We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy but a little soulless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheik Istana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheik Istana Hotel to your Saves list
Sheik Istana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 133 Reviews
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Classy but a little soulless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

There is not much to fault in this hotel, but it lacks atmosphere and character, in spite of the ornate architecture and attractive Moroccan decor. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the shuttle bus service [which was adequate but not that frequent] helped overcome the distance from the old city. I actually cycled very comfortably from the hotel to the old city wall and discovered that it is not so far. But because the environs of the hotel are not very welcoming the hotel feels like it is further out than it actually is. The room was spotlessly clean, and well-desgined. The swimming pool is not really suitable for adults. I would not stay here again, but that is based on personal choice rather than on anything specifically against the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Firstly, I would like to say thank you very much for your review and we are really do apologies for all of inconvenient during your stayed with us.

I would also like to thank you for sharing your observations as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service.

Regards,
Sheik Istana Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    31
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
57
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dalby, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 8 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every moment there. It was low season so we were treated like royalty, the staff are all very beautiful, helpful people. We got a great deal from Agoda. Food in restaurant was excellent. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are spacious, with king size, comfortable beds. It was only 15minutes by Tuk Tuk or Taxi to the main walking streets, take note you cannot walk from the hotel as there are no footpaths which is standard in the outer suburbs of Chang Mai.

Room Tip: We were on level 3, so had great views of the river and didn't need the lift. Level 3 or 4 would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sheik Istana Hotel with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed all our services and felt so well attended to by our staff .

We would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Regards,
Sheik Istana Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

my daughter and i stayed here for 3 nights and wished we could of stayed longer. The rooms are gorgeous and spacious. decorated beautifully.The staff is helpful and kind. And the food we had there was wonderful. Enjoyed the pool and being by the river also. One of our favorite places during our 16 day s of travel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear customer,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the leisure activities proposed by our dynamic team and that our staff managed to put you at easy. We really take care about our guest’s needs and desires, being our main purpose making you feel well assisted.

We assure you that we will continue having a chance to welcome and improve your next experience with us.

Regards,
Sheik Istana Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in the beginning of august .It probably was low season as there were hardly any other guests here. Great deal from Agoda. Hotel is beautiful. Nice rooms and bathrooms. Only given one key Card which had to be in the slot for electrics to work,so if you left the room for a short while all electrics and aircon are reset. Cant keep your laptop/mobile charging. Also the Aircon seemed to have only one speed, fast, could be a bit annoying. Rooms were nice and clean and a fitting decor for the hotels theme. Pool area was also nice and the pool was clean.They had two pools, and the smaller pool is near the restaurant (Marakech) and seemed abandoned.The gymnasium was well equipped and beside the main pool. The bathroom and steam room by the gym were not as well cared for as the rest of the hotel.
The restaurant,Marakech was set out nicely by the river. We only had breakfast there and it was bordering on adequate. Service, although friendly was not of a good standard. Definite room for improvement which I'm sure they will work on.
The staff were very pleasant, friendly and willing to please although we did have communication problems at times.
The area around the hotel also has a couple of good restaurants and bars.
The hotel provides transportation into town and to the night bazzar free of cost. You may also organize a taxi through the hotel if their timing does not suit you. They also have a airport pickup and drop of for B200.
All in all a great stay and would recommend it to people who are looking for a quieter getaway

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pichaya R, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we are really do apologise for all of inconvenient during your stayed with us.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Hotel is really new and perfectly decorated outside (the garden is a painting on the river) and inside the room are very well equipped, all the amenities you can expect from a high standard hotel and this oriental arabic style make you feel as a sheik! Restaurant food is pretty good and the room service was perfect and fast,We really enjoy come back to the hotel jump in the pool and relax in the herbas steam and then have dinner on the sofa of the room after a long day outside. The staff is professional and really friendly and speak good english. Go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pichaya R, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sheik Istana Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed all our services and felt so well attended to by our staff.
I really look forward to welcoming both of you in your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very beautiful hotel with nice river view and i can see Vieng Kum Kam (a historic place) from our terrace. I travel to Chiang Mai every year and never stay in the same hotel but I will go back to this hotel. Stuffs are very helpful and have service mind. The location is quite far from old town and nimmamhemin but this can trade with peaceful river view and free shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Khun Apichaya,

Thank you for sharing your comments about us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. I will share with our team your comments about their positive attitude towards the costumers which is one of our principles in Sheik Istana Hotel.

With my best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I want to go back so badly. I miss it so much. We've spent a month in Southeast Asia and our stay at Sheik Istana was the best 5 days of the trip. The service is wonderful. Everyone is so accommodating and will do anything that they can to make your experience better. My shirt was wrinkled so they sent up an iron and ironing board and it was in my room in less than 2 minutes. It was truly an amazing place with wonderful people working there. I miss it so much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern_chiangmai, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear value guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sheik Istana Hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed all our services and felt so well attended to by our staff.
We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Yours sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheik Istana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheik Istana Hotel

Address: 10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheik Istana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheik Istana is ideally situated on the Ping River, the main river that runs through the city, in one of the most beautiful locations in Chiang Mai. All attraction areas are all within easy reach. The design of the 35 luxuriously appointed guest rooms was inspired by Moroccan and Asian architecture, making the hotel ideally suited for a romantic getaway or honeymoon; its convenient location and beautiful, cosy and elegant atmosphere will however equally appeal to business people. Relax and take in the stunning views of Wat Chedi Lium, one of the ancient temples in Wiang Kum Kam,from your guestroom terrace and have yourself pampered by our friendly and professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheik Istana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheik Istana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.