We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay elsewhere!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Romena Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Romena Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Romena Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Nuntaram Road,Haiya, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would stay elsewhere!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm glad we only stayed there for 3 nights. Bed was horrible, shower only hot once and the breakfast was poor. We went to have breakfast at 830 am and it was already packed up, even though it was meant to be on until 10am. On the plus side, staff were welcoming and hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The Rooms werd very clean.
The People who work there are not that Nice, en the breakfast is disgusting.
But for 900 bath You gave a big Nice room.
I think there are nicer hotels in Chiang Mai Than This One.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ideally situated just 10 minutes drive from the airport, just off the main road to the Old Town. Rooms very spacious – we had to have an additional bed put in the room for our son, but this was no problem and did not impinge on the room we had. TV, air conditioning and fridge. Only problem being the when the room key was not inserted into the power slot – the fridge went out and the drinks in the fridge heated up – never cold enough. The restaurant only offers breakfast not open in the evening – not a problem as all bars and restaurants are easily accessible. However, choice of breakfast was very limited – the same every day. Service from all the staff was excellent – always helpful and greeted with smiles. All requests were met promptly and nothing was ever too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Though the condition is acceptable as it is a new hotel, that doesn't give an excuse to the services provided particularly to the hotel personnel! I was so mad at how 2 of their personnel treated me like I'm staying in a prison!!!!.....that really tarnish the hotel image and most importantly as one of the Thai hotel that should always greeting serving with smile and softness!

One more thing: It would be better for this hotel not to be brand as a Muslim Hotel as Muslims people are excellently thought to be great full and nice to the guest. This hotel are not the one!

I would absolutely say "No" if you ever considering to stay at this hotel! The worst and unpleasent hotel I have ever stay in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel seems new, with spacious and clean rooms. It's in a convenient location. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I do agree with a previous post that the breakfast could be improved. The instant coffee was pretty bad. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't be happier with the location, cleanliness, value, staff, and services provided by them. I don't even think that most hotels in North America are this clean and the staff this polite. I m not sure exactly what the ppl w/ negative reviews based their scoring on but if I had to rate this hotel it would be a close 5 star hotel. I am in fact on my cell right now in the hotel room writing this, and I ve been To Bangkok's Asia Hotel, Phuket Towns Sino House (a beautiful must stay), Phi Phi Islands Phi Phi Hotel, and Chiang Mai s Parasol, and so far this beats them all in above attributes mentioned hands down. I ll be recommending this hotel to anyone!!!! If in doubt ask to see the rooms before hand. Your in the heart of all the action in the city, and because this treasure is somewhat hidden & easy to miss, its quiet from all the city noise. For $60 you cannot go wrong. PS go check out Mario's Italian dinner & steak just down the street and get any of their dishes. The bakery across the street Bannas bakery and get yourself the best croissants ever. Cheers!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilburton, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A nice Hotel. Clean and well kept. They include breakfast but it is a joke. They provide nice service but cater to Muslim more than anything. If that offends you stay away. The poor breakfast is the worst thing. Everything else was well cared for and nicely done.

Room Tip: Forget the breakfast. Rice soup, veg soup toast and eggs sunny side up and thats it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Romena Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romena Grand Hotel

Address: 2 Nuntaram Road,Haiya, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Romena Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ROMENA GRAND HOTEL CHIANG MAI is an 55 rooms hotel, halal restaurant located in the centre of Chiang Mai, nearby "Chiang Mai Saturday walking street." The design intention of the scheme was to combine a city location with the Arabic-style hotel, together with the integration of a contemporary. THE ROMENA GRAND HOTEL CHIANG MAI is the only one of city hotels in Chiang Mai that is an outstanding addition to providing customers of all nationalities. The hotel is also known for Muslim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Romena Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romena Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.