history in itself. Highly recommend this property and hope to revisit in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGMinAsia, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The entire team of 137 Pillars House and I thank you for your kind comments on our services and facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back again upon your next visit to Chiang Mai.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is a real find. If you like quiet small places that are well run with attentive staff then this place is for you. It features a superb swimming pool with a nice long wall giving shade. The restaurant serves a fantastic breakfast and we will definitely be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Possibly the nicest hotel my wife and I have ever stayed at and by far the nicest and friendliest staff we have ever met. We would highly recommend 137 Pillars House to anyone traveling to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGMinAsia, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and gracious words about our services and especially about the quality of my associates here at 137 Pillars House.
I will happily share your comments on our staff board to serve as continuous motivation.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Pluses:
This place sold us on boutique hotels. After the Bangkok Shangri la -- which we loved -- the personalized attention and warm welcoming staff made us feel this was a home away from home.
Rooms were lavish, new, extremely comfortable bed, outdoor rain shower as well as indoor shower and deep claw foot tub
Breakfast buffet included many made to order dishes and thai or fusion specialties
Wondrous old restored library and building with history, first occupied by the son of Anna, of Anna and the King fame in 1800s
Excellent fitness center with modern equipment
Very long pool overlooked by a forty foot high wall of ivy...incredible to behold while you are swimming on your back!
Excellent spa

minuses:

About a fifteen minute walk to town, ten minute tuk tuk or taxi ride to night market

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGMinAsia, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review of our hotel, the facilities, and most importantly the services provided by all Associates of the hotel. Your kind words are highly appreciated and will be shared with all staff.

While the location of the hotel was unfavorable for you and your family, other guests choose the hotel because of it's quiet location in the heart of town but still far enough from the hustle and bustle. Your comments are nevertheless well noted and appreciated.

Kind regards and Re4spectfully yours,

Manfred ILG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powfoot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our first visit to Chiang Mai but it won't be our last. The hotel is an oasis in the city, the grounds and gardens are beautiful and the gardeners work non stop to keep them looking perfect. The suite was lovely with a really comfortable bed and pillows like clouds! The old house itself has been restored and is simply stunning, the decor is gorgeous and it is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. The pool is amazing with its high wall of greenery making it easy to forget there is a city outside and don't miss the sunbeds with memory foam mattresses! What makes this hotel truly special though is its staff. Every member of staff is friendly and helpful, it is impossible to pass reception without one of them coming out to help with plans for the day, providing maps with the hotel name written in Thai, which is essential as none of the taxi drivers we used seemed to know the hotel! The breakfast staff was also great, especially one particular chef who would prepare special dishes not on the menu so that we could try new flavours! Before this we had stayed mainly in larger hotels with good but impersonal service, but this hotel is in a different league. The complimentary minibar is a lovely touch and the little cakes left at turn down along with a bedtime story were another little difference we enjoyed. We will definitely be back here as 4 nights was not enough!

..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGMinAsia, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
On behalf of all Associates of 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai it is my sincere pleasure to thank you for your kind words about your recent experiences while having been our guests at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Can't speak highly enough of this beautiful place. The suites are luxurious with every comfort. The breakfasts and the happy hours are very generous. The pool is heavenly for lounging in or for exercise laps. The location is just far enough from the hustle and bustle but still within walking distance of the old city. The staff are very warm, friendly and helpful. Beautiful old world decor makes you feel like you are staying somewhere like Raffles in Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 137 Pillars House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Library Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, Dining Room, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel’s garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your 137 Pillars House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 137 Pillars House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.