We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours

Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours
67/2 Tepharuk Rd., Suntitam Plaza | Chang Phuek, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
53272023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 335 Activities in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 612 Reviews
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Without doubt this was the best day of my trip to Thailand. You spend the entire day with these fabulous creatures without the noise and fumes of traffic and nobody trying to sell you souvenirs, just the peace and quiet of the beautiful forest.
The trip there on the truck is not comfortable but good fun once you get up to the forest, then the short trek on foot up to the camp is across uneven ground so you need to be steady on your feet and fairly fit.
Once there you spend a short time learning about the elephants and the commands you need to give them before going on your first trek, then it's back for a wonderful lunch whilst the elephants wander freely around you. We had bags of sugar cane and bananas to give the them as treats and there is even a cheeky baby there who gets spoilt.
The second trek takes you up further into the forest to the waterfall where you get into the water to wash the elephants (FANTASTIC) so old sensible footwear is advisable although clothing is provided. No need to take a camera as the Mahouts are taking pictures of you all day and they put them on a disc for you. I have over 500 pictures of my day.
This trip is approximately half the price of others and thankfully there are no elephants performing stupid tricks such as painting or playing football.
The elephants here look happy and healthy.
It's best to book online as I could not find this trip advertised anywhere in Chiang Mai.

You will get hot, sweaty, wet and dirty but I promise that you will have the time of your life.
Enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    79
    14
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous place and great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were happy to find this Elephant Training camp which is located at the top of a hill in the jungle and located further than the other elephant camps in the same area. It was not easy to get there but we enjoyed washing, riding, and feeding the elephants and ending the day at a waterfall. No need to bring a bathing suit since the waterfall has elephant dung in it. Bring toilet paper with you and you will be happy. Also bring lots of water and snacks because the lunch is great but you may get hungry. We brought our 6 and 8 year old and they both had a great time and were well taken care of.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Quite a long drive to the camp in a truck, but once you get there the views are amazing and an elephant greets you! Then you get taught elephant commands before getting on the big elephants. You get to go into the waterfall with the elephants which is a fantastic experience. All the staff are really nice and take photos for you which makes the experience better! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience but very sad...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Pros:
- It was so beautiful being in the rain forest with these animals. The other elephant camps we passed were located on flatland surrounded by few vegetation and no water source nearby.
- We got a chance to pick up food for the elephants on our way to the camp and feed them to the elephants.
- We had a good deal of time riding the elephants after they taught us how to give them commands. For the older elephants that have not learned the voice commands, you rode with a trained driver, which was what I ended up doing. It was still a great experience.
- Lunch was included and it was delicious and freshly made at the camp
- They provide you with clothes to wear because you WILL get dirty, wet, and elephant skin is NOT smooth.

CONS:
- Be prepared for a long, bumpy ride behind an open jeep to get to the camp. It was about 1hr from Chiang Mai.
- You do have to a hike a short distance to and from the camp from where the jeep drops you off, so be prepared to get a lil' muddy or dirty. Wear appropriate shoes.
- The experience of riding elephants is great but it is still a sad concept to think that they have been domesticated and are not running free. Both old and young elephants are all being "trained" to do what their trainers need them to do for us, the tourists.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was unsure about doing an elephant day and still am not sure if we made the correct choice. My husband did pantong two years ago and we could not get in, so it was a tough choice.

Yes we enjoyed the interactions with the elephants, but I am not convinced if the baby did belong to the Mother, nor the elephant with the injury sustanied it elsewhere.

I also saw a local man arrive with a tourist, pick up a stick (the hook they use) and pretend to hit the baby elephant and say 'you want some of this'!!!! Not funny.

The thing is, if we don't go what will happen to the elephants and to be frank, the people that look after them.

We as tourists must go, but also must question what happens, how it happens and that will put pressure on the camps to do the right thing. I am glad I went, but would not go back to any elephant camp again.

Also as a side, the photos on the disk were mainly blurred, so take plenty of your own photos. It is a beautiful area of the world and a lovely setting. What happens when the tourists are not around I can't say.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ran-Tong Elephant Training - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.