We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not miss this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours

Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours
67/2 Tepharuk Rd., Suntitam Plaza | Chang Phuek, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
53272023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 304 Activities in Chiang Mai
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“do not miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

truly a life changing experience, do not miss this place, it is extremely cheap for the experience you get. super small groups (only 6 people in ours). we could not have asked for a better day. thank you all so much

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    71
    13
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hsinchu. Taiwan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“AMAZING but not perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The day started out well with an on-time pick-up at our hotel. The ride would've been better if the movie shown hadn't been overdubbed in Thai with Thai subtitles. When we got to the camp we immediately met the elephants and got changed, we were all rearing to go and then we just sat around and he gave us the directions for the elephants, but it felt very by-the-way and not structured. Then we all got a turn to practice on an elephant, quite scary and exhilirating at the same time. After this we took a short stroll and then it was lunch time, which was nice. Then it was more waiting around, we'd all been finished for at least 20 minutes, and then it was off to the waterfall. A wonderful walk along a path in beautiful surroundings. We got to a pool under a small waterfall and bathed and brushed our gentle giants. Then it was back to the buses and on our way back. A word of warning to the person sitting at the back, your bum will hurt! Oh and bring water or some moneysince they only give one bottle of water per person. A hat is also a good idea. Thanks Jan and your amazing team of Mahouts!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marupe, Rigas, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent one day at the new place of Ran-Tong Elephant Training center and that was so nice and very relaxing although not so informative as I expected. The center is set in the very nice surroundings and ride to river and swimming with elephants are just amazing!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An experience that will stay with our family for a lifetime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The day our family spent with the staff and elephants at Ran-Tong was a spiritual experience. The entire day was like a dream and will not be forgotten. The time in the swimming hole with the elephants was magical. Thanks again Ran-Tong staff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A once in a life time experience, fun staff and excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Having looked at the company website/ photos and the reviews online I emailed to book a date. The experience was fantastic and a once in a life time. From speaking to other travellers about their experieces with similar companies, Rantong is less commercial and much better value for money. Just three elephants, so a nice group of six per day. The Elephabts are fantastic and seem well looked after and the staff positive, energetic and fun. They take photos throughout the day (its obviously hard to do so yourself) and then drop at your hotel reception later that same day on a CD. Only improvement for me- id have liked to have been educated a little more regarding the Elephants.. But any questions you asked we're answered in detail. A brilliant day out, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.