We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Travel Agency for your tours in Thailand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Elephant Thailand Tours - Private Day Tours

Blue Elephant Thailand Tours - Private Day Tours
44/1/2 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
+66 (0) 81 884 3295
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Elephant Thailand Tours is a real local tour operator in Chiang Mai. We offer you the truly tours of North Thailand, you and your family will learn and participate more about our beautiful culture, tradition, temples, hide away hill tribes homestay, elephants riding and bathing, trekking in the rainforest, bamboo rafting and adventure zipline canopy. We do hope that you will choose Blue Elephant Thailand Tours to play a key role in your wonderful trip.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The Best Travel Agency for your tours in Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I contacted Mr. Surin from Blue Elephant Thailand Tours in Chiang Mai as I wanted to organize a private tour from Bangkok to the northern parts of Thailand. Surin had very good insights and suggestions of what to see and to do during our trip. He is a very good communicator, professional, friendly and speaks also very good English. His frequent emails kept me informed on the organization of our trip and made sure all my questions were answered in a timely manner. Together we worked out a very nice itinerary which was also respected during our trip (I had the experience in the past where the itinerary you agree upon beforehand is not always what you end up doing). His local knowledge was instrumental to create a tour which kept us busy (we saw A LOT: temples, museums, markets, waterfalls, geysers, tigers, elephants, local hill tribes, etc) but we were never stressed and the pace never felt rushed. The time allotted to each excursion was just right every time. I also trusted him to help me book hotels for the entire stay. He proved once again his great local knowledge when choosing hotels with good value for money at each location.

The car provided was very good, as so was the driver Mr. Loong Kerd. He doesn't speak much English, but knows all the roads like the back of his hand. He drives safely yet manages to always be on time and remain calm in every situation, which we appreciated in the sometimes crazy Thai traffic! Always having water in the car was also a nice gesture as it is one less thing you have to care about.

Our two guides (Ms. May and Mr. Tam) were both very good, going out of their way to make sure we had the best possible time. Their English is very good and they happily answer your questions or spontaneously share insights about buddhism, local traditions and the daily life in Thailand. They were very flexible and helpful and their professional yet friendly attitude really made our trip something we will remember for a long time.

All in all it was one of the best trips we had so far (we travel a lot!) and we warmly recommend the Blue Elephant Thailand Tours travel agency to anyone who would like to see Thailand without having the hustle to drive and organize everything yourself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    44
    6
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“elephant ride jungle trek hill tribe visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our guide,Ms May,collected us as arranged.Taking us in an air conditioned 4 x 4 for a onehour drive to our destination,a drive that passed in no time as Ms May told us the local facts and customs in an informative but fun manner,on arrival we were lead to the Elephants,all who were cared for very well,rode with a local man,and saw up close how lovivg these animals can be.Then of to the hill tribe,where we were met by the locals,each with something to offer,but no pressure to buy,after as much time as we needed as there seemed no rush[things move slowly in thailand]we were then taken on a trek through the hills over bamboo bridges and over rice fields,to a wonderful waterfall.Again we had as much time as we wanted to enjoy this wonderful site.When we were ready it was off to rafting down the river,a thing that is a must.when our day was over Ms May took us back to our hotel ,even bringing back my camera back to us aftri had left it in her car.A credit to the tour industry,if you tour with blue elephant tours be sure to ask for Ms May

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good, but could have been better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked this tour online after checking on trip advisor for the reviews. After seeing such great reviews we knew we had to book with this tour company. We ended up picking the two day, one night tour, which included a stay at Rabeang Pasak Resort, elephant riding, and visits to different tribes. Our stay at the resort was amazing, we were the only two people staying so we were able to choose which tree house we wanted to stay in. The food was good and the owners were great. We would definitely go back one day. The elephant tour and seeing the tigers was very cool and very worth our time. The tours to see the tribes were definitely a let down. We basically walked through stalls of people selling items and then we were off to the next thing. At one of the tours our guide took us down this narrow road, that we could have walked down, and he ended up getting the vehicle stuck for over 30 mins. He ended up damaging some property and the vehicle and then after which he had to get some of the local people to help him out. We also had plans to see a sunset, but were too late to view it in time. We also had to ask for water at times, but on day two he was better. On day two we were taken to a butterfly and orchid farm, beautiful, but after we arrived they let us know that neither were in their prime season, so about 5 butterflys were seen, definitely not worth the drive or the time spent there. We overall made the best of the weird situations and really enjoyed the elephant tour. If you are going to book, maybe try to book with the owner. I emailed him frequently and he was very good at communication and making sure things were in order.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best tour guides ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was possibly the best tour company I've ever encountered! Surin our guide was professional, punctual, friendly, knowledgable, and everything one could possibly hope for as an ambassador to his region. He went out of his way to make sure my mother and I were having the best possible time; his hospitality was second to none. There were so many things that he included without needing to that made our small but powerful three day trip perfect. Per example, the pick up from and back to the airport, helping check into the hotel, the food, the snacks, the drinks, his insight, personality, patience, and humor. I cannot sing this companies praises enough!!! Whether you've been to Chiang Mai before as I had or it's your first time like it was for my mom this company will ensure that you have the best possible time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Blue Elephant Tours Chiang Mai..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just finished a great tour with Blue Elephant Thailand tours. The morning started out with our driver, Paul Rambo, waiting for us at our hotel in Chiang Mai. We said our hellos and proceeded to the Orchid and Butterfly farm, Elephant farm, Karen women and the Tiger park.
Our tour guide Paul was very knowledgeable. He explained, very thoroughly, how the Orchid process is performed later the various tribes from burma and China living in Thailand(Chiang Mai). Paul Made us feel as if he was a friend we where visiting for the day. We were never rushed and had plenty of time to ride an elephant and take lots of pics with Tigers inside their cages.
Blue Elephant tours made our time in Chiang Mai a great one. And again our tour guide Paul was really great. Ask for him and you won't be dissapointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant Thailand Tours - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blue Elephant Thailand Tours - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Elephant Thailand Tours - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.