We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Rim Resort to your Saves list
The Rim Resort
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 415 Reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top notch boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We are currently staying here for 5 nights. Service fantastic. You are somebody here,not just another numbered guest. Rooms are large, balconies large too. We stayed in a deluxe room overlooking pool 2 children and 2 adults. Plenty of space for all. Rooms around pool area is definitely the nicest area for us as its the heart of the hotel. There is a bar and lounge area overlooking pool. Nice drink specials that change. Today buy two gin&tonic get third free for 158baht! Restaurant serves nice buffet breakfast that has Asian food and Western food selections. Coffee there is seriously good. You can have in-room Thai massage for one hour for 580baht but I had mine next to the pool. Very nice. It is cheaper outside hotel but its nice just lying close to your room. There is a good Korean BBQ to the left of the hotel. We had a buffet of pork,seafood,beef,vegetables,cupcakes,ice cream, noodles and a large bottle of coke for four people and paid only 400 baht. On the right of the hotel is a school for blind that gives massages too. Next to the school is a nail salon. You can rent a bicycle for 50 baht a day at hotel. Very nice. My kids enjoyed it. Definitely a great choice location wise too. Everything is a tuk-tuk ride of 5 minutes away. Trust me you don't want to stay in Night bazaar area. Loads of drunks there and some streets smell like vomit there. This hotel is in leafy clean side of town but very close to everything. Laundry shop opposite the street. They charge per kilo 50 baht,so you can have your clothes laundered there too which helps when you have children. Noticed resort is very popular. With Australians,upper class Chinese guests and gay couples. Great for families too. Staff very attentive and loving towards them.

Room Tip: Deluxe for 2child and 2adult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    122
    26
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
193
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel was amazing. We were there a week and we had a really good time. The staff is very helpful and the location of the hotel is perfect. The rooms were clean and big and they were really comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant two times and we were really happy. The food and the service was good. It is really close to the airport and you can walk to all the main attractions.
We took a massage in the Spa. We took a thai massage and we knew it was going to hurt, but we didn't think it will be that much...

Room Tip: The ones with view to the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. In front of a main road, so easy to catch a taxi. And it is only about 10 minutes from the airport. They also offer, as others have mentioned, a free ride to the Night Market (recommended). Our room was huge, and faced the pool. The pool area is very pretty (the pool itself is a little too cold for me) We had drinks by the pool both nights, a great way to relax after sightseeing all day. Breakfast was good, there were a lot of options to pick from. Our son had food from the Canal restaurant, he said it was excellent---and others commented to us that the food in the restaurant was very good. When returning to Chiang Mai, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location, amazing food, and nice bed! Rooms are very well done. We got upgraded to a pool view. The pool is small but the hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept. We ate a lunch and dinner there and the food was a great price and very good! Overall we loved this hotel. We switched hotels just to try another one and didn't like it near as much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great airport pick up ( very nearby), charming small hotel with pool and nice characterful rooms with balconies. Food was also nice and cocktails/wine enjoyable. Free ride into evening market was a bonus and large mall nearby by taxi. Loved breakfast and there was a small gym on site too. Lots of mosquitos but they provide coils, sprays so wasn't a big problem if you used repellant

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in September 2013. The room was gorgeous, the staff were amazing, the service was excellent. We ate in the Canal restaurant one night with our accommodation package. The food was absolutely beautiful - all of it. We had the Thai menu - 3 courses and a lovely bottle of local white wine. If you are game, try the little "pop up" outdoor restaurant about 10 mins walk away. From the front of the hotel driveway, go left for around 10 mins, this restaurant is only there after around 4.30 pm in the afternoon, before that, it is just a bare patch of bitumen. The food was outstanding, two main meals and a bottle of water for 80 THB!! If you get the chance, we highly recommend doing a day trip to the Elephant Nature Park. Chiang Mai, The Rim Resort, The night markets and the Elephant Nature park was definitely the highlight of our trip toThailand. Loved it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've been to Chiang Mai many times and this has been my favourite hotel so far. The location is good (ten minutes walking distance to most places in the old city). Don't let the noisy traffic outside deter you cause if you take a room overlooking the pool it's very, very quiet. Very friendly and professional staff. I love the Lanna touches in the hotel. Breakfast good. The only thing that would be nice is if they would have more tables outside for breakfast: the tables near the pool would be great for this! Spacious room with nice bathroom and great balcony overlooking the pool. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rim Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.