We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai cooking experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai

Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai
84/377 Chotana Village | Chang Phueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
+66 85 546 9428
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our class exclusively bring you to find out the art of Thai cuisine. You will learn all techniques of authentic Thai food.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai cooking experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A very nice lady (Wawa) helped us learning to cook very nice Thai dishes!
First a stop at the local market where you get very usefull information about the ingredients you will use.
The place itself is very clean and spacious! About 10 different cooking stations.
The lady explains everything step by step with a little thai humor!
You get to choose 4 dishes that you will make yourself.
To make the curry paste is a bit of a workout but its a great experience and so much more rewarding when you get to eat your dish.
All the ingredients were prepared on clean plates so all we had to do was listen to her giving the information and chopping it all in pieces. Afterwards we all went to the cooking stations where we would prepare our food in wokpans.
While we were eating each course the staff was doing the dishes which was pretty nice.

Make sure you don't eat too much before because it is a lot of food to process!

Only one little remark: The curry dishes we made were a little to chunky. Before we always ate it as a more liquid substance. Could be a personal preferance though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great cooking class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had the half day cooking class. First we went to the market where we learned a lot of all the thai vegetables, fruit and spices. We had the time to walk around and buy things for ourselves and make pictures and after that we went to the cooking school. We had to make choices of what we wanted to make. So i learned and made the fried rice, green curry, coconut soup and the fresh springrolls. After each course we ate and tasted eachothers meals, wich was also a nice way of meeting more people. And of course was a nice way of finding out what else was good to make some day. We got a recipebook at the end with all the recipes and explanation of the herbs and spices.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great class--learned a lot! Vegetarians can do it, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a cooking class today with wawah. Definitely recommend it! Learned how to make 4 dishes (you choose) I am vegetarian and wawah had all the ingredients so I could make all the Thai dishes too! Delicious and not greasy. Learned a lot and will definitely make the dishes at home.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Regarding review of mr.Sebita M”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Below review does not reflect the truth. I been to this fantastic cooking course on summer of 2012 and all the instructors were utmost kind, caring and fun. I had one of my best moments of my life there, learning how to cook was just additional. For people considering taking this course please do not let this review mess your mind. It definitely worths every baht spent.

Hasancan Kamiloglu

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worst cooking class ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The only positives about this class are its attractive website and recipe book upon finish. The instructor is abrasive, dismissive when questioned, and her dishes heavy on the sugar, including the sweetest green curry I've ever tasted. Cooking site is filled with flies, which she dismisses as "tropical reality," making no effort to provide those inexpensive plastic covers to protect your ingrdients and finished plates. She is worst teacher encountered, not explaining dashes of this & that she pours into your wok, so you have no idea of what's happening. She dips her spoon into your developing dishes to "taste," going directly into her mouth as her saliva makes its way amongst all the student plates. She mixes the coconut cream with her fingers, then offers you your "finished dessert." Sanitation is basically non-existent here. I pondered writing this review for weeks before submitting it, finally deciding that other travelers out there are more entitled to know the truth rather than forgetting the miserable experience I had here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrientalCuisine, Manager at Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the review. Your review is a hoax. Our instructors are professionally trained chef and have depth experience, we always willingly answer all questions. Unless you didn't pay attention in the class. During the class ran, you always talked lots and also messed with classmates. This might make you lose concentration and attention in the class. All classmates were happy and enjoyed the class. We've had cooking experience nearly 10 years, we always realise the hygiene. Kitchen is definitely hygienic, visitors always enjoy coming here. We don't really know what's your peculiarity. You spitefully wrote the review. Anyway we're sorry that you didn't enjoy the class.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.