We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape in Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sparrow's Nest Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sparrow's Nest Guest House to your Saves list
Sparrow's Nest Guest House
82 Ratchadamnern Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 16 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great escape in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

As many reviews have suggested, this guesthouse shares the entrance and general garden area with a spa & hotel (owned by the same owner), which makes it great value.

The rooms are small, but clean and stylish. 2 free bottles of waters daily is a plus, and the location is right on the sunday walking street.

Unfortunately, getting a wifi connection from the room is not possible. But you can sit at the common garden area to use your computer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Sparrow's Nest. Located behind a posh boutique hotel, the Sparrow's Nest was like a precious little gem hidden in the middle of Chiang Mai's historic district. Tangmo, Tony and staff treated me like a long-time guest, and I felt very much at home with their personal and caring touch. The location was ideal, practically in the geographic center of the old city. Its location down a quiet little soi offers travelers a nice respite after a day of temple-hopping and trekking. Rooms amenities include tv, mini-fridge, and aircon. The bathroom is spacious, and the rooms are clean and pleasant. If you like to come "home" to a quiet room in a garden setting, and prefer a quiet location away from the hubbub of the backpacker district, the Sparrow's Nest is for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Booked this guesthouse through the internet prior to my trip to Chiang Mai. Arrived at midnight due to late flight arrival, so was having trouble looking for the person in-charge to check us into this guesthouse. Someone did pick up my call but could not understand english well, and kept on asking me to come back tomorrow morning. Since it was quiet and late at night, one of the hotel guest woke up and told us that we need to go to Duang Champa, the hotel right next door to check in. After that, everything was fine.

The good thing about this hotel is its location. Just a few steps from the main road (Ratchadamnern Rd where the sunday night market is located) but very peaceful and quiet with huge trees in the compound. The room is big, wash room is big as well. It's just nice and simple for a budget traveller. Easily accesible via foot to Wat Chedi Luang, Wat Phan Tao and Wat Phra Sing (guess this is the 3 most important temple in the old city). We booked a fan room, but it's not hot at all (may be it is hidden under big trees).

This place may not be the center of night activities in CM but it is still within walking distance to Thapae Gate (abt 10min walk). Taking a tuk-tuk or song theaw is also easy. However, i rent a bicycle for 50bath and wander around the city. It's the fastest and cheapest mode of transportation.

Bicycle rental is available from a shop not far from the guesthouse but require deposit. We rented from a small shop in a small lane for the same price but does not require deposit. It's all about trust and we like it.

Room Tip: Take the fan room if you are travelling in winter season as A/C is not needed at all. Check in has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We went to Chiang Mai and didn't book for any hotel. After a long walk looking for hotel here and there, Sparrow's Nest seemed to be the best option at the time (as it was a high season and everything else was so expensive)... and as it turned out, it was the best decision ever! The location is perfect. It is right next to the Sunday Walking Street, Wat Sigha, cute cafe, etc. It's not really a B&B since there is no breakfast but it is managed by the management of Villa Duang Champa, a boutique hotel situated right next to this place. Therefore, you can expect a professional treatment, advices, etc. The place is clean and cutely decorated with vintage Thai style. There is a small garden in front of your room (there are only 4 double rooms and one big room for a group). It was peaceful at night. For a budget place in Chiang Mai, this is a keeper!

Room Tip: Ask the management to see the room first. They were really nice and let us do that before we decided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sparrow's Nest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparrow's Nest Guest House

Address: 82 Ratchadamnern Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sparrow's Nest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sparrow's Nest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.