We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finlay's Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Finlay's Cottage to your Saves list
Finlay's Cottage
4/1 Soi 4/A Thae Phae Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We really liked Finlays - clean room, clean communal bathrooms, nice communal area outside where we met other travelers, delicious breakfast and amazingly lovely staff who helped us book tours with a discount and transport and were also great to chat to. Only downside was the uncomfortable mattress (although only one of us thought it was uncomfortable!). Would definitely stay again though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
50
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I considered only giving four stars, based on the firmness of the bed, which definitely decreased overall sleep quality. However, they were such nice people, out is such a great location, and the included breakfast was fantastic. They even took me to an optometrist when my glasses broke in half, and I was able to have the frames replaced at a reasonable price. The garden is also really pretty, and Keith gave us some good restaurant recommendations. Try out the khao soi at Arun Rai!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We loved staying at Finlays Cottage. The people are so nice and helpful in both booking tours and also giving suggestions on places to eat/ how to get around. We were really pleased that we waited to book our tours through Finlays as they gave us a 10% discount which I know was not offered to other people who booked through their hostels. Finally, it was an added bonus that breakfast was included and might I add that it was delicious!

On a side note: we planned to stay at Finlays Cottage for 3 nights, however decided last minute to stay for a 4th night and they were more than accommodating. Although we had to switch rooms, they helped us gather all of our things to move upstairs and made the move painless.

The one downside is that the beds were a bit firm, but I was willing to make this sacrifice for the lovely service that we were offered by the staff at Finlays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Myself and my fiancé have been on an eight month trip and this guesthouse has been one of the best places we've stayed in, and we have stayed in many many guesthouse and hostels!
We had a lovely spacious double room with air con. The staff kept the whole place exceptionally clean including the shared bathrooms. We were most impressed with the eggs and bacon on toast and musli, fruit and yoghurt for breakfast which was fantastic!
The owner and manager were really friendly and helpful and gave us a vitamin drink when we felt a little under the weather. So helpful and nice.
The cottage is located on a lovely quiet back street away from noise and just outside the old town but 5 mins walking distance. 10 mins walking distance to the night bazaar. Overall the location to explore Chiang Mai city was perfect.
We stayed at the end of May beginning of June (low season) and paid 500 baht per night including breakfast, a great price for the location and room quality. We would highly recommend anyone who is travelling/backpacking who likes private rooms to go to this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Choose one of the new purpose built rooms on the ground floor, they are nearer the shared bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am here for 6 nights and so glad about it. This place is simple, but everything is done just right for a non-fancy place. The shared bathroom is actually really really nice, the bedroom is quiet and clean and comfortable (has A/C), the internet is good and in the rooms as well as the common area, and the owners are like staying with laid-back friends of your parents. They help you out with the tours and make sure you are all right, but otherwise leave you to it. On the tour-helping - definitely ask them to call for you as it is to your benefit in more ways than one. When there was a mix-up and my tour didn't pick me up, the owner noticed and called for me without my even asking for help. Amazing. What else? Breakfast is included and fresh-made: eggs, really good homemade bread, and bacon, or museli. And mango. The location is good too, near the center but still in a quiet spot. What a great find!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked here because of the great reviews and they were not far wrong. Nicely located in a cozy corner of the old town, it is in the centre of everything but far enough away from the noisy main streets. The owners are awesome. So helpful and layed back . At breakfast " Real Bacon". Had'nt had it in so long . Thanks and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalang District, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Amazing little setting situated in the old town of Chiang mai, which means your in walking distance of everywer but the cottage itself is down a lovely little lane away from all the noise. The owners are the best! You get a freshly cooked breakfast whenever you want it, ratti is always around to help and too talk to, she booked trips for us, arranged drivers for day trips, she even got up at 530 AM to help us get a tuk-tuk to the airport! Its a hostel but they make it feel like your staying with old Family friends! Made the trip to Chiang mai all the better!

Room Tip: We had downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finlay's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay's Cottage

Address: 4/1 Soi 4/A Thae Phae Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay's Cottage is an original Thai wooden house and is a perfect base to explore Chiang Mai. Centrally located near Tha Phae Gate in the heart of the city, all the major temples and historical sights are within easy walking distance. The Walking Street market is 5 minutes away, the Night Market 15 minutes walk away. Free breakfast and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Finlay's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finlay's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.