We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place with great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cool Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cool Guesthouse
Save
You added Cool Guesthouse to your Saves list
87 Sri Poom Rd - Sri Phum Changphuak Gate | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 503 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 131 Reviews
1 review
“A fabulous place with great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

The place is very cozy and eco friendly. The food is awesome and the staffs are really nice n helpful, especially the owners!
Its located in the old part of Chiangmai where its easy to get transportation. The guesthouse offers free bicycle for me to ride around town. Furthermore, theres a 7/11 close by and a live local jazzbar about two mins walk. I had a wonderful time, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolguesthouse, Owner at Cool Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thanks so much. It's always a pleasure to receive and pampers guests. Thanks to appreciate our green and eco friendly way, we really think we can help the planet offering free bicycle for example. We are also happy to see you enjoying our breakfast food.
You are all the time welcome back.
The cool team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    52
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
67
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Sadly we didn't stay here, but had breakfast every morning! Great food and reasonably priced. Service was speedy and efficient. You can also book your trips here its so easy and they are really lovely staff. We did Eddys Elephants and the half day cooking, so much fun and worth the baht! They also did our laundry overnight. Great service all round and I'd definitely recommend to anyone passing through!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolguesthouse, Owner at Cool Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It's always a pleasure to serve and give the best to our guest. Thank you to appreciate our breakfast, your day with Eddy Elephant Chiang Mai and the recommended cooking school. Hope you can come back and stay longer with us.
A big hello and thanks from all the Cool team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The room is clean but very dark. The shower is just above the lavatory seat... The staff is friendly but nobody can't be found in the morning and in evening when you really need the help. We booked trip and the driver forgot to pick us. We waked up early and waited - there were nobody to ask what's happen. Nobody asks for forgiveness after as well about the damaged touristic day.

There isn't tea or even hot water in the morning/evening in the guesthouse. The location is medium - minimum 20 minutes by feet to any live place in the evening. The breakfast was small and expensive.

Room Tip: Be careful with the degree exit the bathroom - I fell there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolguesthouse, Owner at Cool Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Boris K,
Thanks for your short visit at our guesthouse. Our team is always happy and ready to give the best service to our guests. We attach all the time a lot of importance to the guest review.
The room you have had upstairs have 4 windows all non obstructed and the one giving to the back is facing South and the three ones on the front are facing North and the garden patio. In 3 years and half nobody told us your room was dark. It's true also we are using blackout curtains allowing no light entering one time you close the curtains. There is also 7 points of electric light in each rooms plus one in the bathroom.
About the bathroom the water heater is on top side of the bawl in the bathroom. As we are in a old Thai traditional guesthouse our bathroom are Thai style. I repeat here again: we are not an hotel and if guests are looking for an hotel with its amenities and installation they must choose an hotel and not a family owned guesthouse where the owner is living in.
We do apologize (again, staff did it) on the name of the zipline attractions which driver didn't come to pickup you. We are proposing this company and 2 others ones, an another ones have our preference and have been advised to you but you choosed differently. We will discard this company and not work with them anymore.
Our staff when they do welcome procedure show on the map the first music bar which one is 40 meters on the left from our place and the big night spot is no more than 10 minutes walking from our place, not 20 minutes as you write.
Regarding our breakfast our tea brand is Dilmah well know for different fines teas and there are priced starting from 40 Thb. (1 euro, or 1,25 usd). Bags are individuals and already dosed.
By the way water heater have been checked and we didn't find any issue.
Water heater have a faucet named "volume" and a thermostat allowing to play with the water temperature.
We try all the time to offer the best service to our guests and are sorry if you experience was not what you was waiting for.
Best regards, Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had a very pleasant experience at Cool Guesthouse.

The place is beautiful and charming. The staff is very friendly and easy to communicate with, which I found very helpful as it was my first time in Chiang Mai and needed all sorts of information and help here and there.

My room was cosy, very clean and quiet at night which I really enjoyed. The Cafe downstairs also is quite convenient to have breakfast (good value).

