We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Rainy Days @ Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Senses Guest House

Save Saved
You added Seven Senses Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seven Senses Guest House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   13 Serm-Suk Street | Changpuak (near Y.M.C.A Suntithum), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 487 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Memorable Rainy Days @ Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Getting to Seven Senses is easy, just mention YMCA and all the drivers shall take you there. We arrived rather early. As we step into Seven Sense, Ms Munee was there to welcome us. She immediately made us feel comfortable. Ms Munee, the pretty & charming owner then help us to plan thru our holidays, giving lots of advise, tips and suggestion which was very helpful, even though this is not my first trip to Chiang Mai.
Had a very early lunch in their cafe. Ms Munne recommended us 2 dishes, northern & southern food. It tasted great. Coffee was prepared by a partime university student. He made great coffee and chocolate. We then met Mr Duang, the cook. An interesting guy, unfortunately don't speak much of English. These people runs the Seven Senses with great passion as we can definitely feel their warmth.
We were originally booked for a standard double room. Since we are spending time indoors due to the rain, we requested for a bigger room. We had the opportunity of staying in Ayatthuya and Rattankosin. Ayathtuya was great, large room with a mini garden, with a settee. I particularly liked the wash basin area, entrance to the bathroom. Rattakosin was even better, a brighter room, mini garden complete with fountain and small pool. My wife love it so much that she made it a point to switch on the fountain every time when we are back in the room. With spot light on, it's feels so romantic an night. We also love the open bath with the shower made to feel like bathing in a waterfall.
It's fun picking our menu for breakfast daily. My wife love the Muesli and me the toast & jam. We had our breakfast every morning at the verandah. There is this group of squirrels darting from tree to tree using the over head electric cables. We counted six of them, they are grey in color with a golden tail. Guess they are picking the fruits at the large Bodhi tree. We also took part in giving alms to the monks, organized with the help of Ms Munee. To our surprise, my wife had one of her wishes came true!
Mr Duang also doubles as the house keeper. He is always available and very obliging cooking for us at odd hours. Due to the rain, we spent a good deal of our time indoors. There is a 'horn' at the cafe, just 'sound it when you are hungry of thirsty'. There were a couple of times when Mr Duang is already leaving the guest house for his break, yet he turned back just to cook for us. Their charges at the cafe is very reasonable.
Well, all good times still has to come to an end. Shall definitely stay here on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you stay long enough, should try out the different theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
38
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, España
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This little guest house is the most charming accomodation I have seen in Thailand. It has 7 rooms and each one is decorated following the style of an ancient Thai city, like Chiang Mai, Ayutthaya,.... You really feel in a Thai house, the floor is made of teakwood, the decoration is impeccable and the service is excelent. The will really help you out finding things to do and places to explore. Its an affordable luxury.
I would really recomend it, is unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

we had a lovely stay in this guesthouse, didn't expect it to be so beautiful. Great staff, great rooms. We had a lovely time, munee was really nice and helped us with the decision of what to do in the little time we had to get around the city. I'll be coming back for sure. Rooms were clean, our bathroom was lovely and the atmosphere unforgettable. Coming back late at night with the rain and having to unlock the door and everything wasn't very confortable, but i think it was part of the experience of staying here. and the cock singin all day long was just funny, we really liked it!

Room Tip: get the suites, they are really worth the price, "rattanakosin" suite if i remember well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My level of satisfaction with accommodation is generally based as much on the 'vibe' as on the facilities. While the facilities were good, and the room quite charming, if a bit quirky, I did not feel particularly comfortable here. I did not experience the same level of genuine service and willingness to please as I normally do in Thailand, and therefore disagree with a number of the reviews here. There were a few issues to begin with such as maintenance going on immediately above my room, and then I was told that the door to the room was recalcitrant because it was 'ancient'. The water went off during a storm in the night, which was unfortunate because I was sick. As I tried to leave the guest house at 5 am to get some water up the road I found I was completely locked in, and had to go through the kitchen to get out, hampered by some more old doors that would not close easily behind me. This could have been deadly in a fire. I am an experienced traveller so these are not the insecurities of the uninitiated. For me there was something not right about this place. The surrounding area is also not particularly welcoming.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at Seven Senses for three nights this august at the "Chiang Mai" room. The location is great, just a five minute walk to the old town (although Chiang Mai is not a city designed for walking, that´s for sure). Munee, the owner is a great host, with loads of information about the city and always willing to help, even writing the adress of wherever you might want to go in Thai for the taxi drivers to take you there. Breakfast was superb, with a choice between continental breakfast, muesli set (my favourite) or thai food. The decor of the room was great, and the whole stay was great. Leaving was one of the sadest moments in my trip to Thailand. if i ever may return to Chiang Mai, i will not look elsewhere. This is the place to stay. Make yourself a favour and stay at Seven Senses. You wont regret.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Seven Senses. The rooms are gorgeous and I highly recommend the Chiang Khan room with the outdoor shower, very cool! Loved the attention to details like the mosquito netting and machine that zaps them and keeps them from biting you. The bed was actually very comfortable which is saying a lot for Thailand, the land of hard beds. The food was outstanding, especially the koisoy soup, delicious! Munee greeted us upon arrival with the best cold lemongrass tea Ive had in Thailand! She had great tips for our one day stay and was so accommodating and attentive. Her personality is so sparkling and welcoming. The location is good if you want to check out the "new town" Chiang Mai, which I really recommend. She keeps taxi drivers available right outside which was very convenient. Staying here was like staying at a spa home, so relaxing and we really felt well taken care of.

Room Tip: Chiang Khan has a private outdoor shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This type of guesthouse is usually above our budget, but with a discount by booking online, we were able to get the Ayutthaya suite. The room was just lovely, there is a small outdoor area, and the bathtub/shower is also placed outside. The room is different from a run-of-the-mill hotel room with much much more personality. All the basic stuff was in order. Clean, good bed, tv, fridge etc.
Breakfast was nice. You order the evening before and have the option of regular american breakfast or different thai dishes. Be sure to try the Khao Soi.
When we arrived we were given a cold drink, this is a nice touch but a common thing. The difference here was that the following days we were staying at the hotel the chef gave us cold drinks every time we came back from sightseeing or dinner. Everyday was a new type of juice. The staff in general is very nice. The owner was very helpfull with advice on what to do and see and the occasional sorting out taxi prices for us.
Location was in a quiet resedential area. The north and west gate of the old city is within 15 min walking, Central place mall is 5 minutes away. Across from the hotel is a parking lot that the Sorng-taa-ou drivers use for breaks. 20 baht PP gets you to Nimmanhaemin, riverside or East gate in no time (and you don't have to flag them down on the street, just interrupt their brake).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seven Senses Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Senses Guest House

Address: 13 Serm-Suk Street | Changpuak (near Y.M.C.A Suntithum), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 487 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Senses Guest House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Senses Guest House is conveniently located 5 minutes from the historic Janghualin Canal, Night Bazaar, Doi Suthep Temple and many other temples. Each room is delightfully designed in different décor from 7 scenes of Thailand… from the luxurious Manorah room replete with antique furnishings and two-person Jacuzzi to the adorable Pai room offering affordable comfort. You don’t have to leave the Guest House to enjoy an exquisite Spa experience. You can relax in the comfort of the wonderful Spa and be pampered by the cheerful, caring, professional Spa staff. You deserve to treat yourself to a memorable experience at the Seven Senses Guest House during your holiday in Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Seven Senses Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Senses Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.