We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The True Meaning of Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan U Sabai Boutique House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baan U Sabai Boutique House to your Saves list
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   213/7 Mahidol Rd | T. Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 537 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The True Meaning of Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family and I stayed at this boutique hotel from 28th nov - 2nd dec (in conjunction with the magnificent Loy Krathong festival). The rooms were extremely clean (there wasn't even a speck of dust on the balcony furniture) and lovely; not to mention authentic to the lanna custom. Though the rooms were comfortable, we had to attribute our wonderful stay to the impeccable service offered by the staff, particularly from a sweet young lady named Ping Pong and another bespectacled man who works the night shift at the reception. They were both polite and very accommodating to our requests; even going out of their way to help you with calls, bookings, and arrangements.

Though the hotel is hidden in a back alley, and budget cabs may have a problem locating the place, I'd advice ya'll to just carry the hotel card around and show it to the driver before you get onboard. Catching a cab from the hotel is fairly convenient, just take a 5 min stroll to the main road and the rest is easy-peasy.

Oh, and they serve one of the best scrambled eggs I've had for breakfast.
You won't regret your stay here. For the first time I did not miss home.

Rgds,
Camen Ng.

Room Tip: Room 208 was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Camen,

Thank you very much for your nice review of the hotel and our services. The entire team and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A. (Pat)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
45
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We arrived at the hotel after taking the night train from Bangkok. The room was already ready (it was 9:30 am!).

The hotel is quite cute, you have to take of your shoes in the lobby and you're offered Crocs to walk around the premises. It's a very small establishment (around 15 rooms) which gives it quite a homey ambience. We can understand that this may not be for everyone but it was perfect for us.

The rooms are extremely clean (we saw them move all furniture around to vacuum every last corner of the room). All rooms have a balcony (or pool access with a small terrace if you're on the lower floor). The only drawback of these balconies is that they are quite hot, even at night because of the overhanging roof.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and their english is good.

The location isn't that great as you have to get a songthaew or a tuktuk to get into town. We didn't have a problem with this, but at night it takes a while to get transportation away from the hotel. Even though it's close to the airport there isn't any noise pollution from arriving/departing flights.

Breakfast is a bit disappointing as you have to choose from a menu what you want the night before. However as this is a small establishment we understand that it would be very inefficient to have a whole buffet. The quality of the breakfast is ok.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear LiekeFlurin,

Thank you very much for having been our guests. We appreciate your kind comments and the understanding about our breakfast option. Moreover we are so happy to hear that you will be back here again.

We are looking forward to see you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Phantarak A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights after reading great reviews and was extremely happy and pleased with my choice. The house is all traditionally Thai and beautifully done in teak wood, gives a very authentic feel. Its a small guest house with about 20 rooms, two floors, all having a tearrace or balcony looking at the beautiful pool. It was a welcome feature after day touring in the scoring heat of above 40C to just soak into the refreshing pool in the evening. The rooms have a fridge, TV, safe, a little desk and a comfy bed, and free WIFi. The house is spotless and clean, they make you take off your shoes and provie you with crocs or flip flops. The whole staff is extraordinary friendly and helpful at all times, they booked day tours for me and even offered a free ride to the airport for my departing flight. The breakfast is three choices and enough to start your day (not a buffet form, they ask you a day before what you would like to have the next day). The location is not in the center of Chiang Mai, it is right in between the airport and city center, which was no problem at all. The many Tuk Tuks and Taxis take you at all times into the center of town for 3 Dollar from the main road near the hotel (about 200m). All in all a very fantatstic little place to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely take a tour to the Elephant Farms and to the temple Wat Phra That up in the mountains, sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Ari1006,

All of staffs and i much appreciate for your kind review and would like to thank you for having been our guest recently.

