We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is nice hotel, open only 2 years, new, modern, friendly, great location, yet, the breakfast is not that good,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added De Chai The Colonial Hotel to your Saves list
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“this is nice hotel, open only 2 years, new, modern, friendly, great location, yet, the breakfast is not that good,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

this is nice hotel, only open for 2 years, friendly staff, great location, yet, the breakfast is not that good..this hotel request 7 days in advance for any changes and cancellation which is quite long compare with others.

i booked taxi from hotel to airport, but the taxi were late for 10 mintus, the hotel staff arranged their own car (a jeep) send me to the airport, with same charge 150... very nice.

thanks
..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    132
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
175
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is modern and very nice, with an excellent, large room and bathroom, good bed and easily operated controls for A/C, lights, etc. Staff is friendly and helpful. Its location is very convenient - easy walking distance to Old City attractions, Night Market and many restaurants. Breakfast buffet is good, and additional items such as omelets, hash browns and waffles, can be ordered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Ontario
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights in January, and were not disappointed in any way. We like to stay in smaller properties, and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. The staff were very polite and helpful throughout our stay. The room was lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed, and a sitting area in the room. We unfortunately did not have much of a view from our room, but as we were really only there to sleep, it was a moot point.

We found the included breakfast to be quite adequate and well prepared. There is a small buffet with a selection of western and Thai dishes, as well as the option of having a breakfast cooked to order, which was always well prepared when we tried it. The coffee was fabulous and there was never a problem in asking for a second cup. I am surprised by some previous Trip Advisor comments that seem to complain about the diningroom being very small. To be sure, it is not a large room, but we never had a problem getting a table, and there was also the option to eat outside where there were a few tables set up as well.

We did sit by the pool on two occasions and this would be my only complaint, albeit a small one. It is in a very small space and well shaded, so there seemed to be no opportunity to sit in the sun while there and the water in the pool was absolutely frigid (perhaps because it is under a roof and never exposed to the sun). However, hanging around the pool was not the focus of our stay in Chiang Mai and this really did not put us off.

The location of De Chai was fabulous. It is located on a very quiet street but within very easy walking distance of the old city, and most other areas of the city. We walked endless miles but there was always a tuk-tuk handy when one's feet couldn't walk another step and they always knew exactly where the hotel was and are a very inexpensive way to get around. There are many wonderful restaurants, all within walking distance of the hotel, as well. We also had laundry done one day at Rose Laundry - just steps from the hotel. We dropped it off at 9:30 a.m., picked it up at 5:30, and it was beautifully laundered, folded and very, very inexpensive.

We did not choose to take an organized tour while in Chiang Mai but did want to visit Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep and the front desk staff were very helpful in recommending that we book a taxi for a few hours to take us around and then called and arranged one for us. We thoroughly enjoyed this outing where we were on our own schedule and seeing just exactly what we wanted to see.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again should we find ourselves back in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here in January 2012, but didn't have time to review it until now. I absolutely loved this place. The room is really spacious and comfortable. It has nice tall ceiling, great lighting, and very tasteful and modern decor. The whole hotel looked really new. All staff in the hotel were really friendly and helpful. We needed our laundry done, and there is a laundry place just 1 minute walk outside the hotel. The lady there did our laundry and it was ready within a couple of hours. I really loved this place. The only negative I can think of is that air night when it was so quiet, I could hear a bit of air-con noise, but it wasn't bad at all.

If I go back to Chiang Mai again, this will definitely be the place where I'm staying!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel in itself is nice with a clean room and bathroom and the location is great as well, just off a big road and yet very quiet. The only thing that disappointed us was the breakfast, it's not exactly a rich buffet, although it does offer a little more than the bare essentials. If you want you can get eggs, French toast, a waffle or pancake, but you can tell the cook isn't really used to making these.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The positives: walkable distance to the night market and to Thaepae Gate of the Old City; the quality matress was very comfortable; the temperature ( AC) was truly controllable from your own room; having a shower and a tub. The negatives were: lots of mosquitoes in the room when we arrived; the design of the bed with the wooden ledge all around made it hard NOT to bruise your shins on it; the breakfast room is very small. This hotel is more of a boutique hotel where you have more personalized service. Breakfast was simple, selection was small, but everything was fresh and delicious, and eggs were made and cooked to perfection. We would recommend this hotel if you want this location, but next time we would like to try staying right inside the Old City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We got a recommendation from our friends and were glad we stayed in this hotel. It's a tastefully designed in a historical style, yet very modern in every aspect, it's very clean, located on a quiet street in a central area. The hotel is not so big so there's a tranquil atmosphere. The staff is very helpful and courteous. Their breakfast is tasty. The only downside - the swimming pool was very small and seen from the entrance, so it felt less comfortable than we expected.
It's an excellent place to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Chai The Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Address: 6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Chai The Colonial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Chiang Mai city on the most popular Thapae Road, the city’s main thoroughfare display many of unique and urban shop that had been flourishing along the classic one-way road. Just ten minutes by walk away is fantastic shopping venues Chaing Mai Night Bazaar as well as charming Sunday walking street, or stroll to antique Lanna Temple and the 100 Years market "Kad Luang", you can find everything you need at here! Furthermore, only a five to ten minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your De Chai The Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Chai The Colonial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.