We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sparrow's Nest Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sparrow's Nest Guest House to your Saves list
Sparrow's Nest Guest House
82 Ratchadamnern Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 503 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 16 Reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Convenient and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here 13-14 October. The room was lovely, with very nice deco, especially the bathroom. We are not comparing it with a full-priced hotel, as this is a guest house and costs only about USD20 per night, but even a proper hotel might not be much better than this. The room was clean, especially the bathroom. The TV was in a retro style, which fits the room deco just nicely, the cabinet is a glass one with wooden frame - just great! And the bed sheet is very fine too.

They provide room cleaning and towel change while we were out - somwething we didn't expect for a guest house at this price level (if we knew this in advance, we would have instructed them not to change the towels - they were used just once).

Now about the location - just perfect, it is at the middle of the road that hosts the Sunday Night Market, just 20 meters away from the action. Please not to confuse this with the Night Bazaar - not worth going as they sell more fake goods and expensive too. The Sunday Night Market is not to be missed, it is cheap, have more variety, and feels more like a carnival. You should start by 6 pm, as you won't be able to see everything by the time they close at 10pm.

We would come back to stay if we return next time.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you choose this place, please tell you taxi driver to go to Villa Duang Champa, as this gh is at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Located behind villa duang champa is the lovely sparrows nest. Our taxi driver did not know the guest house so he dropped us in the Soi. Which was fine but next time would tell them to drop me at duang champa (this is where you check in and get your tour info from as well) The staff was very helpful and friendly and made a lot of phonecalls for us to book tours!

Rooms are not super big but spacious enough to not trip over your own bags. Aircon works good, fridge was not plugged in so it took some time to get our (free) bottles of water cold. Bathroom is fine.

Location is THE big plus for this place. Close to the Wat Prha Sing complex (end of the street) and the Sunday walking market in front of your door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff in a nice, green leafy environment. I returned after a month in Myanmar to be greeted like a long-lost friend. Tony and Lar are particularly friendly. The taxi drivers don't know Sparrow's Nest. Best you ask to go to Villa Duang Champa, the hotel attached to, and in front of Sparrow's Nest, as it is very well known. When I asked the staff they said they did have a sign, but it blew down. Look for the green ivy-like covered wall or the insect museum across the road. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The screens in the bathroom were in need of cleaning, but the bathroom itself was very clean. There are a few little perks like free water in your fridge and free internet and WIFI. It's also nice to be able to use the facilities of the more upmarket Villa Duang Champa.There is a rather unusual yoga house, I think designed like a nest, where you can attend classes twice a week. You can also use it for meditation if you ask. They serve good food and the Sunday Walking Market, which is far more interesting and varied than the market in town, is right on the doorstep and around the block. It is a 15 - 20 min walk to town, enough to feel exercised, but not tired. The Insect Museum across the road is very interesting, as are the couple who run it. There are many, many massage places around the hotel and on the way into town, including Lila Thai Massage, right next door, which is staffed by women who have been released from prison and trained in massage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

As many reviews have suggested, this guesthouse shares the entrance and general garden area with a spa & hotel (owned by the same owner), which makes it great value.

The rooms are small, but clean and stylish. 2 free bottles of waters daily is a plus, and the location is right on the sunday walking street.

Unfortunately, getting a wifi connection from the room is not possible. But you can sit at the common garden area to use your computer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Sparrow's Nest. Located behind a posh boutique hotel, the Sparrow's Nest was like a precious little gem hidden in the middle of Chiang Mai's historic district. Tangmo, Tony and staff treated me like a long-time guest, and I felt very much at home with their personal and caring touch. The location was ideal, practically in the geographic center of the old city. Its location down a quiet little soi offers travelers a nice respite after a day of temple-hopping and trekking. Rooms amenities include tv, mini-fridge, and aircon. The bathroom is spacious, and the rooms are clean and pleasant. If you like to come "home" to a quiet room in a garden setting, and prefer a quiet location away from the hubbub of the backpacker district, the Sparrow's Nest is for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Booked this guesthouse through the internet prior to my trip to Chiang Mai. Arrived at midnight due to late flight arrival, so was having trouble looking for the person in-charge to check us into this guesthouse. Someone did pick up my call but could not understand english well, and kept on asking me to come back tomorrow morning. Since it was quiet and late at night, one of the hotel guest woke up and told us that we need to go to Duang Champa, the hotel right next door to check in. After that, everything was fine.

The good thing about this hotel is its location. Just a few steps from the main road (Ratchadamnern Rd where the sunday night market is located) but very peaceful and quiet with huge trees in the compound. The room is big, wash room is big as well. It's just nice and simple for a budget traveller. Easily accesible via foot to Wat Chedi Luang, Wat Phan Tao and Wat Phra Sing (guess this is the 3 most important temple in the old city). We booked a fan room, but it's not hot at all (may be it is hidden under big trees).

This place may not be the center of night activities in CM but it is still within walking distance to Thapae Gate (abt 10min walk). Taking a tuk-tuk or song theaw is also easy. However, i rent a bicycle for 50bath and wander around the city. It's the fastest and cheapest mode of transportation.

Bicycle rental is available from a shop not far from the guesthouse but require deposit. We rented from a small shop in a small lane for the same price but does not require deposit. It's all about trust and we like it.

Room Tip: Take the fan room if you are travelling in winter season as A/C is not needed at all. Check in has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We went to Chiang Mai and didn't book for any hotel. After a long walk looking for hotel here and there, Sparrow's Nest seemed to be the best option at the time (as it was a high season and everything else was so expensive)... and as it turned out, it was the best decision ever! The location is perfect. It is right next to the Sunday Walking Street, Wat Sigha, cute cafe, etc. It's not really a B&B since there is no breakfast but it is managed by the management of Villa Duang Champa, a boutique hotel situated right next to this place. Therefore, you can expect a professional treatment, advices, etc. The place is clean and cutely decorated with vintage Thai style. There is a small garden in front of your room (there are only 4 double rooms and one big room for a group). It was peaceful at night. For a budget place in Chiang Mai, this is a keeper!

Room Tip: Ask the management to see the room first. They were really nice and let us do that before we decided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sparrow's Nest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparrow's Nest Guest House

Address: 82 Ratchadamnern Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sparrow's Nest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sparrow's Nest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.