Your comments serve as a motivation to all of us to continue working hard to make every guest feel comfortable, welcome and and feeling like you are part of our family during their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next journey to Chiang Mai.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Baan U Sabai is a beautiful family run boutique hotel with lovely staff and amazing interiors. The rooms are spotless and the pool is amazing. The location is quiet yet perfectly position between the airport and the centre of the city. The owner’s daughter goes the extra mile to make u feel welcome and her knowledge of English helps a lot in customer service dealings. Breakfast could be improved as now days a buffet breakfast is a norm. But for the rest, a well worth stay. BTW if you want to spend a day with the elephants on a farm that actually cares for these giants (and not abuse them for the sake of tourists), go to Patara Elephant Farm. Its a bit more expensive but you get to “own” your own elephant for the day, care about it, wash, clean and ride it and even swim with it. And the lunch, prepared by the village women is traditionally Thai and delicious. Amazing stay, definitely coming back!

Room Tip: all rooms are located around the central pool and have balconies and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Oliver,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our services. My staffs and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very cute hotel a little bit outside the city centre, but it does not matter the taxi are so cheap anyway.

The rooms are lovely, all in wood, clean. The staff are all very helpful: giving you advices.
There is a pool, even if I enver went there it is nice to have one.

The only minus is the breakfast choice: only three types of breakfast.

Otherwise I would really recommend to go there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Minoushika,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our services as well as the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Thailand, our 1st port of call was Chang Mai where we stayed at this guest house for 5 nights:

The hotel is immaculate with beautiful teak throughout. All the staff were very helpful & friendly & nothing seemed to be too much trouble througout. The hotel is about 1mile out of the centre of Chang Mai but can easily get a tuk tuk into town between £1-£2. Breakfasts was very tasty & after the 3rd day offered us further alternatives to the menu in case we were getting bored of the limited (4) options available.

Only negatives is for a hotel of this standard possibly lacking a bath in the rooms & showers were not that powerful but saying that the bathrooms again were immaculate.

Would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a bit of a sanctuary & calm in a hotel as the place definetely has a tranquil "zen" feel to it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for having been our guests. We appreciates your kind comments and value your recommendations. We will continue to improve the shower system.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai and Baan U Sabai in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Baan u Sabai is a lovely place to stay, the rooms are beautifully arranged and the guest house staff are always pleasant, there is nothing wrong about this place as all, We are a couple that have totally enjoyed our stay in chiang mai and in Baan U Sabai.
possible points for improvement
showers, these are not the hottest or the best, but are still adequate,
the pool is refreshing (you know that breathe of air you have to take when you just dive in, however we are in chiang mai in winter.
The rooms are dark so you find it hard to see things when rummaging around in your bags.
the breakfast is well cooked but lacked options. i had sticky rice with omellete every morning as i was vegetarian.
the location is not ideal however some might say it is a positive, it is a 60baht ride into town (2US) so it is not far and it was quiet. (although i can sleep through anything)
it is close to the airport plaza mall with a western superrmarket to pick up you supplies, and all the street food is just a walk away but to get into town is a 5-10minute ride.
We stayed for 6 nights and loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Soon_2_b_B,

Thank you very much for having been our guests. Our staffs and i appreciate your kind comments and value your recommendations. We will continue to improve the shower system and add more breakfast choices for the vegetarian.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Baan U Sabai in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan U Sabai Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan U Sabai Boutique House

Address: 213/7 Mahidol Rd | T. Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 537 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan U Sabai Boutique House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living up to its definition in Thai, Baan U Sabai is your "comfortable living" home, where you will enjoy being in a truly unique location of Chiang Mai, but still feel like being at your own home. Built entirely out of teak wood and decorated with exquisite craftsmanship, our two-story boutique hotel is a magnificent work of art, as well as a paradise for any wood enthusiast. We provide 14 guestrooms: 9 Superior rooms and 5 Deluxe Pool Access rooms, that you can relax on the patio of the swimming pool right in front of your own bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Baan U Sabai Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan U Sabai Boutique House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.