We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   54 / 3 Rajabhakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

What a little gem in the old town, we loved it! The minute we walked in we were impressed. We were lucky enough to have one of the rooms near the pool with its own terrace which was fabulous! the room was very nice, spacious and well equipped! The swimming pool is great!!! The location is great for the saturday and sunday walking streets, restaurants, bars, visiting temples etc! The breakfast was very good. With so many restaurants we only ate there a couple of other times but we had a delicious lunch and snacks from room service that were too! Staff were always pleasant and helpful! Would definately recommend this hotel !!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    64
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
102
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

we stayed 4 nights in this hotel, and really enjoyed the stay
we were 2 adults + 2 teens, and had requested one of 2 rooms with twin beds ; as no such room was available when we arrived, staff installed (for free) an extra bed in the room
the rooms are large, and spotlessly clean
breakfast is fine
staff is kind & helpful
the pool is a little small (and crooked) ; but it does provide (along with the surrounding garden) a quiet/relaxing place from the dazzling city
the location is great for sight seeing, eating,... in the old city
ps we do not undestand/share some very critical comments

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and I would not hesitate to recommend.

Our room had been recently refurbished, was very clean and had all you would expect of a quality hotel. It was spacious and while it had limited space for luggage (we had a few pieces..) it was as expected for a standard hotel room. Most importantly it rated very well against our key criteria: the bed was comfortable (although this is Thailand so expect it to be very hard), the shower was very good and the breakfast buffet offered extensive and always fresh food (their omelettes were excellent). The staff were all friendly and helpful. This is a boutique hotel and not a resort so the pool is not large. It was very clean and well cared for, although the water was cold and I expect you will not stay in long.
The hotel is in the best location! Walk out the front door and there are a wide range of massages, tour guides and cheap to moderate priced eating places immediately there. An easy walk or one of the many taxis will get you to many of the Wats and other major attractions in the city and the night bazaar.

A major plus for us was the hotel gardens. They were peaceful with a wide range of orchids and other plants that the hotel obviously cared for and cultivated. We would come into the hotel garden from the hustle and bustle of the Chiang Mai streets and immediately enter a different environment; it was serene, peaceful and very relaxing. We would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Chiang Mai and booked this hotel on the basis of good reviews.
Overall this was a great hotel with just a couple of minor niggles.There was no draw space for clothes so we had to live out of the suitcase.
Breakfast was slightly disappointing due to the lack of western choices.
The staff were friendly and efficient,the rooms were large and cleaned to,a high standard.
The location is perfect,close enough to,walk to both the night market and weekend walking street.
We,re planning to come back to Chiang Mai next year and would not hesitate to book here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very centrally located hotel, close to the Sunday Walking Street and the Thapae Gate. Our room was beautifully furnished. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet while sitting in the garden next to the pool. The hotel also has a huge lounge area with an eclectic choice of sofas. Staff was very accomadating and we enjoyed the resident cats!. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights and were overall pleased with our stay.

Pros:
Good size room
Comfy bed
Excellent room facilities I.e TV, tea, coffee, sofa etc
Great location- central to everything
Lovely staff, very happy to help you arrange excursions but did not give the hard sell.
The bedroom was made up everyday
Reasonable price for room service and transfer to airport
The pool is a lovely sun trap
Good variety at breakfast, Thai/ curries as well as cereal/ toast/ omelette/fruit/yoghurt etc
Free tea every evening delivered to your room at 7pm, a different tea each eve
Quiet at night

Cons:
The pool area was very small, only 5 sun loungers and some chairs therefore sometimes unable to sit at the pool
The pool towels were quite old, hard and a bobbly
The room maids often knocked the door and then entered before you had chance to get up to answer the door
From around 8am you would be woken up by the noise of the staff preparing/ clearing breakfast or other bedrooms.
Our room didn't have a balcony (executive double room)

Overall however our stay was worth the money we paid and were pleased with our booking! Would recommend to others!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife, our 18 month old son and I stayed here for 8 nights in November. This was out first time visiting Thailand / Chiang Mai. We planned our stay so that we were in Chiang Mai for Loy Krathong (lantern release at Mae Jo university) - which was excellent!

The hotel was very nice inside and out. The staff were OK and the service was fairly good.
The room was a little cramped for us (two adults, one toddler and three suitcases - the pram stayed outside)

The location of the hotel is very good. You can get a tuk-tuk easy enough to get around the city, and they're very cheap. Restaurants nearby are good.

Chiang Mai and northern Thailand in general, is beautiful. Will definitely be back in Chiang Mai.
When we visit again, we will stay else where. But that's no reflection on our stay at Kodchasri Thani.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Address: 54 / 3 Rajabhakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.