We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaberry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Peaberry to your Saves list
The Peaberry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11/1 Arak Rd. | Sripoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The manger is the best part about this hotel he is very friendly and more then happy to assist you with anything. Rooms are nice and have everything you need and the breakfast included is really nice unlike other hotels we have stayed in the past. Highly recommend this hidden gem. Thanks to him and his lovely staff for a pleasant stay

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishore L, Manager at The Peaberry, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks a lot for your super review.I will pass on the compliments to my staff. They will be happy to hear that. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Kishore, the owner / manager of Peaberry is a dynamo and the driving force behind this pleasant guest house. He responds to every guest request promptly and tenaciously. This is what sets Peaberry apart from the host of other guest houses here. Kishore and the rest of the daytime staff have unusually good English. Things drop off sharply at night.

Value is the seccond point. Aggressive pricing is designed for full occupancy.

Location is mixed, depending on what you are trying to do. It is on the NW corner of the Old City making it convenient for westerly sights such as Soi Duthep. Also upmarket shopping just across the moat. The Night Market is some ways away and not walkable.

Beyond that, anything I say will be somewhat irrelevant, since the property is closing on 5/31 for almost 2 months of remodeling. Esixting bath fixtures are new and modern.

Room Tip: I recommend the top floor. If you want a view of streets and city moat, the trade off is noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed staying here. Very cool funky hotel. The staff were amazing. A bit of street noise. Nut I think i they are having a renovation done soon to help with this! Free bicycles was great because you need to travel a bit to get most of the sites. But getting a taxi/red pick-up is no hassle. RECOMMENDED ;)

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the road if possible, we had one near the road but was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishore L, Manager at The Peaberry, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for your excellent review. Sorry about the slight traffic noise. That is going to be taken care of in June/July after the renovation. All the front rooms windows and doors will be double isolated. We are glad that you enjoyed our free bicycles and found our staff friendly. I will pass on the compliments to my team . It means a lot to them. Once more thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Chaing mai has the nicest people i've ever met & the staff at the peaberry were no exception. Their breakfast is small but it includes a really yummy rice dish & strong coffee. We stayed in the basic room & it was clean.They do have a european style bath which I had to get use too but it was well pressured. If you stay during a sunday, it's just a ten minute walk from this huge night market. Other than than, there wasn't a ton of places that were walking distance. They have free bikes & if you stay within the old city you can get around them in smaller less chaotic streets(super fun). The staff was also helpful in giving us an idea of what a tuk tuk should cost & how to use the red buses(which were a great deal).
My only con was strangely the bed frame, the bottom of it was a couple of inches larger than the mattress. I literally dinged my shin within a minute of entering the room & it became a huge bruise. It's a small room so even my husband who is not clumsy at all, got a matching bruise by the end of our 3 night stay. On a positive note, the mattress was comfy.
Overall, I would stay here again. The hotel & service makes you forget what a crazy deal you're getting & it outweighed the bruise.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishore L, Manager at The Peaberry, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Priscilla for taking your time to write this great review about our hotel. We are glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our staff very friendly and we will pass on the compliments to them. It means a lot to them.

We are sorry to hear about your bruises from the bed frame. This issue will be fixed very soon. We are renovating the whole hotel in the month of June. Your precise input over here is very important. Once more thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015 via mobile

Clean room
not to far away from things.
Transportation definetly needed.
Breakfast good.
Service so so... english below average
AC not working properly unbearably hot in the room. After telling the receptio nothing was done.
TV not showing programs. Again did not get fixed.
But after all cheap. So 3 stars ok. Would come again

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishore L, Manager at The Peaberry, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking your precious time and writing this review about our hotel. We are glad that you found our rooms clean and enjoyed our breakfast. . We are sorry to that the air-conditioning and the TV in your room was not working and the fact that no action was taken. I will further instructs my staff to really take this matter very seriously next time. I am glad to hear that you will come and stay with us again in the future. We are going to totally renovate the hotel in the months of June and July. Your comments are very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

The hotel was very good. We arrived before check in (1.5 hours) and we were allowed into our room. Rooms are spacious and have very nice furniture. Breakfast was very good, it had fruit, cereal, eggs, toast, tea, coffee, juice and rice (or noodles). You get 2 completely bottles of water per day. Staff was VERY friendly starting with the kitchen staff, front desk and management (manager and owner). Did not rate it a 5 because the room (walls and mats) and the bathroom had some issues (not very clean). The security box was not fixed to the wall...no security at all. Would recommend this hotel with my eyes shut.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishore L, Manager at The Peaberry, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Thanks for taking your precious time to write this nice review about us. I am glad that you found our staff and the management very friendly. And enjoyed our breakfast. Thanks for pointing out about the cleanliness of the room. I will bring that to my house keeping staff attention. I am sorry that you did not feel secured during your stay with us. Chiangmai is a very safe place. We are going to close the hotel for the months of June and July to renovate the whole hotel and make a coffee shop in the lobby area. Once more thanks for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We only stayed in the Peaberry for 1 night, but it was beautiful. The room was lovely and clean, and the breakfast was very good. The hotel was also very close to lots of attractions, and it was easy to find our way around the inner city from here.

We were concerned about it being loud at night, but traffic quieted down very early and we didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishore L, General Manager at The Peaberry, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Dear Jasmine- Thanks for taking your precious time to write such a positive review about our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed staying with us and our breakfast. It means a lot to us . I am also happy to hear that the traffic noise did not disturb your sleep. We look forward to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Peaberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaberry

Address: 11/1 Arak Rd. | Sripoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaberry 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located around Chiang Mai's moat, The Peaberry is a small boutique hotel offering air-conditioned rooms designed in traditional Thai Lanna style. Featuring free WiFi, guests enjoy free use of bicycles to explore the surrounding. Rooms are equipped with a mini fridge, a TV and an electric kettle. The en suite bathroom features a hairdryer, free toiletries and a bathtub or shower. It is within walking distance of the Old City district, the Sunday Walking Street and Kad San Kaew Shopping Centre. Other tourist attractions such as various temples are also nearby. The Peaberry Hotel is a 10-minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. Guests can contact staff at the front desk who can provide further information about excursions, laundry services and an airport shuttle. The property offers free public parking at a location nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Peaberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.