We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
69/5 Kotchasarn Road. T. Changklan | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
+66 83 762 6065
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,244 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: French traditionnal cuisine in a Bistro's decor. French Chef and exclusively fresh products. Jazz music atmosphere
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent French dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were hankering for some good European fare and literally stumbled upon this restaurant by accident. We chose to dine outside in their small court yard. You could easily miss this place as it is tucked away in a small soi but does have good signage on the Main Street.

Service by staff was excellent and attentive but without being obtrusive or conceited (as often experienced when dining in Paris!!). We were surrounded mainly by French diners which certainly gave us confidence that we were in a well regarded French restaurant.

We had the liver pâté on home made bread as a starter - it tasted delicious. I had the beef tartar for my main - the meat was to a very high standard and it had an excellent taste. My husband had the beef filet with the Chef's choice herb butter. The meat was beautiful quality - cooked as requested, was extremely tender and tasted excellent!

At the end of our meal, we were served petit four along with a glass of cognac - with the compliments of the chef. We really appreciated this nice finishing touch to a fantastic meal.

We highly recommend this restaurant to any one who enjoys fine food, and excellent service - all at a very reasonable price.

We will without doubt return to this restaurant when we next visit CM.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    77
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The table d'hote menu was a good price, but we did not fancy it. Wine was reasonable but not the greatest, and the service was very good, they seem to have taken on a couple more waiters. I love the dauphoise/lyonnaise potatoes and the portions were good. Prices are slightly above average but good value for French restaurant

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Food n Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had duck with apple sauce and red wine... It's great taste.
The resto decoration is interesting, the wine seal wall setting is a great work. It's not yet cover all the wall but they keep collecting..
It was high recommended by my boyfriend since he was there with his best friend before and I enjoy the food. I also like the rest room with the pictures of the chef and family and occasions held at resto. We came again at the next day, but too bad it was close...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“So good we went three times in one week!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a quaint little French restaurant just off a main road that has a number of bars, restaurants and shops. We initially tried to get a reservation for New Year's Eve but due to a communication mix-up with our hotel we thought there were no tables available so we went to La Terrasse the night before NYE. In a somewhat comical twist, after returning to the hotel from our delicious meal, we were informed we had secured a reservation for NYE. The meal had been so delicious that we decided it wasn't a bad thing to eat there two nights in a row! We also returned on our final night in Chiang Mai.

There is an extensive wine list but we just had the house red, which was very drinkable. If you order a perrier they squeeze a lime around the inside of the glass, which is a touch I loved. It takes some time to get your food (we found this to be common in Chiang Mai and loved the slower pace) so you plenty of time to relax and enjoy the wine. This also means you have some time to digest your starter before your main arrives.

I tried the onion soup and the roasted tomato soup, both of which were excellent and enormous. We also had the duck, the beouf bourgingon, steak (twice), pasta and the apple pie with calvados. Everything was excellent and portions were on the large side.

They also have delicious chocolates and little pastries that they hand out along with your check. A yummy way to end the meal!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“one of the best French meals I have had - anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

hidden just off of the main road is this little gem of a restaurant. Classic French fare but done to a very high standard. Having just been in Paris where I couldn't afford to eat at restaurants of similar quality due to the exhorbitant costs, I can truly say this is the best French food I have eaten anywhere for the best price!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.