We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diva Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Diva Guesthouse to your Saves list
Diva Guesthouse
84/13 Ratchapakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 537 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location central but quiet friendly and helpful staff good food and well run

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    62
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
87
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

By far the bets guesthouse we have every stayed in.

We arrived at the Diva guesthouse for 5 nights stay. We were given a very warm welcome and were offered the choice to stay in one of two rooms. After deciding what room we wanted we were given a thorough show around. The room was immaculately clean and we settled in straight away. We were told to return to check in at reception at our own convenience.

The only problem that we did have with the room was that the fan didn't swing. This made the first night slightly uncomfortable but as soon as we reported this in the morning a new fan was put into the room to make the future nights more pleasant.

The restaurant that they have on site is fantastic and produces some very good food at a very cheap cost. We can highly recommend their fruit shakes at only 20bht. They have a fantastic system where you record what you have and then just pay when your ready. This came really handy when we fancied some food or drinks but didn't have enough money on us.

They seem to be able to organise anything that you require. They help us organise a day trip to the Elephant Nature Park as well as a evening at professional Thai Boxing.

Steffen and his team are so friendly, honest, give the best advice and always seem to go out of their way to make your stay more relaxing. His wife owns a fantastic massage house just across the road.

We can recommend a stay at Diva Guesthouse to anyone visiting Chiang Mai. It was the perfect compliment to a perfect city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Diva and from the moment we arrived Jeab, Steffan and Sai made us feel at home and were very forthcoming with information about the local area and things to do, also handling all the bookings for excursions and the next leg of our trip (& unlike many so called tourist information places, we didn't feel for a moment they were ripping us off).
Rooms are basic (fan, no AC) but have own bathrooms and are clean for 350 baht / night. The fan was adequate though I imagine of you were here at a different time of year you might prefer AC. They very trustingly work on a credit system whereby you help yourself to drinks and snacks in the fridge in the lounge and record it in the book belonging to your room; you are then charged for everything on check out.
Staff are so attentive that it's easy to forget they run a guesthouse and are not your personal assistant! They remember your name and call you by it too which adds a personal touch. Would highly recommend Diva to anyone staying in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Everyone was so lovely that worked there, they were very helpful - reminding me when my visa was going go run out (I knew buy it was the thought) sorting my travel to loas and although I only stayed 2 nights .. They knew me on a first name basis and called me by it - brilliant customer service! Also - hot water - bonus!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a wonderful friendly hostel, right in the heart of old town.
It is very reasonably priced, well within any budget travellers allowance.
Diap the receptionist is simply fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble for her, her laugh is infectious and she absolutely makes the whole place!
The trips offered by the hostel are very fairly priced, and Diap is very honest with her reviews and recommendations.
I thoroughly advocate this hostel for anyone!

Room Tip: The cheapest option is the dorm, thoroughly acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Diva Guesthouse was recommended to us by another traveller, and we would happily do the same. Great location in the old town amidst the backpacker bustle, but not too noisy. Lovely vibe downstairs, serving good Western and Thai food. Rooms colourful, clean and well priced. Staff extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakse, Laos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed here in July 2011. We intended on staying in Chaing Mai for 4 days, ended staying for a week... Mainly because of how at home this guesthouse made us feel. The owners (Stefan & Sai) were absolutely amazing. They had no problem organizing tours/trips, etc. (Would highly recommend doing a day's class at Sammi's Organic Cooking School... Amazing food/atmosphere!).

The rooms in Diva were lovely... Well decorated, comfortable, clean, hot water showers, etc. Food in the restaurant was also really good. Generous portions, decent prices, great taste. TRY THE CROISSANTS... UNBELIEVABLE!!!

Area around the guesthouse is also very nice.... Easy to find your way around the city from here. No curfew or anything like that. Prices are pretty reasonable. All in all.... When we're back in Chaing Mai we will be going straight back to Diva!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diva Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diva Guesthouse

Address: 84/13 Ratchapakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 537 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Diva Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diva Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.