We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Cottage Home Cookery School

Thai Cottage Home Cookery School
423 Moo3 T. San Sai Noi A. San Sai, Chiang Mai 50210, Thailand
0 52 002389
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 334 Activities in Chiang Mai
Type: Educational Sites, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small cookery school dedicated to ensuring visitors to beautiful Chiang Mai have a truly amazing experience learning about Thai traditional food, and the Thai food culture. We welcome all visitors at every level, whether a cooking novice or those who seek to build on existing abilities. Our highly experienced and patient teachers hope to pass on their skills and passion for Thai cuisine.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We surely recommend this place! They pick you up at your hotel, go with you to a local market and show you all the ingredients you are going to use (very helpful for us that didn't know most of the things they showed us). Then you go to their place and start cooking. Very easy, for every level. After that, you eat it or take it away if you're not more hungry. They speak really good English, easy to understand them, and they are really nice and helpful people. We love this funny experience (although my boyfriend wasn't convinced at first).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5 hour of experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

first we visit in the local market and learn about the special products and then we learn to cook 4 kind of dishes.
in the group was 4 couple from all over the world and also the time to be together was interesting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience cooking in an actual Thai home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a good Thai cooking class at short notice and we got really lucky finding the last 2 spots at this place. They sent a shared taxi to our hotel and dropped us back (price included in the fee). What we really enjoyed was going to an actual Thai home and learning a few basic Thai dishes there. They also had a trip to the local market nearby before the cooking to show and explain the ingredients.
The class was very well organized and by the end of it, we were amazed at what we could dish out! The only thing missing were beds to nap in after the sumptuous meal!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lucked out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Well I think I just chose a bad day to do it. There were only 3 of us, and it was a little awkward. The teacher was lovely and knew his stuff but he was also a little awkward... Food was great though. Overall I'm glad I did it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Happy with the Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

From the reviews, I wasn't hesitant on booking this place. They picked us up from our hotel. We had emailed back and forth. For 600 baht we did the evening 4 dishes course. It did run past 9:30 which felt very long. Other than that, the classes are taught really well. First, you visit the supermarket for a brief education on the ingredients that will be used. Then we were given 10 min to walk around on our own. Went back and made two dishes first (i picked cashew chicken/coconut soup). We enjoyed these dishes and then went back and made two more dishes (I picked spring rolls/green curry). Got a certificate and recipe book. My kids aged 10 and 12 really enjoyed the cooking experience as well. For the price, I would definately recommend it. Don't expect 5 star and you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cottage Home Cookery School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Thai Cottage Home Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Cottage Home Cookery School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.