Overall I think it's exactly what one would expect for this price, plus a charming atmosphere :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolguesthouse, Manager at Cool Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guillemette,

Thank you so much for your great review.

We appreciate you as a guest and wish to warm welcome you again.

Thanks again to notice the cleanliness of the rooms, the good value of our breakfast, the quiet of the place, and our good fair price tag overall on quality.

Hope you enjoy your trip in thailand, all the team say hello to you ! Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Cool Guesthouse is situated in an excellent location close to the North Gate of the city. It's near to several good markets (Thanin, Warorot and Chinatown), a great Jazz bar, and a few blocks from the Sunday Walking Street.

The rooms are cozy, have comfortable mattresses and a great ambience. The greenery and fishpond in front of the rooms give the sense that you are in an oasis.

Breakfast is French, but was a nice change from the Asian food I had been eating for the last half year. Great freshly squeezed juices and housemade yoghurt as well.

The owners, Nathalie and Xavier, are very hospitable people. They are a walking Wiki when it comes to Thailand - they know the best places to visit and can offer you advice and help you with planning a trip that not only you will enjoy, but benefit the locals too. So make sure to ask them and use their knowledge!

Cool Asia Travel - the travel agency associated with Cool Guesthouse - can offer you some great fair trade tourism packages/tours. I checked around before booking the elephant tour with Cool Asia Travel, but I am so glad I chose them in the end, since their tour seemed to be more personal and not geared towards mass tourism. Eddy Elephant Experience was an unforgettable and humble experience. I was in awe to be able to get so close and connect with the majestical elephants. This was different from what I read about on the internet. This was not like the tours overrun by hordes of tourists - this was a more intimate setting.

If you are looking for a peaceful base to explore the beauty Chiang Mai and its surroundings has to offer - than Cool is the place to be!

Room Tip: The topfloor rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable; the best was the open space at the entrance where you could have breakfast. The neighborhood (the North Gate) is quiet, and there are lots of places to have dinner in the area and also 7-eleven . The only bad thing that I can say is that although they say they can speak Spanish we couldn't do it (and it should have been very helpful when we booked, also with them, our trips and activities in its tourism office, which shares part of the guesthouse).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My review is very positive so here is some context in order to attest what I'm saying : I'm currently living in Thailand and I've been travelling across the country a lot. I stayed in expensive hotels as well as very cheap guesthouses. I stayed with my parents for a couple of nights in january 2013.


This is with no doubt the best value you can ever get in Thailand in this price range; I mean it.


We truly appreciated our stay there thanks to Xavier (the owner) and its staff who helped us greatly to organize our day activities. Not only he provided us some insights of what to do or see but he'll also arranged most of our trips. Everything went great as he really knew what he was talking about and recommended us very accurately the best places or activities that will suit our desires.

To sum up I would say that the service at Cool Guest House was amazing. I also have to mentionned that rooms are very nicely furnitured. Facilities such as bathroom, TV and wifi works great. Laundry was fast, breakfast good and the house itself is also nice with its woodens balconies.

I higly recommend that you stay there when you'll go to Chian Mai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cool Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cool Guesthouse

Address: 87 Sri Poom Rd - Sri Phum Changphuak Gate | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool Guesthouse is located in the exact middle of Chiang Mai, inside the moat of the old city at Chang pueak gate a 15 minutes drive from the airport, train or bus station. 10 minutes walking from Sunday Walking street, few minutes walking from the main temples. Recently re-decorated and improved (sound proofed double windows), we offer 7 rooms all nicely decorated with both air con and fan, 32 inches LCD TV with internet, webcam and skype build in, 60 international channel. Hot water, safe box, hair dryer, daily free bottle drinking water, daily cleaning, laundry service. Breakfast in a French style. Free bicycle and tandem use. Nathalie and Xavier will welcome you and advise for all your trip and transportation around Chiang Mai and Thailand. We are speaking English, French, Spanish and Thai. We are also recommended by "Le guide du routard 2012&2013" as "a coup de coeur". Our team and us will be happy to welcome and serve you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cool Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cool Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.