We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Modern Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twenty Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Twenty Lodge to your Saves list
Twenty Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8/3 Soi 3 Singharaj Road | Old Town, T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chic Modern Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This small boutique hotel of 20 rooms is a refreshing change if you do not like the dark ornate wood of Lannai architecture. The hotel is new and fitted with concrete floors, sleek white furnishings, ipod dock and whimsical bathroom lights. Best of all, a strong wi fi signal everywhere on the grounds!

A couple of things to note though:

The rooms have french window type doors. The light proof curtains have to be drawn all the time for privacy. The door lock is also typically what you might find on balcony doors: you may not want to stay here if you like to sleep behind a solid door, although we never felt unsafe in our entire duration.

There is a cockerel that calls in the morning, which is rather annoying if you are not one to rise with the sun.

The bathroom can be slippery, because the floor is concrete and the shower area is open.

However, overall, it was a very pleasant stay and an oasis to come back to after a day out in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We arrived in Chiang Mai after an 18 hour train ride from Bangkok. We were tired, and ready to get into our room ASAP. Pool was refreshing! The room was nicely decorated, modern in terms of technology, and clean feeling. The beds were not that comfortable. There are no screens on the windows so we kept the windows and doors closed the whole time to keep mosquitoes out. They upgraded us to a better room for a small cost due to some drainage issues in the first room. Very FRIENDLY staff. They were willing to help us out with things to do, places to see, and any other friendly insight to a foreign land.

On a special note, I would like to thank the manager, I won't butcher his name, but I believe it was "Peter"? He was AMAZING! He helped us out with everything! So very kind, nice, and sincere. His hospitalitiy was better than some of the 4-5 star resorts that we stayed at in Thailand. He provided us with good insight to do a couple of excursions that ended up being some of the most fun we had in Thailand! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel, mainly due to the staff. Thanks Peter for making our trip fantastic!

Room Tip: You will get more mosquitoes near the koi pond...(I believe it was L 09)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This was a very pretty hotel with clean, ultra-modern rooms. Provided robes, towels, soap, toothbrush, etc. Kettle and mini fridge in room, as well as bedside lights and an iPod player. Free wifi in rooms. Miraculous total lack of mosquitoes in grounds or rooms. Small gym with elliptical - glass walls face courtyard so it's a fishbowl, good for exhibitionists. Breakfast includes fresh ground espresso (yum!) and cold juice, with choice of Asian (rice-based) or European (egg & bread-based). All staff were friendly and keen to serve. I liked the uniformed security guard at night, nice touch. A high standard of accommodation for Chiang Mai.

Just a few negatives: no stall for shower in bathroom, left large slippery puddles on floor (throw a towel down, it helps). Pool was clean but quite small. Doors to rooms were sliding glass with just a heavy curtain to cover, choice was light vs privacy. Hotel should add a sheer curtain to let light in but preserve privacy. A little far from the "action", about a 15 minute walk from Thapae Gate, but quiet (except for rooster in morning and slightly noisy bar fridge) and inside old city walls so everything is walkable in 15 minutes or just a 50 baht tuk-tuk ride away. Recommended!

Hotel Feature Tip : Might want to ask for a second floor room, to avoid people looking in your windows; warning, no elevator.

Room Tip: First floor means not taking the stairs (no elevator), but also less privacy; might want an upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a pretty new boutique hotel with a cozy environment that promises a comfy and homely stay in the Old City. It is very near to Central Kad Suan Kaew shopping centre, which was what I like, and still within reasonable walking distance to the Sunday Walking Street at Rachadamnern Road. The hotel is situated in a quiet soi away from the main road and the deco is tasteful, modern and chic. There is a small fitness room just next to the breakfast corner and the pool looks inviting. Convenient stores are nearby and there is even a laundry shop opposite the hotel which charges me just 30 baht for >1kg load of washing to be done!

The most amazing thing? The next door neighbour's 6am rooster wake-up call EVERY morning so you'd never need an alarm clock. The not-so-good thing I discovered is the smooth cement flooring... especially for the bathroom which can be rather slippery when the floor is wet after a shower!

And I am actually typing this review in the hotel room "live" using their free wifi. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svizzera
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I really suggest to stay at Twenty Lodge ... Is confortable, clean, the breackfast good like at home and the staff are really really friendly and lovely. The help you for everything you lookinf for in Chiang Mai.
The position is perfect to visti Chiang Mai.
I really raccomend this little hotel and for sure I will come back there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villorba, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I have enjoied staying in this small but remarcable hotel in the beautiful Chiang Mai. Mr. Piyorot, the manager, likes to take good care of his guests on helping in anything you might need, and keeps the cleaness and the organization of everything in a perfect way. You really feel at home. You will be happy to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Although our stay at the TL has been roughly six months ago, we hope that sharing our experience is still valuable - at that time, there simply was no TripAdvisor site yet.

This also meant that choosing the Twenty Lodge was a bit of a gamble at the time, but we turned out to be lucky. The hotel had just opened and we were among the first guests. After you saw the pictures of the beautiful garden and the very tastefully designed reception building, we probably do not need to talk about the beauty of the place, which also extended to the rooms (although the bathroom door was a little impractical).

We should, however, mention the outstanding service, and especially one instance which made our stay unforgotten. As many travellers, we checked out the surrounding internet cafes from time to time to load pictures from the camera onto USB drives and upload the best shots online. We were thus very unhappy when (while on the minibus to Laos) realised that we had forgotten one USB drive in the internet cafe around the corner of the TL that day - as we still had the pictures on a second drive, this was not too much of a problem. Receiving an email from Twenty Lodge telling us that our drive had been found and returned to the hotel and stating that the hotel would be glad to mail it to our home address in Europe was even more of a surprise to us.

You may surely call it Thai mentality but in our experience this service was outstanding even by Thai standards and leads us to highly recommend the Twenty Lodge for a wonderful stay in Chiang Mai's old town. Also, we can only recommend the small café at the corner just west of the De Lanna hotel in Intawarorot Rd., 4minutes walk from the Twenty Lodge. A beautiful place with excellent chocolate cake and very great staff!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twenty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty Lodge

Address: 8/3 Soi 3 Singharaj Road | Old Town, T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Twenty Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Twenty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twenty Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.