We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Guest House in Chiang Mai Old City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Coconut House

Thai Coconut House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thai Coconut House
Save
You added Thai Coconut House to your Saves list
2/3-4 Moonmuang soi 8 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 537 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Trincomalee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Guest House in Chiang Mai Old City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed on a recent visit to Chiang Mai. May the owner was very helpful and always there with a smile when I saw her. The rooms are small, but for the price charged they are actually more than adequate, costing less than some hostels and you get a private room and bathroom. The hotel is on the edge and inside the old city and only a few minutes walk from many differnet kinds of restaurants for all budgets and some varied nightlife.
The hotel also provide washing machiines for guests to do laundry very cheaply and organise tours and can rent bikes too. All you need for your stay in Chinag Mai at a very good price. I'll be back there when I am next in Chinag Mai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I tried few different guesthouses in Chiang Mai ,
for the price Coconut House is one of the best place,
Accommodations are very inexpensive and clean considering the budget.
Quite location, close to restaurants and shop.
Tea and coffee in the morning, chance to use kitchen.
The all place is run as family business, staff, is extremely accommodating.
overall i love it!!!
Definitely advice everybody to try for few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for about 10 days back in January and I found it to be very welcoming. It appears to be family run and everybody is very friendly. The rooms were always clean and done so by the nicest little Thai woman who also attended to laundry service. It is in a great location as well, in the old city part of Chiang Mai. Everything to do is within walking distance, but then again everything in Thailand is. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I booked two rooms for an overnight stay in Chiang Mai for 400 and 600 bhat - a standard queen room and a double with fan. When we arrived at the guesthouse we were given a 'queen' room which was much smaller than the photos on the website indicated, with no couch, smaller TV and a tiny bathroom. Shower was not separate from toilet as shown in pictures, and the entire bathroom was a cubicle off the main room (walls did not extend to ceiling) leaving no privacy. Light fittings were also a bit dodgy looking with lines strung up overhead (not fixed).

The 'double room with fan' turned out to be a single bed - but the staff were willing to change the room for a double bed when asked. We also had to request towels, toilet paper and soap as they weren't in the room. The rooms as well as the towels were not very clean either.

Staff were helpful and friendly but this did not make up for the poor state of the room and the considerable noise which kept us awake at night (staff watching TV, closing up roller shutters at night). Overall pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed at thai coconut as after failing to find our recommend hostel. I am travellling with my friend and have been backpacking for over 6 months so have had a share of guesthouses. Thai coconut was a refreshing change, we found the staff extremely helpful and made our stay very relaxed. The room was excellent value for money and we slept extremely well...after many busy places it was lovely to have a real chilled out place to stay. The location is great just off the main street near the markets and cheap food stalls which is great for us as we are on a small budget. All in all was excellent place for us to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Thai Coconut House is one of the nicest places I've stayed in my 6 months backpacking. The lady who runs the place is one of the loveliest people you can meet - warm, friendly and will do anything in her power to make your stay a comfortable one. By the time you leave you'll feel more like friends! The place itself is spotlessly clean, the rooms are perfect (and cheap) and the area by reception is great for chilling out with a book or using the free internet. There's also free breakfast and tea/coffee. If you're looking for a chilled place to relax, this is definitely the place to come. I'll definitely come back here if I come back to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

this place is...amazing! i dont normally write reviews, but i felt so strongly about this place that i should! so came into chaing mai looking for a hostel, and bumped into this one just off the main street. its pretty small and quiet, but the staff are UNBELIEVABLY friendly and the place was just so clean and nice! compared to the hostels recommended by lonely planets, this place was a million times better!

the rooms are ridiculously cheap, i stayed in a single room for 200baht and 250baht when sharing with someone else (125baht each). each morning we were greeted by the lovely staff who made us breakfast and went out there way to make this stay pleasant!

i booked all my trips through my hostel (school boy error you might think), but this is after going through all the TATs, local tourist places and after going on the trips, i found out i payed far far less than anyone else. even booking public transport, sao (the manager) would help and ring up different places such as local bus companies and got me a quote (which when i did further research found out she was absolutely true). so i knew she wasnt out to rip me off but t genuinely help.

overall, this place has been the best place ive stayed at by far, in terms of location, actual building itself, but mainly the staff, esp. sao who was just so lovely! when i arrived in chaing mai, i went round loads of hostels recommended by lonely planets and other random ones. definately pick this place if you're in chaing mai

Room Tip: Check out a range of places before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thai Coconut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Coconut House

Address: 2/3-4 Moonmuang soi 8 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 537 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Coconut House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.