We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel near the old city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheik Istana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheik Istana Hotel to your Saves list
Sheik Istana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel near the old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful hotel next to the ping river, great views and stunning room decor...there were even gold leaves on the ceiling! The bed was more than comfy, room service amazing, and barthroom very romantic. The breakfast was great, shuttle service was OK...and it's a bit outside of the old city so we had to pay around 100 baht each way...it was worth it for the hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear our value guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about Sheik Istana Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. I would also like to thank you for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service

I appreciate your kind comments on our services and hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    31
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
57
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed there for 7 nights for my vacation by myself. The visit of Chiang Mai was the first trip to Thailand for me. I had no idea what Thailand was until the visit. One of the staff, experienced staff was very helpful to me. He helped me to buy SIM card on the way to the hotel from the airport, arranged me English speaking woman driver and so on. Thank him very much. The manager and all the staff are friendly, some of them don't speak English well, but English speaking staff helped me well. The bouthque hotel is not large, so the manager and staff know who is the hotel guest always. It is safe and comfortable single traveler. It is not walking distance to the famous old town, and they have shuttle bus service few times a day.
I stayed Deluxe room then, and house-keeping is excellent. They kept my room very clean always. The only thing I was embarrassed was the noise of air-conditioner. I hope they have quiet air-conditioner next time. I hope the new hotel will be prosperious and matured.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing such a good comment about your stay with us.

In particular, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the leisure activities proposed by our animation team and that our staff managed to put you at easy. We really take care about our guest’s needs and desires, being our main purpose making you feel well assisted.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Regards,
Sheik Istana Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Even if we are not on "honeymoon", we bought the honeymoon package. The package is very attractive and is offered during the low-season. I have stayed the first two nights at sheik Istana Hotel while the last two nights at Aruntara. when compared, I prefer sheik Istana Hotel because of quietness and facing to the riverside.

We stayed in the deluxe room with pantry but without any cooking utensils, it is very spacious and has a balcony facing to the river.
The breakfast was great, we can choose whatever we like in the menu. This is a nice meal even better that than of the romantic dinner offered in the package.
My friend and I enjoyed an 1-hour oil massage very much, the staff was very skillful and performed much better than that of "Cheeva".
We do not join the half-day trip in the package, it was a trip to the temple at the mountain.
Shuttle bus is great!! I took it to the night bazaar at 6:30pm and the shuttle bus picked us up at 9:30pm. On Sat, to the sat night bazaar while to the sun night bazaar on sun. Relatively, the night bazaar from Mon to Fri is not so attractive when compared to those on sat and sun. At 9am and 1pm, they also arrange shuttle bus to nearby, but one way only.

shortcoming ; the package included a "romantic dinner", I have arranged that we should have a dinner at 5pm. We arrived at the restaurant at 5pm, the waitress totally had no ideas on our arrangement even if we have claimed clearly our package including a dinner and room number. After 20 mins, she started to understand what is happening and serve the appetizer, mussels which were prepared for our dinner at 5pm was cold....

opening hour of Sauna from 4-8pm only, very disappointed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Firstly, I would like to say thank you very much for your review and we are really do apologies for all of inconvenient during your stay.
We will continue working to improve our services following your comments and would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Regards,
Sheik Istana Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great design, nice view and very good service... I stayed here for 3 night with my wife and my parent. Please don't forget to try Moroccan style food at restaurant at night. You will experience Thailand nice pagoda along the Mae Ping river.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue working to improve our services and would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Regards,
Sheik Istana Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baumholder, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was really an outstanding hotel experience for us! If you like luxurious rooms, tasty food and a staff that goes beyond the standard, then this one is for you. It is a Morrocan themed hotel and restaurant (but they serve European, Morrocan and Thai food). The service excellence started at the airport. Our driver met us with an easy to find sign right at the luggage area and then drove us in a BMW to our hotel ( a short 10 minute ride). Upon our arrival we were met with smiles and tea as they handled our early check in without issue. In a word, the room was "perfect!" Stylishly appointed and complete with complimentary snacks, tea/coffee and water...and most importantly powerful AC! We were on a multi location trip and were only staying one night, but needed laundry service. Although the info book stated laundry service took 24 hours, the hotel provided us same day service without extra charge. They also helped fix a big issue for us when our dinner reservation at a local kantoke restaurant fell through. Multiple people sprung into action finding us another restaurant at the time we wanted and arranged transportation to and from the location. Throughout the process they kept us informed of progress and were really overly accommodating. Lastly, we were set to be picked up very early the next morning by our tour guide (prior to breakfast). Without us asking, the hotel prepared two brown-bag breakfasts for us! We did a couples massage at the hotel and it was great too. The only draw back there was the small amount of time allotted for us to drink the tea they provided (about 20 seconds...but this seemed to happen at every place we got a massage, so it might be a Thai thing). The only bad thing we could find in this hotel was no ATM was in or near the hotel, and we had to walk about 300 meters down a road with no sidewalk to get to one.

Really great customer service in a beautiful location. If we ever go back to Chang Mai this is where we will stay without question!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sheik Istana Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed all our services and felt so well attended to by our staff. I will share with our team your comments about their positive attitude towards the costumers which is one of our principles in Sheik Istana Hotel

I really look forward to welcoming you in your next visit.

Regards,
Sheik Istana Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and would say it is a very nice hotel by the river. Rooms are spacious, the pools and grounds are beautiful. Staff on the front desk were great and couldn't be more helpfull. The downsides: breakfast is not good and we had a lunch and evening meal there which was OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Firstly, I would like to say thank you very much for your review and we are really do apologies for all of inconvenient during your stayed with us. About your concern with the taste of breakfast, I will pass your message to whom concern.

However, we are truly happy that you are quite enjoy to stay with us.We are truthfully do hope to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Sheik Istana Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

There is not much to fault in this hotel, but it lacks atmosphere and character, in spite of the ornate architecture and attractive Moroccan decor. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the shuttle bus service [which was adequate but not that frequent] helped overcome the distance from the old city. I actually cycled very comfortably from the hotel to the old city wall and discovered that it is not so far. But because the environs of the hotel are not very welcoming the hotel feels like it is further out than it actually is. The room was spotlessly clean, and well-desgined. The swimming pool is not really suitable for adults. I would not stay here again, but that is based on personal choice rather than on anything specifically against the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Firstly, I would like to say thank you very much for your review and we are really do apologies for all of inconvenient during your stayed with us.

I would also like to thank you for sharing your observations as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service.

Regards,
Sheik Istana Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheik Istana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheik Istana Hotel

Address: 10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheik Istana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheik Istana is ideally situated on the Ping River, the main river that runs through the city, in one of the most beautiful locations in Chiang Mai. All attraction areas are all within easy reach. The design of the 35 luxuriously appointed guest rooms was inspired by Moroccan and Asian architecture, making the hotel ideally suited for a romantic getaway or honeymoon; its convenient location and beautiful, cosy and elegant atmosphere will however equally appeal to business people. Relax and take in the stunning views of Wat Chedi Lium, one of the ancient temples in Wiang Kum Kam,from your guestroom terrace and have yourself pampered by our friendly and professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheik Istana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheik Istana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.