We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours

Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours
147/1 Rachadamnoen Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
+66 53 814 174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 333 Activities in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Baanchang Elephant Park: Is dedicated to providing elephants with the highest quality-of-life possible.Our elephant park run by 100 % Thai Owner. Our Park completely owned and rescued 39 Elephants. The program will provide you the wonderful introductions to the lifestyle of Thai elephants including all details involved about them, also you can learn how to control and bath the elephants as if you are a Mahout. By the way, you will be able to ride elephants bareback through the hills around in our park area.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Chiang Mai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Such a unique experience and a must do if you are visiting Chiang Mai. Our guide was friendly and informative. The well being of the elephants is the top priority and they looked happy! Cant recommend this park enough.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    118
    28
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this enough! Definitely the highlight of our trip so far. Importantly this is also a responsible, sustainable park where the welfare of the elephants is paramount. Educational, simply terrific fun and also very good value for money. The day begins with hotel pick up in an A/C minibus. The park is about 45 minutes out of Chiangmai. The guide was very knowledgable, friendly and passionate about the welfare of the elephants. As the morning went on we fed the elephants bananas and sugarcain (as well as getting hickies from a particularly friendly baby one). We then learnt basic commands and got familiar with handling and riding them. Lunch was tasty and plentiful. The elephants are very patient throughout. We then went on a ride through the jungle and gave them a bath and scrub. Overall a wonderful day with these majestic creatures. Guide and mahouts great too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Without a doubt the best day of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Baanchang was recommended by our guesthouse and we were very conscious that we wanted to visit somewhere that treated the elephants with the level of respect they deserve. We found the right place.
We were collected from our guest house and taken to the park were we got changed and started to feed the elephants. The elephants were all healthy and clearly very well looked after. All of the manhoots knew their elephants very well and obviously cared for them. Our tour leader was very honest about the stories surrounding elephant care which was refreshing.
We learnt commands for the elephants before walking them through the jungle towards the lake where we washed and played with them.
A great day for couples and family's, lunch and showers available after the experience.
There are so many elephants experiences that do not offer the level of care that baanchang do so I would encourage guests to research this properly.
The gentle giants at baanchang were beautiful, we will never forget our day with these incredible creatures. Thank you Baanchang we will never forget you.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gentle giants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A wonderful experience to get up close with so many elephants. Then to trek on the back of such a gentle giant...Must do experience. Lunch provided as part of cost, plenty to eat and drink. Rated as our top experience while visiting Vietnam, Thailand.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing day with well treated elephants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

During our 6 days in Chiang Mai we wanted to visit an elephant experience, but with the criteria that the elephants must be cared for very well. As animal lovers we did hours of research before choosing our experience and we finally booked with Baanchang elephant park. We were not disappointed. After being picked up from our hotel in a a/c van we drove about an hour to the park. The one day experience consisted of feeding the animals in the morning (Bananas and Sugar Cane) and then spending some time getting to know the elephants learning how to ride them and hearing a bit more about each elephant and how they came to the park. We then stopped for lunch which was also of good quality. In the afternoon we rode the elephants to a small lake where we would wash our elephant 'Genika'. This was the best experience for me. To see the elephant run into the water and enjoy it so much as we washed her it was an experience neither of us shall forget and one worth the 2400baht pp alone. Another couple of points worth mentioning are that it is clear to see the mahouts (elephant guides) greatly care for thier elephants and each had a bond with them. Also our guide Tom was very good and took any questions we had. He also took a lot of photos on his camera and posted them on the parks facebook page. We were originally sceptical as this experience is a lot cheaper than the top rated park on trip advisor but this is an experience we thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.