We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great teacher” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noina Art Studio

Noina Art Studio
315, Soi 9, Moon Muang Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
66840428021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 208 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noina Art Studio: Art Classes in Chiang Mai : Drawing Course, Painting Course By Noina Artist: ( Basic with pencil, Portrait painting with charcoal powder, Water color, Oil color, Acrylic color.)....Courses: 3 Hours, 10 Hours, 20 Hours : 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, week, or month.....** Previous experience not necessary. ** Everyone can learn. ** Learn in easy stages at times that are convenient for you..... I welcome you to visit my website and my studio at MoonMuang Road, Soi 9, Chiang Mai. I know you will enjoy what you see and hopefully you will be inspired to create your own art.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great teacher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I took the 10 hour drawing class with Noina. I had never drawn a portrait before. I used charcol and Noina patiently gave me instructions on how to make it work. She is very talented and is a wonderful teacher I had a lovely time with lots of laughs and in the end I had a drawing that I am very proud of. If you have some spare time whilst in Chiang Mai I would recommend Noinas art studio.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Without art the earth would be just eh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Friendly, funny and ever helpful, Noina is a great teacher and if your interested in taking an art class in chiang Mai then I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Myself and my girlfriend spent three afternoons with Noina we learnt a lot, laughed a lot and ended up going home with some great pieces of art.
Thank you very much Noina & koala ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Traveling solo and my first time to ChiangMai, I was looking for something different to do there instead of the usual touristy activities. I stumbled upon Noina's art studio on trip advisor, and seeing the many positive comments, decided to give it a go. Arriving uncertain at what to expect, I finished a piece of oil painting within the 3 hour period. (We went over time, yet there was no hurry to push me out the door until I finished!)
The only thing I wished there was more of was coaching, as there was a lot of freedom for me to do whatever I wanted. (That being said, I learned that anything can be fixed in oil painting... even blacks can be erased by white!)
It was a satisfying experience. I'd go back for the pencil sketches the next time I'm there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect Break in Busy Travels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had a wonderful time with Noina, learning so much even though I am an experienced artist. I spent 10 hours with her and wished I had more time to paint another painting. It was fun and very relaxed. Noina is very talented and allot of fun! Definitely something I recomend!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Most Unique Spot in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Noina is very low-key but caring and helpful. I am a complete beginner when it comes to art so I can't speak for those looking to do art at higher levels. Although I suspect even for them, Noina's little makeshift studio (also her home and guesthouse) might be a nice spot to relax for an afternoon and practice their crafts.

I am a part-time resident in Chiang Mai but drop by periodically to practice drawing and painting with Noina. I can't say that I am good, but I am definitely more confident than when I started and in my first day there I completed a nice still painting. I am now working on pencil drawing. If you want to learn to draw with charcoal, something I haven't tried, this is her favorite medium.

In a city full of artists, it is only fitting that tourists get a chance to do the same.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noina Art Studio also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Noina Art Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noina Art Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.