We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel. Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaberry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Peaberry to your Saves list
The Peaberry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11/1 Arak Rd. | Sripoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 334 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great little hotel. Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I are staying here for 2 nights. We got a warm welcome when we arrived at 7 this morning. Our room naturally was not ready at this time so we were told to help ourself to the breakfast and relax. There are free bikes in the hotel that u can take to explore the city. The rolms are very clean and the bed comfortable. Beautiful big bathroom, only downside is the fact that the shower needs to be handheld. Would prefer it set into the wall. Love the decor and layout of the hotel. Hotel is on the pick up routes of all the tours/activities we are doing. The breakfast was lovely. Staff very helpful and kind. Great hotel. Would without question come back and recommend it to friends.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great welcome upon arrival. Put us in the room at the back as we had requested. The manager, an Indian gentleman was more than helpful as well as the evening staff. The room was nice and large with tons of space( not a five star room but above average and well decorated) . The breakfast was more than enough and the kitchen staff bend over backwards to make you what you like. They are located just a 15 min walk to the Centre cross roads of old city but they give out nice bikes for free for the day or evening. Great place to stay and they deserve the high rating on trip advisor.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Peaberry is a wonderful find (and great bargain) on the edge of old Chiang Mai. We stayed 2 nights, one before a 3-day excursion and one after. We had 2 different rooms both of which were nice but we preferred the second one because it was more open with a large window.The hotel is an attractive wooden structure with an airy lobby/breakfast area. The general manager was very friendly and helpful. It is located about 10 minutes by tuk tuk from the center of the old town. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Feel very lucky to have picked the Peaberry for our stay in Chiang Mai! Beautiful hotel - airy, open layout in the lobby and breakfast area (designed in the traditional "Lanna" style of northern Thailand, the general manager informed us). Very convenient location too - it was less than a 10 minute cab ride from the airport. It's on the edge of the old city, facing the main street that circles it. At first we were nervous it would be too noisy, but our room was quiet. The room was Beautiful - everything was recently renovated and redesigned. Comfortable bed, good working bathroom. Breakfast was delicious - the buffet options are small, but the very friendly staff makes a fried egg platter with bacon and a spring roll if you ask for it. Definitely a great deal for around $40 USD/night! Also very secure - we left for the Elephant Nature Park for an overnight visit and left most of our stuff in the room - no problem there.

One warning/heads up about Chiang Mai in general...we're New Yorkers and are used to walking around everywhere. C.M. is NOT very easy to walk around, especially at night. During the day it was manageable, but one night we tried walking to the big food market area and it was really difficult. Minimal sidewalks and very fast cars and motorbikes everywhere. Take the red pick-up truck cabs or tuk tuks as much as possible.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The good:
The hotel is charming with lots of character. I loved the wood decor which gave it a very welcoming feel. The staff are amazingly helpful, going out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. They gave us advice on which elephant home to go to and arranged good and cheap transportation for us each day. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the wifi signal is strong There's a cafe on site which is great after a long day out sightseeing, and the free bicycles for hotel guests is a nice bonus. A mere 10 minutes walk away are several BBQ buffet restaurants - 169 baht for all you can eat. And a handy 7-11 across the street.

The bad:
The junior suite is dark with not enough natural light, and insufficient light fixtures. The bathroom had no window and only one small ceiling light (the other rooms are much brighter with bigger windows). The floor mats outside the bathroom were dirty which were in contrast to the rest of the room which was spotless, although after speaking to the lovely manager at the hotel, he assured me he would rectify the problem.

Verdict: We'd come back and stay at this hotel but would opt for a standard room. For our visit we had two small children with us so had no choice but to take the larger (darker) room.

Room Tip: Take a standard room, not the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Great staff always polite and always helpful.
The room was lovely and very clean. The beds were a little bit too hard for me.
The hotel lends bicycles which are a great options to go around in this city.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishore L, Manager at The Peaberry, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
Dear Luis - thanks you staying with us and your very kind review about our hotel. I am sorry that the pillow was a little hard for you. I promise you a very soft pillow if you ever come to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and had a good overall experience.

The hotel and rooms were furnished and decorated really nice. We were a bit disappointed that the bathroom wasn't as nice and seemed a little run down (bathtub had cracks) but then again - we were out most of the days and how much time so you spend in the bathroom anyway :)

The location is great as it was on the border of the old town and therefore away from tourist traps. But it is still close enough to walk to the important wats. It's maybe a 10min taxi ride to the night market.

Owner and staff were lovely and very helpful! Can definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishore L, General Manager at The Peaberry, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hello - thanks for a positive review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry about the bathrooms. They have been fixed . We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peaberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaberry

Address: 11/1 Arak Rd. | Sripoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 334 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaberry 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located around Chiang Mai's moat, The Peaberry is a small boutique hotel offering air-conditioned rooms designed in traditional Thai Lanna style. Featuring free WiFi, guests enjoy free use of bicycles to explore the surrounding. Rooms are equipped with a minibar, a TV and an electric kettle. There is also a safety deposit box. The en suite bathroom features a hairdryer, free toiletries and a bathtub or shower. It is within walking distance of the Old City district, the Sunday Walking Street and Kad San Kaew Shopping Centre. Other tourist attractions such as various temples are also nearby. The Peaberry Hotel is a 10-minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. Guests can contact staff at the 24-hour front desk who can provide further information about excursions, laundry services and an airport shuttle. The property offers free public parking at a location nearby. Drinks can be enjoyed at the on-site Wawee coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Peaberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.