We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of de Rachamanka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added de Rachamanka to your Saves list
de Rachamanka
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   82-86 Rachamanka rd. | Prasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Ever!!!
Ranked #95 of 503 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 111 Reviews
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely hotel in Chiang Mai. Good location, new and clean! We booked through them a trip around Chiang Mai that proved to be the highlight of our vacation. Overall a great place to stay. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
53
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

When renovation works are complete, I have bo doubt that this place will again merit the rave reviews but at present there are a few issues.

My room...at 1400 baht was nice on first impressions but on closer inspection, flaws appeared. It had clearly been very recently revamped to the extent that there were bits of chipping, dust and plasterwork on the bathroom floor and I trod on a sharp bit of plastic on the concrete bedroom floor. There was lavatory paper in the loo bowl on arrival.

At this price shampoo in the bathroom would have been nice, however cheap.


The garden was a work in progress and noisy construction work was underway during the afternoon.

On the upside, the staff are delightful and eager to help. Breakfast was good.

In a month or two, all will be well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Some time ago, we spent a few days at Rachamanka Hotel in Chiang Mai. The first thing that I liked was the politeness we were received by the Reception staff. A young woman, who looked like an elegant porcelain doll, made both my wife and myself feel really welcome.

After crossing, what used to be the central patio of the old property, we reached our room. I definitely missed something in the room. It could have been "a bit more complete". If I had to use a word to describe the room, that word would be Spartan.

On the other side, when we explored the rest of the Rachamanka, we were positively surprised by the garden and by the wonderful pool.

We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and one night we stayed at the hotel restaurant where we enjoyed a tasty, but a bit expensive, dinner.

Overall the experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask them to send you a picture of the room and ask for the upper quality rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed there one in late July of 2013 and booked it through a travel agency. A total mistake to give it a try. Rooms are tiny and it doesn't really matter of what kind. Like some other traveller reviewed, bathrooms are dirty and smelly. Even more terribly, so many bugs in the room and bathroom!Shocking....so many kind of them as well. Not need to go visit any other insect museums, it is one of them. Go somewhere else for a nicer place to treat yourselves like a holiday maker and pocket 200B for drinks is easy once you are in town. Gosh, really doesn't mind to ask for refund!

Room Tip: Go and see by yourselves if you trust no one's review here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked this hotel due to the great reviews on a hotel booking site, but looking back at those reviews I'm 99% sure that a lot of them were fake. (Nobody uses three exclamations after every sentence. For this hotel at least.)

The hotel was very nice, considering the price. The staff were nice but very disorganized. Checkin, checkout, etc took way longer than necessary. (Or maybe I was just extra tired from the trip after our driver took us to the other, much more luxurious hotel called "Rachamanka" and got lost for an hour trying to find the correct hotel. Make sure you go to DE Rachamanka or you will suffer a serious letdown when you get to the right hotel.)

The rooms were nice, but really small. I think the rooms with two twin beds have more breathing room, but our double room was downright claustrophobic.

Also, bring earplugs. There's a music school of some sort behind the hotel and you'll be up early if you're not prepared!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you love real Lanna decoration, you will love this hotel. They are good decoration with Lanna style. Also nice facilities such as library, private museum, swimming pool, outlet. They are located in the old town side. You can walk to Sunday night market from the hostel just 15 minutes. You will find a lot of street food there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year in July of 2012 for summer vacation on our trip to Chiang Mai. There were absolutely no problems or anything to complain about during our 4 night stay here. The manager was incredibly helpful and friendly. My traveling partner became ill on our trip and the manager did everything that he could to make sure that she was taken care of and feeling better. He helped us plan out some daily excursions and also what to do and where to go in the city. I would recommend this guest house to anyone. The rooms were well taken care of and clean as well. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to de Rachamanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Rachamanka

Address: 82-86 Rachamanka rd. | Prasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — de Rachamanka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Rachamanka is located in Chiang Mai’s Old Town, just 50 metres from the Sunday Walking Street. Featuring modern Lanna-style décor, it offers free Wi-Fi and rooms with private bathrooms.Fitted with dark wood furnishings, the air-conditioned rooms come with a flat-screen TV and a fridge. Each room has a bathroom with toiletries and a hot shower.De Rachamanka, Chiang Mai is 70 metres away from Wat Chedi Luang and 100 metres from Wat Phra Singh. Chiang Mai International Airport is a 15-minute drive away.Luggage storage facilities are available at the 24-hour reception, while excursions and airport transfers can be arranged at the tour desk. Car rental and laundry services are also provided.De Rachamanka Hotel has a restaurant that serves Thai and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your de Rachamanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Rachamanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.