We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice-themed hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 9W Boutique Studio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 9W Boutique Studio to your Saves list
9W Boutique Studio
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   150 Charoenprated Rd. | T. Chang Klan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice-themed hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only about a few minutes walk to the Chiangmai Anusarn night market.
A three minutes walk to Chaimonkon temple where you can pray, take pictures, release birds for well-being or feed fishes along Mae Ping River. You could even travel on the river taxi/ferry for a short tour a la floating market in Bangkok.
This hotel is four-storeyed with rooms for different settings : Mandarin , Rock, Western , Thai, R&B, etc.
I have personally requested to try 2different rooms during my 4days stay here, namely the Thai & mandarin. The music in the room is also catered to the same theme.
If you're looking for an affordable, yet chic hotel, this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for different room each day, to try out the different themes !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night after trekking the mountains of Mae Wang. After staying in rustic huts for a few days this place felt like staying at the Four Seasons.

The bed was hard and there were some mosquitos that we had to kill before we went to sleep but everything else was great. It is in a good location on a quiet street. We walked to the night market and there is a great local Thai restaurant 50 yards down the street.

I would definitely recommend this place, especially since we paid less than $50 USD for the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Location - Awesome, about 10 mins walk to night market. Also about 5 mins walk away from a cooking school that offers classes in reasonable rate. The local food stall does some very authetic thai food (pad thai, thai fish ball noodles, curry etc) totally worth trying.

Staff - friendly, always smiling.
however not so helpful on direction, we asked how long it takes from hotel to gun shooting club, she said it would take an hour which in reality took 15 mins.
Note: reception desk closes at 10PM

Room - we had the upper studio and got assigned to the Beatles room.
Room is clean and bed is round and very very very hard.
For those who worries this hotel might be a love hotel as bed is round - i have observed and during my stay, everybody looks normal i.e. normal couples and some families.

Overall, it is a clean and convinent hotel to stay at an acceptable rate (around USD50 a night during chinese new year).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Review 9W Boutique Studio 5/10
Studio room no 9, non-smoking, from 2013-07-17 to 22nd, the Michael Jackson room, yes the rooms are themed.
This is a ok hotel, but somewhat overpriced.
The beds are a bit too hard. The rooms and hotel are clean. The staff is very helpful and polite, but they could use some English studies. There are some disturbances as the inner and outer walls and windows are thin. We especially enjoyed the “dogs howling at the moon concert” at 2 am, which happened twice. The shower has ok water pressure, but it varies between hot and cold. The AC in our room did a good job, but the rest of the hotel had outside temperature. Our in room security box was under-sized, unsecured and we were given a key to operate it, as it’s electronics seemed whacked! Under-sized closets, storage for clothing. The TV has mostly Thai channels, all with distorted reception.
The location is a bit off, not really close to anything, but the night market is within walking distance. The red taxi pick-ups are the cheapest way of getting around Chiang Mai and they go almost everywhere. Short trips are priced at 20 to 30 THB per person.
The internet/Wi-Fi is somewhat slow, measured to 3,75/0,34 Mbit/s by Bredbandskollen.se
The room themes are nice, but not having some other basics this hotel falls short.
We saw some of the other themed rooms when we asked if an upgrade would be possible. Unfortunately the hotel owner saw this as an opportunity to line his pockets, as the prices asked for an upgrade were double as advertised on the internet! Having lots of free rooms they could have upgraded us for free, but I guess they are struggling.
We didn’t have breakfast at the hotel, so I can’t comment.
There is a Jacuzzi in an open area with luke warm water. I guess you might want to bathe in mosquito oil, before jumping into it.
We will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at 9W and thought it was a very nice quirky little place. Every room is a different and has a musical theme. The receptionist showed us a few rooms (Michael Jackson, The Beatles, Classical) before we settled on.... Disco. As soon as you walk in, you see a disco ball hanging from the ceiling and 2 seconds later Staying Alive comes on the sound system. Made us chuckle every time we went into the room, at least for the first day.
If you are looking for a classy Thai style or Lanna style boutique hotel this is not for you. This is kind of a cheesy fun little place for people who have perhaps travelled to Thailand or Chiangmai many times and don't need to have that experience, but are rather looking for a place with good value in a good location that has a fun concept and doesn't take itself too seriously. The rates are really reasonable (I paid 1400 a night in May, with breakfast), and I do appreciate the effort they make on trying to make this place different from your average plain budget hotel that just looks the same.
All in all, I would recommend this if you are a frequent traveller on a budget and you are looking for a hotel that is young and fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The place is currently doing renovations we had to change rooms twice first cause we had no water then the next room had no electricity !
Finally we got a good room which was clean and met our expectations. No room service or any perks ...
It had a great location just a 10 minute walk from the main night bazaar.
For the money we spent i think it was fine ... But not wow !

Room Tip: Do not book airport transfer from hotel !!! Its just a 10 minute drive and they charged us 250 baht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The rooms in this hotel are themed around a mix CD with each room (track) being a different genre.

We stayed in the Rock star room, the amenities were all fine a weird buzzing woke us up once in the night but other than that everything was fine.

It is a 15 minute walk to the old walled part of the town but only 5 minutes from the night market so a good location if you don't mind wondering.

The staff are very friendly with good English.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9W Boutique Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9W Boutique Studio

Address: 150 Charoenprated Rd. | T. Chang Klan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 9W Boutique Studio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our decorative concept of the hotel is inspired from the 12 different musical styles, mingled with contemporary arts. We aim to create the new style of hotel rooms which brings music to drive happiness and inspiration in our valued guests. Each room represents different musical styles. The interior design and facilities were also prepared according to your selected musical style in order to give you the imagination joy, and happiness. The word "track" is used in the beginning of the room’s name 12 different musical styles present 12 different room themes include King of Rock’n’Roll , King of pop, Queen of pop, The Beatles style, Classical Music, Country Music, Rock, Disco, Chinese, Thai traditional music, Lanna music, Modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your 9W Boutique Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9w Boutique Studio Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9W Boutique Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.